We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice historic house hotel with golf course and spa”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice historic house hotel with golf course and spa”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Although the modern interiors of this historic house hotel aren't entirely to my taste (I like old buildings to look old), this is a very comfortable and well-appointed hotel with what appears to be a nice golf course, as well as a spa. I was at the hotel as part of tour group, and the hotel is large enough that we were "integrated" into the regular breakfast in the morning and only slightly separated from the regular dining room for dinner. The food was very good, as was the overall service, and we very much enjoyed the lounge. When our tour bus departed after two nights at the hotel, staff members came out to wave good-bye.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Historybuff52

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Oulton Hall. We do have some very traditional suites which may have been much more to your taste but overall we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As a team we love to have guests as part of a group who stay with us for a few nights so we can really get to know you. We do hope you will back with us again one day.
Kind regards Rachel Riches

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    743
    398
    196
    127
See reviews for
342
1,074
36
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The third time we have stayed at Oulton Hall over the last few years, great for visiting Leeds - retail therapy, York - history & trains! the Coast - ample choices an hour away!, and we have friends who live nearby. The hotel is a de Vere hotel and is in a fantastic setting, the grounds contain 2 golf courses. a driving range and the clubhouse The Claret Jug, serves meals most of the day and evening available to none golfers (me) good value/choice . The rooms are quite large, impressively clean and linen is changed daily, breakfast is excellent being buffet style, with extras from a menu can be ordered freshly cooked. All staff were friendly and helpful, the Concierge was particularly helpful. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Trotter49

Thank you so much for the kind review of your recent stay at Oulton Hall, we are very fortunate to have such a lovely setting and we are delighted you had a good stay. We will pass on your kind comments to concierge, but do hope you will be back with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

A Beautiful hotel, ideal for a chilled couple getaway, pool and spa spotless, the breakfast fantastic, excellent facilities, very nice grounds, the only negative, ��14 for a bottle of beer and a cocktail , perhaps an incentive to have another drink or two, like residents discount , or a happy hour

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Snorgent

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. I am delighted you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the pool and Spa. We will consider the happy hour option but I do hope you will come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from a 2night break at the devere Leeds I would recommend this hotel very highly it has a lovely quite setting and is well situated as access is very easy to the m1 and m62 the buffet breakfast was very good the food was hot although on our visit on booth mornings we had a long wait for fried eggs as we were told the chef was only cooking 6eggs at a time we waited for them the first morning but gave up the second morning our std bedroom was nicely decorated very clean and well stocked with toiletries and beverages the leisure club was well appointed and the swimming pool temperature was nice and warm all the staff were very helpfull and friendly we stayed on Monday 7thoctober until Wednesday 9th October well done devere at Leeds

Room Tip: We had room 174 which was nice and quiet and only up one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear paul w

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. I am delighted you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the Yorkshire breakfast. I appreciate your comments reference the fried eggs and clearly we need to look into how we handle this on busy mornings.
I do hope you will come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently to attend a friend's wedding. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a very impressive entrance. On arrival, the hotel's porter was very helpful and cheerful. The bedroom itself was quite large (deluxe bedroom) and looked as though it had been re-decorated recently. It was very clean. The reception rooms downstairs are impressive and have wonderful views. You feel as though you are in the country when in fact it's not far from the town. We had 2 breakfasts here and they were of a high standard with plenty of choice from cereals, fruit etc to cooked breakfast served in a spacious dining room with attentive staff. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A 'deluxe' room is more spacious. 1st floor room at the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear susiewoo29

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. You are correct that we are part way through a hotel bedroom refurbishment and I am delighted you liked the new room specification.
I do hope you will come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely hotel in a super setting. Stayed with a group of ladies on a golfing weekend and had a great time. Golf was a bit up and down! The clubhouse is a nice place to relax and have a drink or a bite to eat after a game. The hotel was beautiful, had a good meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was very nice too with the option of having something other than the buffet. Very nice spa and pool area, didn't have any treatments but used the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Meb58

Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall and we agree we are very fortunate to enjoy such a lovely setting.
We do hope you will come back soon and the golf won’t be quite so "up and down"
Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at another venue in Leeds.
The Hotel is very 'grand', the entrance and hall are beautiful.
The main restaurant has a dress code! which put us off so we opted for the less formal 'Caret Jug' which is the golf clubhouse restaurant, it was OK although very dingy at night.
Breakfasts were acceptable although dining room crowded.
The bedroom corridors are looking a bit less grand with duck tape across some of the joins in the carpet.
Our room, (137) a superior one was nice enough though smallish and dark with a poor view out over a flat roof, it was close to a loading bay of some kind so was noisy late at night and early in the morning. We had to get help with the smart TV (probably our fault). Housekeeping standard was OK, the room was cleaned well enough on our second day but not 'dressed' as it was when we arrived.
The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The Hotel seems to be one of Leeds main wedding venues, there were 4 whilst we were there, which meant that all the public areas were very busy.
Would we go again- possibly not.

Room Tip: Not 137, it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Gina V

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oulton Hall. We do appreciate the time taken to give us feedback and hope we can continue to give the great service you experienced whilst with us.

We are part way through the refurbishment programme and hope that the corridors will have been completed soon to match the other areas you mentioned. We endeavour to offer a variety of food and beverage areas suitable to all tastes, but we do not insist on a strict dress code in the Calverley Grill so we do apologise if we gave the impression otherwise, however we must look into the claret jug lighting if it is "dingy" in the evening. Not the atmosphere we go for at all.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon and demonstrate our commitment to delivering great service and relaxed surroundings no matter how busy.
Kind regards Rachel Riches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing