We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,lovely hotel”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Travelled up for a one night stay and two rounds of golf. The first course we played was quite challenging, the greens were quite poor but still an enjoyable round. Second course was different, the greens were good and the course was a good challenge. The room was a fair size, the bed was very comfortable the en-suite could do with a bit of tlc. The restaurant was excellent and the food was very good,great choice and all piping hot. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is easily accessed from the M62 .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal, booking direct with de vere for dinner, bed and breakfast, plus 2 rounds of golf.

Golf course was in great condition. There was a few people on the course so we couldn't go as fast as we wanted, but the weather was lush so we didn't mind waiting.

Rooms were good, spa, pool etc very good.

We had dinner in the claret jug and we were happy with it. We could have had dinner in the restaurant but we were keen to be a bit less formal.

Breakfast first class as normal for de vere.

Would recommend and will be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Phantom1982sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife in July for a business gala dinner. I had played golf in the morning and whilst not a bad course it's condition isn't superb compared to other De Vere courses such as Carden Park (which IMO is a nicer complex full stop).
The room was of a reasonable size but was very warm due to the time of year. Furnishings and decor were of a good standard.
we had a couple of drinks on the patio outside the Champage Bar which was very nice and ate at the gala dinner in one of the conference rooms. I must confess that the dinner was very good quality as well.
Had breakfast the following morning which was OK but nothing fantastic.
Would I stay here again - possibly but wouldn't necessarily rush back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The staff and service in this hotel is fantastic it was a real pleasure. The reception staff were organised and got us into our room quickly and efficiently with the added bonus of someone helping with our bags. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was really great, huge selection to suit anyone's requirements with great waitresses. The only let down was the view from our room. I am not worried about not having an amazing view as not everyone can but looking out onto loads of weeds was a very big disappointment. Luckily the hotel over compensated with everything else. I will be going back and will make an effort to use the spa facilities next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S, Front Office Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and service. I have personally shared this with the team as all feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you chose to return.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for one night - overall it is a nice venue, specifically the public areas in the 'old' parts of the hotel, the hotel rooms are obviously all an added build on, and are getting a bit tired and in need of re furbishment now, especially the bathrooms, a lot of the rooms fixtures and fittings have seen better days. The food I had here was fine but nothing special. A positive element is the wifi which works well and the Aran aromatics toiletries. Staff were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S, Front Office Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We do hope to continue the refurbishment in the near future.

I do hope this will not deter you from visiting in the future.

Kid regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was booked for my partners birthday as a spa weekend treat. From the first moment the staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel was clean and roomy despite the presence of a wedding, a hen party and a Turkish football team also stating there.

Once checked in our room was found to be excellent, spotless, and in a good location to lifts and the spa complex itself. I had booked a several treatments for my partner and whilst see was enjoying those i took advantage of the sauna, swimming pool and jacuzzi where she joined me later.

WE had an evening meal in the Calverley Grill which the service and quality of food was superb. After being fed royally, we adjourned to the bar for the rest of the evening where the pleasant atmosphere was very relaxing and just the job. My only gripe is we thought the drinks were a little pricey.

We awoke next morning and headed off for a wonderful full English breakfast before going for my partners final spa treatment. She thoroughly enjoyed the spa experience and would have no hesitation in returning to Oulton Hall.

All in all, a wonderful weekend break for us both.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S, Front Office Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, especially your comments regarding the Calverley Grill. I will be sure to pass them on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oulton Hall.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I recently stayed for a conference with work. There were problems from start to finish. The room was shabby, with chipped and worn-out furniture. It hadn't been dusted properly and there was a lot of mould in the grout between the shower tiles. The room was stuffy and the window wouldn't stay open without something to wedge it open. The reception staff were efficient but lacked the level of service you would expect. They struggled to find my bag when I came to leave. I parked in the car park at the front, and when I collected it to leave, a snotty note had been left on the windscreen informing me I should have parked further away from the hotel. A foreign TV crew had been allowed to film with no limitations put on when or where - the commotion from their activities was a frequent disturbance. The wifi was intermittent and slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Leeds
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
15.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range: £94 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing