We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Olveston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olveston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olveston House
Ranked #1 of 2 Olveston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My son and I visited over Easter in 2014 and fell in love with this beautiful house. The staff, the food, the tennis and pool were fantastic. Each room was tastefully decorated and had just want we needed. The tasting menu was fantastic, a wonderful mix of Caribbean food and European food. Overall charming, easy to get around from/to, lovely/helpful staff and we really enjoyed ourselves. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Greg_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Olveston House is an interesting bit of Montserrat history converted to a wonderful guest inn. The best thing about it are Carol and Margaret who take you in and make you feel like home. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, and the verandah restaurant serves food of excellent quality in a cool, breezy setting. Great fun at Friday pub nights. We will be back in June to spend more time there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inxile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to just kick back and relax this is the place to stay. I highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Montserrat. They are based in Olveston which is about 20 mins from the airport in a taxi (which they can book for you). Margaret, Carol and all the staff bar none were fantastic hosts, very welcoming and friendly and full of information. The guest house is about 15 mins on the bus (regular service) from town (Brades).
The staff took the time to get to know us which made our trip even more memorable and made us feel completely at home. When we ate at the guest house the food was excellent (you must try Margaret's coconut pie if its on the menu - its divine!). We stayed in room 2 (which had a balcony) which was on the warm side but there is the option to request an aircon machine if you need it.
We would definitely stay again.
Purllett and Leona Hogan, London.UK.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a balcony. The room itself was more than suitable for our needs but on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkle3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent all four nights of our visit to Montserrat at Olveston House. The rooms are simple, uncluttered, clean and cool. Three rooms lead out onto the wrap around balcony with lots of comfortable chairs for lounging around and relaxing. The other three rooms have no direct access to the balcony but compensate with AC.

The food and drink is very reasonably priced, wholesome, good portions and tasty – try the Sunday lunch roast.

Nobody has mentioned the pool which is clean and cooling. The staff took Sunday night off. They locked up (more like closed the doors rather than locking them) pointed us to the fridge with the rum cocktails and snacks and left us to enjoy the solitude.

If you want excitement then please don’t stay here but if you want to relax, read, think and rest then this is the place.

We hired a car, organised by Olveston for two days and visited everywhere on the Ireland and had our lunch at various roadside restaurants recommended by Margaret. A highlight for me was a discussion on the measurement of sulphur dioxide and referenced GPS measurements with a scientist at the volcano observatory.

If you are a bird watcher then please organise with James “Scriber” Daley to do one or more of the forest trails, even my wife with asthma managed the slow pace and to see all the rare ones – Scribers passion for flora, fauna and the island is catching.

For “TrevorandSheila” I endorse all your comments other than it is a family of American Kestrels in the gardens not Caribbean hawks– but then we are bird watchers so please forgive the small correction.

Room Tip: 3 rooms have AC but no balcony and three room have balconey but no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Had a very nice, leisurely lunch here on our day trip to Montserrat. Olveston House was strongly recommended to us and we were very glad we took the advice! Margaret & Carole were attentive and friendly hostesses, even during a very full lunch sitting. The menu was creative and fresh and the setting on the verandah made for a wonderful mid-afternoon break in our touring. Would love to come here again and stay on another visit to Montserrat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinginitSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Olveston House. Was the perfect end to the Caribbean holiday. Stunning setting and perfect location for a chilled out and relaxing break. Probably no better hosts in the Eastern Caribbean and many places could learn a lot from Margaret, Carole, Sarah and Mr Wilson! Once you have soaked up the ambience of the island during the day in the evening listen to a few of the stories about hurricanes, volcanoes and Air Studios whilst sipping a few rum punches!

Don't go if you are on a diet. The food is very tasty!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bergs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Having stayed at Olveston House for two weeks in October, some at the same time as ARV Oxford, we fully endorse everything she has said in her review. Nothing was too much trouble for Margaret, Sarah, Carole and their staff. Margaret and Sarah's menu was always interesting, beautifully prepared and delicious. Sitting on the gallery having breakfast watching iguanas, egrets and the Caribbean hawks that frequent the grounds was fascinating. I can also highly recommend Mr Wilson, the head barman's, rum punches whilst watching the sun setting over the sea through the valley.

All of the rooms are bright, very individual and charming. The added bonus for any fan of Sir George's work producing the Beatles, America, Ultravox etc was the gold and silver discs in the rooms. A visit to the now abandoned Air Studios set up by Sir George and where he produced so many fantastic albums is well worth a visit for any fan of Sting, Elton, Boy George and so many other great artists.

Altogether a superb place to spend some time on a lovely laid back and beautiful very friendly Island

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side have a gallery to relax outside in the shade overlooking the gardens but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorandSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Olveston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olveston House

Address: Olveston, Montserrat
Region: Caribbean > Montserrat > Olveston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Olveston
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing