We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maiton Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wichit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Maiton Island was a very pleasant surprise for us. When we went, there was only us and another couple on the entire island. We really had the island to ourselves. The other couple was on their honeymoon and stayed in their cabin 95% of the time. So, it was like a island all to ourselves. The staff were extremely nice. I accidently dropped a glass. They jumped into action and cleaned it up within minutes. The weather was nice. We went skin diving, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank az1969guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2007

I have been going to Maiton Island about once a year for the past 6 years. It is heaven on earth! The resort has been going through many changes in management etc. over the years, but the staff is always nice and accomodating. Some of the bungalows need updating, but nothing can beat the atmosphere of this private island. The beach is stunning and the snorkeling and scuba diving around the island is absolutely amazing. Paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eclipse9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bangkok, Thailand
15
Reviewed 5 July 2006

My husband and I travelled there for the 2nd half of our honeymoon and had a very relaxing week. The resort has been in limited use for a number of years, but the staff was working very hard at upgrading the facilities. We were able to take over 600 amazing pictures. Our dog had a great time chasing coconuts and playing in the ocean! We would recommend Maiton to any traveler who wants to get away from it all!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2005

We were booked to stay here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in February. Having stayed there before we had expectations which were definately not met. Our complaints were not related in any way to the tsunami as the resort appeared untouched and was definately not damaged. The problems were firstly with the food. Given the small occupancy rate it was understandable that the lush buffets we had experienced the year before were not going to happen but the quality of the a la carte meals offered in place of the buffet was poor. The table cloths were dirty and were not changed once in the time we were there (despite my husband spilling food everywhere as he ate). There were ants crawling over all of the tables no doubt attracted by the foodscraps left there for days on end. To fix this the staff sprayed insect spray directly onto the already set tables meaning that the food and water etc all tasted like flyspray. The restaurant floor had not been mopped in months and was also covered in food scraps. The grounds which before were beautifully kept appeared to have been untouched for months. There was an abundance of staff but they were not tending to the resort in the same manner which they had the year before and as a result this once beautiful resort appeared very run down. As a result of all of this - we left the next morning very disappointed and vowing to never return. It's a shame because prior to our second visit we had recommended this resort to many friends and relatives. I still think however that it has the best, most beautiful beach in the world.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank amanda2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank villef2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank poteぞう
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wichit
8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
10.3 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
5.4 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#2 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,100 reviews
10.6 mi away
Recenta Phuket Suanluang
6.9 mi away
Bandara Villas Phuket
Bandara Villas Phuket
#7 of 13 in Cape Panwa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiton Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiton Island Resort

Address: 100 Moo 7 Tambon Vichit Amphur Muang 83000 | Maiton Island, Wichit, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Wichit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wichit
Price Range: £308 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maiton Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maiton Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiton Island Hotel Wichit
Maiton Island Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing