We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most incredible hotel experience I've ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most incredible hotel experience I've ever had!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Sandalwood for 3 nights and could not have been more impressed. The views were breathtaking (I may have overdone it with pictures of the infinity pool!) and the rooms themselves were beautifully done and spacious.

Upon arrival, the staff gave us a cell phone with the number of the manager on it that we could use if we needed a pick-up at any point during our stay. This really set the tone for the whole stay and epitomized just how welcoming and warm the staff were. They were so accommodating and helpful, and their pleasant demeanors really enhanced our stay. The hotel is up a hill about 5 minutes drive from Chaweng Beach district so it was very convenient for most things we wanted to do. We were sad to leave the Sandalwood and I would consider a trip back to Koh Samui just for the chance to stay here again! HIGHLY recommend the Sandalwood!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plumeria and Jumpee rooms and both were stunning. I would imagine that all of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LanaY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It is wonderful to read a review detailing the personalized (and incredible) experience you received at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It sounds like you made very good use of the private infinity pools in both our Plumeria and Jumpee Villas and we are pleased to know that you found the views breathtaking.

A mobile phone for every guest is our way of welcoming you to Sandalwood and letting you know that we are available anytime for whatever our guests need or desire. It is a pleasure to hear that it set the tone for the stress free experience we work to create for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about the staff at Sandalwood. We are very proud of our team and we love to hear that you were impressed by our unique Thai style hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandalwood when your plans allow for a return visit to Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    100
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
170
634
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Sandalwood staff is simply perfect. A small doubt before booking for a hotel without direct access to the beach... but we immediately dicovered that this hotel has so many advantages that the tripadvisor rating is fully justified. And you don't need to forget the access to the beach, because the friendly chauffeur service will take you in front of your villa to ride you everywhere, even in hte night.

Room Tip: If you are not fit, don't take the lowest villa, because you'll have to take a couple of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SC7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Perfect is a word we love to hear from our guests at Sandalwood. We have shared your glowing review with our entire team. We are so pleased that you took advantage of our anytime private driver service down to Coral Cove Beach, just a two minute drive down the hill from Sandalwood. Coral Cove Beach is a quiet, crescent shaped beach with one beach bar/restaurant and beautiful scenery. If our guests are looking for a livelier beach scene, we also provide free shuttle service to either Chaweng Beach or Lamai Beach twice daily.

Thank you for taking the time to recommend your stay at Sandalwood to other TripAdvisor users. We hope to welcome you back here someday for another simply perfect holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This is the only hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in twice. We have travelled Asia widely and this is right up there in best places to stay. That pool is out of this world. We stayed in jasmine both times (no private pool, but it's so quiet at sandalwood we found we were the only people ever in it) sipping cocktails in the infinity pool as the sun goes down over 180 degrees views of the ocean is right up there in life experiences. Having red curry delivered for a private meal on your balcony tops it off. The Thai staff are, as you would expect, wonderful. Can't rate this place highly enough. We loved it so much we went back for our honeymoon. They offer discount for return stays, which is a lovely gesture. The only downside is having to pay for a driver to take you to chaweng or lamai if going in the evening, which isn't cheap, but the team provide you with mobiles to call them which is great. It's a shame chaweng is now so touristy, with bars galore and fast food places, but sandalwood is remote from this. I wouldn't stay longer than 4-5 night due to its remoteness and not being keen on chaweng centre. I can see us going over and over again In our lifetime. There is only three places in the world
I would say that about (phi phi island village, sandalwood and el nido, Palawan, Philippines.) Go to sandalwood, you'll love it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for naming Sandalwood Luxury Villas one of the best hotels in the world. We always love to hear that our return guests’ expectations were met or exceeded on their second visit to Sandalwood. The view from each villa is certainly one of the highlights of a Sandalwood stay and sipping cocktails by the main pool during sunset is a great way to make the most of our unique location. In addition, a private dinner served on your balcony is always a favorite for couples looking for both romance and privacy.

Because our location is in the hills overlooking Chaweng Beach, we provide our guests with free shuttles twice each day into either the town of Chaweng or Lamai. Each guest receives a mobile phone so we can come pick you up wherever and whenever you require transportation. We make certain that our fees for this service are equal to, if not cheaper, than the private taxis that are available on the island.

It’s wonderful to know that you plan to return to Sandalwood over and over again in this lifetime. We will be waiting with welcoming smiles and, of course, special perks for our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A big thanks to the Sandalwood staff for making our stay so memorable. Really great hospitality and food. My wife and I loved the room! Really great view as well. Only thing to note is that Chaweng or Lamai beach which have most of the activity are a little far - 20 minutes away.. But it worked great for us since we wanted some peace and relaxation..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tej12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the service you received from our staff. We are very proud of the team we’ve created at Sandalwood and we work hard every day to make sure our guests receive the best in attentive and friendly Thai hospitality.

We find that our guests really appreciate the views from Sandalwood and the separation from the daily (and nightly) mayhem that occurs in Chaweng. Our twice daily free shuttles will happily take you down to the more crowded towns and beaches, but we find that many guests, like yourselves, enjoy being able to return to the serenity that Sandalwood offers.

We sincerely hope that if your plans include a trip back to Koh Samui, you will consider staying with us again so we can welcome your smiling faces back at Sandalwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As many others have written, this experience starts at airport with a friendly welcome from the driver. Upon arrival at the resort we were welcomed by smiling staff and the view is breathtaking! We stayed in the Orchid and loved it! Close to the pool and restaurant but with total privacy and a balcony with a stunning view. We loved it so much we had several of our dinners on the balcony. And the food was delicious and service amazing! Getting around the island was no problem. Plus, you get the mobile phone. Yes - the hill is steep but how else would you get the view! Really remote feeling but very close to so much. The spa was wonderful too! All in all, fantastic week. Great staff, fantastic resort, amazing views, great food , total relaxation. We will be back!

Room Tip: Depends what is important to you. The website is very accurate in description and photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for writing such a strong recommendation to other TripAdvisor users and for naming Sandalwood Luxury Villas your favourite resort. Our dedicated staff works everyday to provide a worry free experience for our guests and it sounds like we were able to achieve that goal. The Orchid villa is a very popular option for our guests because of its flexible layout (up to 4 guests) and the amazing views from the balcony. However, you are correct in your room tip regarding the unique design of each of our villas. We have tried to provide as much information as possible on our website so our guests can make an informed decision as to which villa will best suit their needs.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and service from our Blue Ginger Restaurant. We recently updated the menu and we love to hear our guests’ positive feedback. Whether dining in the restaurant or ordering room service, we encourage our guests to sample the many Thai and Western specialties that we offer.

It sounds like you took advantage of the amenities that make Sandalwood such a unique place to stay on Koh Samui, From our Blue Ginger Restaurant and our Sanctuary Spa to our anywhere/anytime transportation service, our team was able to help you make the most of your holiday on the island. We are pleased to hear that you intend to come back to Sandalwood and we look forward to the opportunity to create new memories with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an amazing stay we had at Sandalwood Luxury Villas!
We are a family of 4 - with two older kids (15 & 10) and booked the Amarin (2 bedroom) villa at Sandalwood.
The experience starts at the Airport where one of the super efficient and friendly drivers pick you up. The sandalwood resort is like a home away from home in Koh Samui - with an unbeatable and most amazing views of the bay thrown in along with a super hospitable staff.
We stayed for 5 nights - and every day I would spend hours in the balcony just looking at the ocean. I even slept a few nights in the balcony under the canopy of the starts and moonlight sea below...bliss!!!

The only regret was that the resort is situated high on a cliff and its a very steep incline to reach the resort. This is ideally not walkable - so if you are the ones who like to get out of the resort to walk and explore nearby places - then this would not be possible. However, this is very aptly covered with their vehicles which are available when needed to ferry you to and fro to wherever one wants.

The food is amazing as well. Though limited - its good enough for us to be experimenting each day with different dishes. Breakfast is quite good and wholesome!!

One can meet up with the owner - Robert and he is at hand to give you tips on the island - or generally to share his experiences.

For our family this was a very memorable stay and we wish to return soon!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank pwborle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We enjoy giving our guests a high level of service that provides a worry free visit to Koh Samui. Our end-to-end service begins with a free pick-up at the airport or anywhere else on the island and includes the same service at the end of your stay.

The view available at Sandalwood is what sets it apart from so many other hotels on Koh Samui. However, as you noted, our unique hillside location limits the ability to walk from the hotel to other activities in the area. To help minimize any inconvenience, we offer free anytime shuttles down to our beautiful local beach at Coral Cove and two free shuttles everyday to Chaweng and Lamai. We also have private drivers on call 24 hours/day and reachable via a mobile phone that is provided to every guest upon arrival. Sandalwood offers car and motorbike rentals to those who prefer to venture out on their own.

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the meals available at our Blue Ginger Restaurant. Our free breakfast buffet everyday includes fresh fruit, salads, smoothies, coffee and tea drinks, juices, breads, pastries, soup, hot Thai specialties and an a la carte menu with over a dozen Thai and Western dishes that are made-to-order.

We truly enjoyed meeting you and your family and we hope to see your smiling faces back at Sandalwood soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My fiancé and I had recently got married and decided to venture out to Koh Samui to spend our first couple of days as newly weds. When we first arrived to the Sandalwood Resort, the first thing we saw was the breathtaking view of the island. Upon check in, we were instantly greeted by reception and the co-owner of the resort even stopped by to personally introduce himself to the both of us. After waiting to get the room ready, we were guided to the MALEE suite where we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the suite, which we originally booked with only a Jacuzzi, now had an INFINITY pool just installed the day of our visit! We were pleasantly surprised by this and it made our stay even more enjoyable!

Although one annoying thing was that they kept hassling us to move to another "upgraded" room so they could work on the new pool in the MALEE and were constantly doing construction there/coming by in the evening to take photos of the new set up.

All of the people at this resort are super friendly and if we had a choice to go back and stay at this resort again or choose another destination, we would DEFINITELY choose to stay here again, specifically staying in the MALEE suite! Trust me, it is completely worth the money and the view is something out of a movie that you will never forget!

*one note about the cooking class: for the cost, i didn't think it was worth it. Its a good experience to go to the market but it was more of a cut and put together instead of an actual cooking class ie. for the pad thai the sauce (which is prob the hardest part to make) was made ahead of time for us and we just had to mix it into the noodle- i wouldve liked to learn how to make the sauce instead.
Thank you for all of the staff and the co-owner of the resort for making our stay as pleasant as possible. Our visit there is definitely one of the most memorable experiences we will ever have and we will never forget it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your time at Sandalwood. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free upgrade to a private pool villa as we completed the construction of that pool just a few days before your arrival. We apologize for any inconvenience created by our staff putting the finishing touches on the pool and we hope having a “free” private pool in your villa made up for any slight disruption to your honeymoon.

Regarding the cooking class at our Blue Ginger Restaurant, our 1-day class is really meant as an overview of Thai cuisine. With the time limitations, it’s difficult to include the many nuances of Thai cooking and fit in to a trip to the market to see the many fresh products available on the island. However, we do offer longer classes for our guests and we are more than happy to modify the program if there is a particular part of the Thai cookery that you are most interested in learning (i.e. how to make a great Pad Thai sauce). If you do return to Sandalwood, please let us know how we can create a Thai cooking class customized to your area of interest.

We do hope to see you back at Sandalwood soon so we can create new memorable experiences together. …perhaps to celebrate an anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
8.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
9.5 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Property: Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
#3 Spa Hotel in Maret
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our ten Thai style pavilions are positioned around five infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways.We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style.At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing