We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent view”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Dongguan, China
1 review
“magnificent view”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

good service with magnificent view. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly which made us feel warm welcome. however, the location is far away from the city center,but it has great view that u can watch the sea from the balcony.

Room Tip: far away from city center but with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Sandalwood with the TripAdvisor community. It’s wonderful to hear that you appreciated the magnificent views from the property that are a highlight of the Sandalwood experience.

You are correct in pointing out that Sandalwood is located about 15 minutes from the city center. Chaweng beach/town is the most popular and densely populated tourist area on the island. If you are looking to be in the center of the action where the party and club music goes hard every night until the wee hours, there are dozens of hotels located right there. However, if you are looking for a peaceful retreat and the serenity of Sandalwood’s hillside location, we offer a unique experience. If you want a bit of both, our twice daily free shuttle service and 24-hour private transportation allow guests to jump into the action when they would like, knowing there is a peaceful place to return to when it’s time to relax and get away. The mobile phones we provide for each of our guests offer the convenience of contacting our on-call drivers directly for a speedy ride home.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the service you received from our hotel staff. Our goal is to make sure that we cater to your wants and needs with a smile and genuine Thai style warmth. We hope you will return to Sandalwood for another visit if your future travel plans include Koh Samui.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    104
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
183
641
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Travelled to Samui June 2014 for some R&R and were more than impressed by the location, views, amenities and pools at this boutique hotel but what was realy impressive me was attitude and warmth of the staff. The villa we stayed in was the two bedroom "Lotus" is very well appointed and impressively furnished. The villas all have views north to Chaweng beach so are immpressive both day and night. There is a good restaurant within the complex but the resort supplies local phones that provide you with access at all times via the resort to their private taxis service that will drop you anywhere you wish to go and collect you again. A wonderful service that made visiting a different restaurant evry night possible - highly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It gives us great pleasure to know that you were really impressed with our staff and the service you received from us. It is our goal to give every guest a personalized experience that not only caters to your desires, but also is done so with our own brand of warm Thai style hospitality. One of the biggest differences in staying at a boutique hotel with only ten villas is the ability of our staff to get to know each of our guests and to tailor your stay to your unique preferences.

Lotus, our two bedroom grand villa, is a favorite among many of our return guests. This spacious layout of that villa provides two separate floors of living space which allows greater privacy for both families and couples travelling together. We enjoy hearing that you appreciated the traditional Thai décor combined with modern amenities that is the design concept we apply to all of our villas.

We would like all of our guests to experience Koh Samui on their own terms with assistance from our staff regarding suggestions for local attractions and convenience in planning the logistics of getting around the island. While we are proud of cuisine and service at our Blue Ginger Restaurant, we are happy to know that our on-call drivers allowed you to see different parts of the island and to enjoy some of the other wonderful dining options available on Koh Samui.

Again, thank you for sharing such a wonderful endorsement of Sandalwood with other TripAdvisor users. Please contact us directly if your future travel plans include a return trip to Koh Samui and we will find ways to make your second stay at Sandalwood as memorable as your first.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at different hotel in Koh Samui for a week but as this was my friends birthday, we decided to have a 'treat' for one night so we booked two bedroom villa (Lotus).
From the start to the finish, our experience had the Wow factor. Villa is beautiful and the views are amazing.

We had massage each. Their massage girls are lovely and I recommend to definitely visit them.
The rest of the time we relaxed on our balcony or had a dip in the main pool.

Restaurant is cosy, build in the rocks. Menu is good with reasonable prices.

This definitely was a treat for us, next time I will come here with my husband as I am sure he would love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to compose such a wonderful review of your brief stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It’s a pleasure to hear that you made the most of your single day with us and you were able to take advantage of so much of what makes Sandalwood unique. Our spa is one area we are particularly proud of and we love to hear that you enjoyed your treatments there and the service you received from our professional spa team.

Our Lotus Villa is our largest two bedroom villa and it’s a favorite for guests who want spacious accommodations and the privacy of two separate floors of living space. The wraparound balcony’s panoramic ocean views and comfortable furnishings is the perfect spot for a private romantic dinner or just a great place to lie back in a lounge chair to enjoy the view from above Koh Samui.

Please be sure to contact us directly when you are ready to return to Koh Samui with your husband. We always like to do something special for our returning guests and we have even more “wow” factor that we would like to share with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in January, 2014 for 10 nights (honeymoon package) in the Camelia Suite.

Pros
1.The room was amazing and so was the view overlooking the ocean. The positives stop there.

Cons
1. If you are planning to book a room with a pool, don't bother paying the extra. The pool's aren't heated and they are ice cold (as you go higher up the mountain the temp drops). The Camilia suite's pool is also covered so the sun can't even help.
2.The hotel is located up the side of a mountain, approx 1-2km of sheer incline. The only way to get there is with their shuttle services as the local taxis refuse to go there. Sandalwood's shuttle service is expensive, to leave the hotel you have to pay 400THB one way. Oh but don't worry they have ONE free shuttle to Lamai or Chaweng which leaves at 11am and returns at 5pm, which limits you to eating dinner at their restaurant if you don't want to pay the ridiculous cost. However if you are still thinking of staying here, we would suggest taking the 'free beach shuttle' which drops you at the bottom of the hill and flag a local taxi from there. MUCH CHEAPER
2.Speaking of SW's restaurant, it was just as good as any STREET food in KS, but you could never call it fine dining. Not to mention if you sit at one vantage point toward the back you can see the dogs wondering around the restaurant 'staff area'.
3. Watch your bill. At the end we were almost overcharged 1500THB, which we had to point out was incorrect, it was argued back and forth until they figured out we were right.
4. They tried to charge us in AUD and with their exchange rate would have had us pay an extra $150. Thankfully we paid in THB and the banks exchange rate was much fairer.

We were married in KS at Rocky's resort before we honeymooned at Sandalwood, which was just absolutely amazing. If you are going to spend the money stay there instead. It was definitely a low light of the trip unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at Sandalwood. It is our priority to create an experience for our guests that exceeds their expectations and we are saddened to hear that we failed you in that effort.

While we are pleased to hear that you found positive things to say about your villa and the view from it, we only wish you had mentioned to us any shortcomings while you were our guests and we would have done whatever possible to correct those. I feel powerless to change things once a guest has already checked-out.

For TripAdvisor users who read this review, there are a few policies and some property information that I would like to clarify:

1. We quote all prices and charge all bills in Thai Baht.

2. We never charge any bank fees or credit card transaction fees.

3. We offer 2 free shuttles each day (either direction) to/from both Chaweng and Lamai beaches and towns. Chaweng beach is over 3km long and we are more than happy to drop our guests wherever they chose. In addition to our free roundtrip airport transfers, we also offer free anytime shuttle service to the peaceful Coral Cove Beach which is only a 2 minute drive from Sandalwood.

4. We are located 500m up a steep hill. Guests can avail themselves of Sandalwood’s free shuttles, our private drivers or they can rent a car directly from the property. We realize that access can be challenging, so we intentionally price our transportation service at or below the price of any for-hire taxi on the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed our 1st week on Chaweng beach and then had 4 nights here at Sandalwood. We stayed here after reading all the reviews on trip adviser and we were certainly not disappointed.
Sandalwood in up the top of a rather large hill and it is a bit off the main road but the View is certainly worth it. We looked out all over Chaweng beach and down to the airport and further afield
There driver collected us from our other resort (For no cost) and brought us to sandalwood, On arrival we received a Mobile phone so if we went out anywhere for the day we could contact them for a lift home or for any assistance we required. The Villas are very large and are very, Very clean and well maintained we had a very comfy bed and the bathroom was very large but we used the outdoor shower that was next to our own plunge pool.
Breakfast was great every day but we never really ate here for any other meals as the owner (Robert) gave us other options outside the resort and these places were all fantastic.
We did the Thai cooking class that sandalwood offer with another couple that were also staying at the resort . If you love cooking and Eating this is a must do.. You go to the local markets with the chef to collect produce and then head back and cook at the resorts restaurant. We cooked 4 dishes (Thats 8 dishes between the 4 of us) and we then sat down and got to eat each course as we made them.
The weather is very hot in May but as we were high on the hill the slight breezes off the water were a welcome re-leaf. The staff were also very very friendly and very helpful as they were always trying to help you and give you ideas of things to do and see.
We will certainly stay here again on or next trip back to Kho Samui..

Room Tip: We stayed in the Camilla room . In my opinion it was one of the best but I didn't see all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about your experience in the Camellia Villa at Sandalwood. We so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful and you appreciated the suggestions you received regarding local activities. We try to create a unique holiday experience for each of our guests so they can make to most of what our property and the island have to offer.

Our Blue Ginger Restaurant cooking class is one of the most popular activities for our guests. While we offer the class you describe in your review, we are more than happy to customize a cooking class based on your own personal interests and/or favorite dishes. As with you, many guests really enjoy the experience of visiting the local markets and seeing all of the exotic Thai foods that are available and the staple ingredients in Thai cuisine. However, other guests would like to master four different types of curry during the four hour class and, if requested, we can jump right into that.

It’s wonderful to hear that you plan on returning to Sandalwood on your next visit to Koh Samui. Please contact us directly when you are ready to make your reservation and we will make sure to arrange something extra special for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place was truly flawless. My husband and I stayed here for the last 4 days of our honeymoon, and it could not be more perfect. Service was so personal, everyone was so kind, rooms were spotless, and there was no typical hotel feel. It felt like everyone there wanted to make it as homey as possible. The owner himself even drove us to the nearby beach! Villas were incredible, with everything you can possibly want inside. Views were insane. We stayed 3 nights in the Plumeria Villa which we thought was gorgeous, with its views and pool, and were moved to Malee for the last night which turned out to be even better. Both had private pools. The main infinity pool offered breathtaking views from the cliff. Breakfast in the hotel was delicious with various choices both a la carte and buffet. There isn't a single negative comment I have about Sandalwood villas, and we could not have asked for more!!!

Room Tip: We loved both Plumeria and Malee! Both with private pools and breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We strive to create a personalized experience for each of our guests helping them maximize their enjoyment of our property and all that Koh Samui has to offer.

Our ocean view Malee, Plumeria and Jumpee Villas all have private infinity pools and are very popular for honeymooners, like you. As you’ve probably read on TripAdvisor, we receive many comments about the views from our villas. This is the first time anyone has described the view as “insane.” We love it!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your experience at Sandalwood. As you know, it would be a pleasure to have you as our guests again. Your smiling faces are welcome back anytime to create new memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Can't add too much to what everyone else has said. We stayed for 5 days and it was just perfect. We chose Sandalwood as we didn't want to be near the main tourist traps and were very glad we picked it. The villas are beautiful and the complex is peaceful.
Yes, it is expensive. Yes, the location at the top of the hill isn't great. But if you are prepared for this then it shouldn't be a problem - the hotel offers a free shuttle to the local beach (Coral cove) which we found much nicer than the other busy beaches located on the island. From here you can also walk up the main road to some of the local cafes and restaurants that are quite a bit cheaper. The service was really good too. If you want a few days away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and to switch off chose Sandalwood!

Room Tip: We stayed in Plumeria which was great but we also saw Malee that had it's own larger infinity po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We really appreciate you explaining to other TripAdvisor users what makes Sandalwood a unique property on Koh Samui. We are a quiet retreat away from the main tourist areas, but close enough if you want to jump into the action on Koh Samui. In addition to the anytime free shuttle to Coral Cove Beach, we also offer two free shuttles each day to the beaches and towns of Chaweng and Lamai.

It’s wonderful to know that you had the opportunity to explore the area and found some local restaurants and cafes that you enjoyed visiting. The location at the top of the hill is a trade-off that is required to experience the panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and the outer islands from each of our villas.

We loved reading your review and we look forward to welcoming your smiling faces back at Sandalwood for another perfect stay where you can “switch off” and let any stress melt away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
5.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
11.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
5.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Property: Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#3 Spa Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our ten Thai style pavilions are positioned around five infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways.We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style.At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing