We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride of Yorkshire”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Have had the pleasure of staying at Oulton Hall many times over the past 19 years , (opened 20 years ago), So you would expect me to be satisfied with this hotel. and well yes I am . The reason for my visits are purly to relax and enjoy. I stay with an elderly relative who sadly is wheelchair bound these days . Have to say that for us what makes our stays so enjoyable are not just the Grandeur and Elegant Surroundings of the Hall , nor the Wonderful Grounds which are located off the main road, nor the impressive SPA which is a pleasure to visit, not even the wonderful breakfast offering that is available. It is the friendly and courteous staff that we appreciate. Oulton Hall is much more than a hotel, it is an experience. It is I would say important when making your reservation to make the right choice from the bedroom options. The hotel is undertaking refurbishments of the rooms which started last year. So if you prefer an above average bedroom i would suggest choosing one of the new Luxurious Chambre Unique rooms with many additional features to the standard de vere rooms. There are larger Deluxe rooms at a supplement over the standard rooms which fall between the 2 categories, So make the right choice for yourself . Afternoon Tea at Oulton Hall is a Special occasion , Enjoy in the Luxurious Grandeur of the Drawing room, Library, or the Grand Hall itself. Old fashioned traditional values and service by the wonderful Butlers and staff will make any occasion a special and memorable one. If you are looking for a few days to escape from the rigers of life in quiet , relaxed , elegant settings then I would whole heartedly recommend Oulton Hall, The hotel is located within a 15 min drive of the great city of Leeds and many other of Yorkshire attractions . I forgot to mention in addition to the room choices I mentioned are the Amazing Suites that are available in the Main Hall for that extra special occasion with views over the golf couse and gardens. You'll not want to leave.

Room Tip: Decide which of the categories best suit yours needs, standard , deluxe, chambre unique, or splash o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last summer but only just got round to leaving a review now. Fantastic hotel and spa, great for a romantic break. Can't comment on price or value for money as I didn't pay. Would recommend making full use of the spa facilities and the champagne bar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I decided to take my husband to Oulton Hall for his birthday. I booked over the phone for a special package which included a spa treatment each and dinner. I got talked into upgrading to a deluxe room for an extra £40, he really sold it on the phone, beautiful room, extra fluffy towels and robes etc so we were really looking forward to it. The spa treatment was earlier than check in so we went there first, we had both booked a half hour back massage, we didn't get robes to get changed into and the massage only lasted 15 minutes - disappointment number 1. We went to check in to this wonderful room that really wasn't! It was quite big but nothing special. The bathroom was tiny with a very old bath and a filthy shower head that I decided I wasn't going to stand under.! The towels and robes were not any where near fluffy. Disappointment number 2. However I went down to reception and expressed my concerns and the receptionist couldn't have been nicer, she was really understanding and immediately got me moved to a much better room and gave me 3 to choose from. The dinner was nice and the staff were very attentive and we had a good evening. The level of cleanliness is not the best, the trouser press was really dusty as if it gets missed. Although we did have a nice time in the end I don't think I would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Visited for our taster menu before our wedding in March, all organised by Louise the wedding planner, who has been great.
We decided to book a room for the night and make it an event :)
Had a great time. The food and drink was delicious and the room was really lovely.
On top of all this the staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating.
So looking forward to the big day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I would just like to say thank you to the staff more specifically Rashid. The Sunday lunch was an absolute treat, we had an enjoyable day the staff made us feel comfortable and they were attentive to our needs made us feel just like home as me and my partner don’t really get out to fancy places much. Will definitely be making an effort to going again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Reading the previous post I wonder if this is the same hotel we stayed in last weekend? Our 'delux' room didn't have any view. Dark dim - the worst. Couldn't see to get dressed. Totally inadequate lighting. Bathroom antique. Tiling we used to have in the late 70's. Old cast iron bath and not even a mixer tap. Needs refurbishing. Was told this room was refurbished 4 yrs ago! If this is delux with tatty stained carpet, single old wardrobe, no suitcase stand etc, then I dread to think what an ordinary room would be like. Booked this with Devere themselves on a winter package, first night including dinner.
Dinner well - 3 choices on the package. Pork, chicken and cod! Paid £5 extra for a few sprigs of broccoli and £5 for a few chips. Cod & chips at fish shop would be much more appealing. Very dry chicken, no sauces or gravy.

Lovely pub nearby in walking distance - The Three Horseshoes. Had T.Bone and lamb shank on our second night, including veg and all the trimmings. Excellent cheap food here. Oh and they have a puffing shed complete with heater! Toby carvery just up the road.

Smokers beware .... Long walk from the rooms to reception at front of house. Don't stand too close to doorways. I had an argument with a member of staff and was abruptly told to move 2 lampposts away from the door of the spa in the pouring rain and I was outside. Spent a fortune on spa treatments but what the heck, this is how they treat you. I did feel uneasy outside in the dark having a rare smoke, as there are rat poison boxes everywhere. Outer doors tend to be locked at 10pm, the spa at 9pm. Main reception always open. Do a Marriot, much better and they provide smoking rooms.
Won't be back. Worst 4* room I have ever stayed in. Premier Inn much more modern. And to cap it all, they hit us with a service charge - God knows for what.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Devere Slaley Hall if you must do your golfing up north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Visited as part of an online promotion. Hotel used to be an old statley home and has been restored by De vere . Lovely grounds and leisure facilities are available to guests , with spa treatments available at extra cost. One word of warning, food is good, but be prepared to pay top whack for wine , coffee etc.
Nearby temple newsum hall worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range: £96 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing