We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edwardsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Edwardsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I recently had our first experience staying at a B&B. Garry & Connie, could not have been more welcoming. Their amazing home was very relaxing and inviting.
Our accommodations were superb, beautifully decorated, and everything immaculately clean.
Our breakfast of fresh fruit and eggs benedict was excellent and very satisfying.
The food, the environment, along with the friendliness was a great start to our day.
They have indeed set the bar really high!! It cannot be beat.
We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for The Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

My words cannot do justice to this wonderful couple!

If your looking around Cape Breton this is the place to stay.

They treat you like your part of the family, their recommendations are superb. They give you printed directions to wherever you are going around the islands, Garry explained that Cape Breton is actually 3 islands. We stayed 3 nights and then had already booked a motel room in Sydney because The Ponderosa was booked for those other nights.

The motel failed miserably in comparison.

We drove up the cabot trail & then over to PEI, then came back and toured all of Nova Scotia.

The Ponderosa was the best!

W & T from Calgary

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Connie, Garry and Pearl (their beautiful german shepherd) are truly some of the nicest people we've met. We had planned to stay only one night in this B&B before heading to Cape Breton because we couldn't find a place in downtown Sydney. Am I glad that Sydney hotels were booked out!!! :D I had a hard time leaving the next morning and actually felt homesick :(

Knowing I'm vegan they were well prepared for my breakfast and even though everyone else had their waffles beautifully decorated with whipped cream and home made raspberry sauce I had no complaints! I felt right at home thanks to the generosity of our hosts and their marvelous abode. What it made it extra memorable for me was having Pearl around.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and impeccable replete with all the amenities. Our room was super clean and well-equipped. I slept very well. You may want to keep in mind that their backyard leads to a secluded beach!!!!

I'm certainly going back for more than just a day just to see these wonderful folks! Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyforquaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

There is no reason to consider anywhere else on Cape Breton Island than this home away from home. From the pleasant conversation through the breakfasts and detailed directions to points on the island, Connie and Gary offered everything that a traveler could want in a bed and breakfast. The Coach House is lovely. And the views are spectacular! If you do not stay with them, you have not done your trip justice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband, my daughter, and I stayed 1 night in the Coach House at Connie and Gary's lovely home. 1 night was too short. We could have stayed longer! The property was gorgeous and our accommodations were spacious, spotless, and cozy. Gary and Connie were warm and welcoming. They helped us choose a restaurant for dinner and even made the reservations for us. They did not steer us wrong. We had a delicious meal and when we returned back to our room, there was a plate of rice krispie squares waiting for us! What a lovely touch that was. And Connie's breakfast the next morning was perfection. Fresh fruit, homemade scones, blueberry pancakes. Delicious. Gary kept the coffee continually poured too! We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights in their lovely Coach House with our 2 teenagers and had a wonderful time. We had everything we could wish for: comfy beds, a kitchen, a warm welcome, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, all Nova Scotia attractions at a short distance and last but not least Connie's wonderful (skip-lunch) breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I discovered the Ponderosa Bed and Breakfast unintentionally and I am so grateful! What an exceptional value all around! Our family of three have travelled extensively throughout the Maritimes and have stayed at a number and variety of Inn's, however, there is something special about the Ponderosa. Firstly, Garry and Connie feel more like family than hosts; very genuine people, warm and inviting and the Inn is immaculately clean! The room we stayed was huge with beautiful high ceilings and looked as if no one had ever stayed before. Our room was the Hiker Room. The bed was very comfortable, the windows provided a nice breeze and plenty of sunlight. We also very much enjoyed the loft sitting area; with a T.V. , an array of books covering many genres of interest, a fridge stocked of juice, water and pop and a comfortable place to relax in between adventures. I especially enjoyed the scenery of the Inn's surroundings outdoors; beautiful trees, pathways and we even spotted a rabbit going across the driveway. The food was amazing, Connie ( I am assuming it was Connie's baking not Garry's!)was amazing, she even gave us each day a little "takeaway" bag of treats; freshly baked muffins and delicious pastries made wonderful snacks when on the road between destinations. We especially enjoyed our conversations with Connie and Garry and with the other guests; conversations flowed freely and much laughter took place. We definitely will be back; the location is less than 10 minutes from downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia and is a lovely retreat nestled among fruit trees and a secluded seaside; it was quiet and tranquil and a good night's sleep was had by all! Both Connie and Garry gave us easy to follow directions (Garry even provided us with a print out to follow) the Inn is in easy drive to both Fort Louisbourg and Baddeck. Thank you to Connie and Garry and we will see you again next year! I have never posted a review before but this is a real gem, and families are welcomed. One other quick notable; the vintage Ms. pacman game was a huge hit between my daughter and husband! Thanks again and see you soon! We really enjoyed our time with each of you, the other guests and the beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful! We stayed in the Hiker room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwardsville
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
77 reviews
2.3 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.5 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2058 Point Edward Hwy, Edwardsville, Nova Scotia B2A 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Edwardsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Edwardsville
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is just 10 minutes from either Sydney or North Sydney (NLFD Ferry terminal)on route 239. It is a quiet rural location, 12 acres, with the property running to the shore. Our home is a Nova Scotia handcrafted log house, with the logs coming from the Annapolis valley on mainland Nova Scotia. Some logs are over 40 feet long and 18" diameter. We have 2 rooms in the main house, each with a queen bed and en-suite 3 piece bathroom plus a loft that all the guests can enjoy. One of the rooms can easily accommodate a roll-a-way bed. Also, we have a suite with a private entrance, called "The Coach House". It has a queen bed, 3 piece en-suite bathroom plus a sitting room with a sofa bed and there is a kitchenette. The roll-a-way bed can also be added to easily accommodate a family of 4 with children of different genders. Connie's breakfasts are raved about and no one goes away hungry! We look forward to your staying with us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing