We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eleanor M

Lovely Homely Guesthouse

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2012
I absolutely loved this place - from the rooms to the staff, the guesthouse was truly delightful. I only stayed for one night as a stop off but felt right at home. There is free tea and coffee all day in the communal area which is a tastefully restored room with a pond, water feature and fishes, a welcomed refuge from the rain outside!

Our room was small but clean and had a TV, fridge (with complimentary water), AC etc.

Thalang road is very central and within walking distance of most, if not all, of the sights of Phuket Town.

The staff were very helpful and booked our taxi in the morning to the airport and negotiated the price for us with the taxi firm. They were very smiley and came to the door to send us off, which was a pleasant touch.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £89
0.4 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
£81
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Expedia.com
    £71
0.5 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
£14
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £12
  • StayForLong
    £22
0.2 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
The Lobby of The Blanket Hotel
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £29
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £14
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £35
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £34
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £24
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from 99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Talat Yai
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
132
74
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
74
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town thalang road phuket town balcony room sunday night market family run hotel is located comfortable stay shophouse taxi rates souvenirs thai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

In my opinion, Phuket Town is a best-kept secret. People are naturally gracious, smiles are genuine and the food is delicious.

99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse is a gem of a guesthouse. This year I stayed over 2 weeks and it started to fell like home. It is a simple venue but the interior design is tasteful, it is confortable and clean. The breakfast area in the inner courtyard available 24 hours for tea and coffee is a plus. It is great value for money.

Within walking distance are the Thai Hua Museum, local markets, small shops, restaurants and trendy bars patronized mostly by young locals This is where authentic Thai hospitality can still be experienced.

Room tip: The rooms on the upper floor with view on the inner courtyard are quieter.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Beautifully restored guest house right in the heart of oldtown Phuket town. Our room, located towards the back was charming, tidy, and filled with natural light from the teeny balcony. The owners were very helpful, giving us maps and explaining the bus routes / good food spots, etc. All in all, we would likely choose to stay here again.

A few nitpicks... The breakfast on offer is a banana, white bread and tea as advertised, only 1 English TV station that I could find within 200 + channels, and the paper thin walls filtered nothing from our neighbors. The beautiful architecture, excellent location and hospitality more than made up for these shortcomings.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This little gem is the most tastefully restored & revamped old shopfront building I have seen in Phuket. It is immaculately clean with beautiful bathrooms & lovely wooden beds. It is run by the most lovely helpful & friendly family. For anyone wishing to avoid all the seaside resorts, this charming place is situated on a lovely street in the heart of oldtown with lots of boutique coffeeshops, restaurants around. I would highly recommend.

Room tip: Rooms at the back with balcony are the best as you also have the sound of trickling water.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peigsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Firstly, the location of this guest house is on one of the really pleasant places in the Old Town. It really gives you a sense of the real old thailand... all the locals shop around here and there are a few backpacker lodges, a few trendy shops and a few eateries, that are real Thai. Try the open air cafe that is up the road, which for some reason seems to have lots of couples having wedding pictures taken, is worth a visit. It is located about ten minutes walk from The Fountain Circle, which is where buses can be caught to all the places to see on the island. The Guest house is very clean, rooms are nicely designed and one does feel a part of Old Phuket staying there. The owners go out of their way to be helpful, with information and advice. Air conditioning works well. Breakfast is a little lacking, but a fab breakfast can be obtained for 125 baht around the corner so fill up on coffee or tea and a slice of toast .I bought yoghurt and fruit and kept them in the fridge and topped up my breakfast. Rooms on the front can be a little noisy, with traffic late at night, but they try to place guests at the back wherever possible. I would recommend staying here.. its at the heart of the old town I would happily stay there again!

Room tip: Go for a rear room, if possible
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peachynottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Grate helpful owners beautiful house modern shower best of the best.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingibjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews