We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
LEEDS
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“brilliant stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stay at this hotel about 4 times a year for some much needed me time. My husband and 3 year old stay at home while i enjoy myself.
I have always enjoyed my stay and can not fault anything.
As i am a regular i know a lot of the staff which is always nice.
I think the food is excellent and i am going again in March.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear LeedsJulie,

Thank you for your comments.

Thank you for choosing to return to us for your special time away.

I am pleased that we have been able to provide an environment where you are comfortable and feel welcome. That is Great British Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in March. The anonymity of this forum does at times make it difficult for us to know our guests who so kindly provide their words. I would ask that you say hello while you are here so that I may say thank you directly.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    778
    412
    209
    133
See reviews for
358
1,113
38
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We booked into a deluxe room simply because we had some vouchers to spend, which reduced the price. However, I would not have been happy paying the full price for this room. The room was ok, but not outstanding and I certainly didn't feel that it should be classed as deluxe, even though it was perhaps larger than the standard double rooms. The bathroom, although clean, was desperately in need of an update and the bedroom furnishings were rather tired. The bed, however, was very comfortable and the view from the window was good.

It was very cold when we visited and for this reason we decided to eat in the hotel. However, before doing so we checked our laptop for comments, both for the main restaurant and the Claret Jug (bistro). Unfortunately they weren't good and very expensive. Not willing to pay such a high price for a meal that might not come up to expectations, we got in the car and travelled a few miles down the road to a Steak House, where we had an excellent meal.

We certainly couldn't fault the breakfast, which was very well presented with attention to detail and a great choice. The coffee, however, was not good.

Room Tip: The ordinary double rooms probably provide the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear birdwatcherhampshire,

I appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. Thank you for noting the positives in the cleanliness of the bathroom, the comfort of the bed and the view. I do apologise if the room did not meet your expectations, yet I am pleased that you chose to use your vouchers here at Oulton Hall.

You are correct that the room is larger than a standard double. Additionally, there are other enhancements in the room including a dvd player, complimentary mineral water, a Baileys and hot chocolate nightcap, and Yorkshire crisps which our guests have come to enjoy.

I understand that you found something off site which suited your dining needs on this occasion, but please visit soon and enjoy a dinner, bed and breakfast package to experience the 2 AA rosette and Oliver Award winning Calverley Grill. The seasonal menu offers great value and a tasting of the fantastic local bounty to be found in Yorkshire.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed over night at Oulton Hall having received a meal gift voucher from our daughter for christmas.
We booked a saver deal bed and breakfast along with our meal and must say what a lovely place it is!

The house and grounds, surrounded by tranquil woods and adjoining golf course were really beautiful, even on winter. The room was lovely and clean with all facilities. The Calverley Grill was excellent with friendly and polite Local Staff giving first class service, and food to match. We will return again in Spring.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear yorkieman22,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased that your generous daughter sent you our way and that you had such a pleasant visit.

Thank you in particular for your comments about our team. They dedicate themselves to delivering Great British Hospitality with wonderful Yorkshire warmth. They appreciate that you have experienced it, and also that you have acknowledged it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have just returend from a weekend trip. This was for a family birthday. Unfortunately there was immediately an issue when our rooms were not ready. This was due to a very large wedding party taking rooms near the reception suit. We were advised to come back every hour to see if they could find a room suitable. (we had asked for a quieter room away from wedding night). We were not advised of the wedfing when booking. Eventually we were given rooms (@ 4pm) which I must add, do not compare to the beautiful main hall and library. They are in much need of a refurb. After I read reviews about the expensive drinks we were prepared to pay, however it was more expensive than I had anticipated. To further disappoint the bar manager is very rude, has no customer service skills and thought it acceptable to speak to guests with an aggressive and sarcastic manner. The staff in the bar are unprofessional and made my stay worse. There were many issues throughout the stay, like a long que to have breakfast (due to wedding party). The food was terrible;My duck was over cooked and mediocre; the spa is nothing special with little to do other than a steam and sauna; we were not accommodated when waiting for a room; the golf staff were rude and unhelpful; the rooms old fashioned.
The only positive about this hotel was the water who served us in the restaurant and the scottish gentleman who collected and stored our bags. These two were polite and genuine.
Overall I was very upset and disappointed with this hotel that I expected to be top class. It was not cheap and we must have spend over £1000 in the weekebd altogether. There is a lot that the management need to do to make this hotel an enjoyable stay for guests.
I will not be going back and would recommend those looking for luxury and a place where you feel special to stay away

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Love2222,

Thank you for your comments. In particular, thank you for mentioning the waiter who served you and the Scottish Concierge, Ian, who seemingly delivered great service.

I am sorry that you were not able to experience all the positives that we have come to be known for. I do apologise if you were under the impression that the wedding parties which amounted to 5 rooms was the reason you were unable to check in prior to the standard check in time of 3:00 pm. I can understand how seeing a large group of people enjoying themselves would lead to the assumption and may have gotten things of to an unpleasant start for you. Although the team was trying to meet a specific room request for you, it remains unacceptable that you needed to wait until 4:00 pm.

You seem to have had a number of concerns while here and I would request that you contact me directly so that I may speak to you in greater detail. Not having any knowledge of this until reading your comments here, I would like to speak to you and address the matters internally with greater credibility and facts.

I would be disappointed to not get specific feedback to address, as the anonymous nature of this forum does not always permit us to identify and resolve matters to better serve our guests.

I look forward to hearing from you and perhaps welcoming you back with my assurance of a much improved visit should we have the opportunity to address your concerns. Please call.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed just the one night in one of the suites, The room itself did have the wow factor on entering but on closer inspection left you a little let down.The bathroom was well past its sell by date and some of the fixtures were in need of replacement.To the room itself you couldnt fault the bed and I would say one of the best I have slept in.The furniture in the room was period stuff bit again had seen better days ring stains in the wood etc.The room also looked as it had more things before with many units just being empty and the minibar being empty seemed a little strange to say the least. The food in the hotel was good but you pay for it be warned.
All in all a good stay the staff were fine and just with a little more attention on the rooms this could solve all the problems so many people seem to come up with.

Room Tip: Depends if you want to push the boat out the suites are a treat but they need to go up a level to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayTeamYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear HolidayTeamYorkshire,

Thank you for your comments. We take your feedback on board and we are pleased that we can offer great value for money in such a lovely and comfortable setting.

We do look forward to the prospect of additional refurbishment and hope that you will be able to come and enjoy a future stay with us.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The main old building is wonderful and the reception rooms exceptionally well decorated. The bedrooms are not to the same standard but very comfortable nevertheless.
The breakfasts were good but service poor and impersonal, especially on a day when a conference was in progress and tables were being lifted around our heads as we ate breakfast.
We wanted to use the spa but when we looked at 10.30 in the morning the (smallish) pool was very busy so we thought we would come back later, however at 4pm it was still very busy and I was unable to swim due to the number of people in the pool. I also had to queue for a shower in the changing rooms, which are open plan with no place for privacy when changing especially unpleasant when so full.
However we had a very good deal and thought it good value, not so sure I would go back unless on a cheap deal.
Special mention of the concierge who was very helpful, the reception staff were efficient but brisk and impersonal.

Room Tip: We were given an interconnecting room which suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perdita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Fuluka,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments specific to a member of our Concierge team. The guys at the front represent all that we stand for in Great British Hospitality. I am glad that your request for an interconnecting room met your needs and that we were able to accommodate you.

I am sorry that you found the team to be impersonal. It is rather surprising as the consistent comment which we here is that the staff is very welcoming. Apparently, we have failed you and we hope that you will return and give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to servicing our guests. Keep an eye as there are a number of offers with great value to be enjoyed.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was overall impressed with Oulton Hall....the building it'self is beautiful; the reception area, reception rooms, restaurant, Champagne Bar and drawing rooms are beautiful. I have never stayed in such a picturesque hotel! The buffet breakfast was yummy and plentiful with a huge choice. The Champagne bar is out of this world. We didn't eat dinner in the resturant however there are other places to eat and even a supermarket nearby.
The spa is lovely and considering we went at a weekend it wasn't busy. The spa treatments however I think are overpriced.
The bedroom we were allocated was big with everything you would need including bathrobes and a fridge! The room however was quite dated and our view was terrible!!!....overlooking the bins!
Overall though I had a lovely stay at Oulton Hall and the price was very good for such a grand hotel. Would definetly go back!!

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevellerRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OultonHallManager, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear LevellerRoamer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are all thrilled and feel privileged to work is such a beautiful place and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We have many offers available with which you can find fantastic value for money, whether you are looking for a dinner inclusive package in our award winning Calverley Grill or to include our Spa, just presented the top award as best Spa in the Leeds City Guide.

Please return soon. We take it as a tremendous compliment when guests choose to visit us time and time again.

Kind regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,249 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
17.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing