We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place with very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just got back from 2 day break. Had a great time staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Drinks a bit pricey but what you would expect in any other place like this. Spa treatments were full so book early, pool and steam rooms clean.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke782024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and delighted you found the team to be so friendly and helpful. The Spa can get very busy during peak periods so it's always advisable to book early - we hope to see you again soon for a relaxing Spa break!

Thanks and best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    718
    388
    191
    121
See reviews for
319
1,037
34
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just spent a weekend at this amazing luxury hotel. Oulton Hall is magnificent, beautifully maintained with stunning interiors and landscaped exterior. Upon arrival we could not have been made to feel more welcome, we had been room upgraded with complementary bottle of prosseco. The staff could not have done enough for us. We spent the afternoon relaxing in the bar ( there was also a wedding and the staff managed beautifully without looking like they were busy or not giving all guests equal attention) and nothing was to much trouble for staff. We ate in the Calvery Resturant, food was beautiful. Finished our evening in the Champagne Bar and the staff team in there absolutely topped our stay off, Jed is a fantastic cocktail maker and all round entertainer loved the whole team in there on Saturday night you do a great job guys...Thanks for a fantastic weekend we will be booking to come back very soon x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for your fantastic review! I was delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and very pleased to hear your positive comments about our beautiful grounds, great food and the team -Jed will be especially pleased to read your personal comments regarding his service in the Champagne Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oulton very soon!

Best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I am sharing an extremely bad experience with you regarding the Hotel Chain De Vere Village. A Gift Voucher purchased at the Hotel At Oulton Hall near Leeds last December for a Christmas present has not been Honoured. Over 7 months, attempts to book accommodation at Hotels in York Liverpool, Cheshire and Blackpool, has been met with refusal by this company. There is no limit to where this voucher can be spent other than it lasts for only a year and yet hotel after hotel does not recognise this voucher. No explanation from the Company! £100 wasted, Sharp Practice or what as the company has not answered my e-mails

Room Tip: Before buying Gift Vouchers from De Vere please make sure you are able to use them/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, my genuine apologies for your experience with this gift voucher, I cannot understand why you have not received a reply, however, I'm very glad to have the opportunity to now put this right - Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

If you could contact me directly on joel.may@devere-hotels.com so I can find an appropriate solution to your concerns it would be very helpful.

I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here Friday 8th Aug for one night, we visited the Royal Armouries, so this was a good stop off for the night, On arrival a very impressive Hotel, I was greeted by a very helpful porter,and the reception staff were very helpful and pleasant.The hotel downstairs is very smart and gives off a feeling of Grandeur,we were pleased with our choice of Hotel.We arrived at our room which,was pleasant and very clean and fresh, the only gripe I have is the bath could do with a fresh grout around the top off the bath as it was all black,and the shower on the wall was a little slimey, but after a good run and wipe it was ok. I rang down to reception to ask for our complimentary robes,they were bought to us very quickly,and I asked why they are not in the room as advertised, I was told that they keep getting pinched which I fully understood,again the Minority spoiling it for the Majority.The breakfast was super and full of choice,everything was fresh and very clean around the breakfast tables. I would recommend this hotel, but if you have a drink in the Champagne bar its a little expensive, but a super atmosphere,and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great Review following your recent visit, I will pass on your kind words to the team, and our Front Office will be very glad to hear you found them so helpful! The Hotel is a great place to stay and visit the surrounding areas from the Royal Armouries to York or Temple Newsham. Next time you visit, let me know it would be nice to say hello personally.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed friday til sunday and thoroughly impressed. The staff were all helpful, friendly and professional . The hotel is impressive and imposing in beautiful grounds, making it feel grand without being daunting. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant, which although pricey was totally worth the money. The chef catered for my daughter with severe food allergies without fuss.
Breakfast was delightful on both days. Spa treatments very good. Even though we booked through a discount website, we were given an excellent room and would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you for a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comprehensive Review of the Hotel, I appreciate you taking the time and delighted to read your positive comments. I was especially glad to hear you had a fantastic meal in our restaurant and that our Chef catered for your daughter's dietary requirements and allergies with no trouble. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oulton Hall in the near future.

Best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night as part of a spa package deal.
The room we had was fantastic, we upgraded to a chambre unique room which was definitely worth it! Spotlessly clean, modern, sky plus and Starbucks coffee machine. Stunning views of the grounds also.

The grounds were absolutely beautiful and we spent the day sat outside in the sunshine by the champagne bar, the drinks and food are a little pricey £14.00 for a club sandwich and £13.50 for a glass of champagne but the food was excellent as was the service.

However when we went to the spa for our couples massage as part of our deal we had specified in our booking we would like a side by side massage. This was not communicated and they had no record of our booking which was disappointing. This was rectified by the manager.

We ate in the restaurant at the evening again as part of our package, the set menu which we were given was very limited so we ended up ordering from the a la cart menu which cost us an extra 55.00 on top, the service was also extremely slow.

The next morning we were awoken at 9am by the fire alarm going off!! Turned out to be a false alarm but by the time the staff told us we were outside! We were offered no apology. Breakfast was lovely, great food and great service.

However we decided to go for afternoon tea before we checked out. We asked for a table in the drawing room where we were rudely told 'no tables left sorry' by a waitress. My boyfriend asked if we could sit before the guests arrived where we were simply told 'no'. The manager then came over and told us in fact we could have a seat and she walked away and was extremely apologetic.

Aside from the some of the staff being very rude and the occasional hiccups with our booking we had a lovely weekend and will definitely return!

Not sure of their names but the male American waiter based in the champagne bar was absolutely fantastic as was the gentleman who served us afternoon tea in the drawing room and could not do enough for us.

Would recommend booking directly with the hotel rather than through central reservations and definitely upgrade to a chambre unique. Worth it!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative, as it let's us know what we are doing right and where we are going wrong.
Sorry about the noise from fire alarm, we do take Health and Safety extremely seriously and this forms part of our safety checks that we carry out to keep our guests and team safe at Oulton Hall, hopefully it didn't spoil your stay with us too much and you could still enjoy your Chambre Unique room with the sky package, Starbucks coffee and fantastic views and relax with our Spa team after your treatment was arranged. I will pass your comments on, especially to Vince in the Champagne bar who will be delighted to hear your kind words.

Thanks again, great feedback and see you again soon.

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights August this year. Room was lovely, food excellent. Service in the Claret Jug restaurant from our waitress Katie was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. A must do is the amazing afternoon tea served in the drawing room. Wonderful and substantial array of sandwiches, scones, cakes and cream buns arranged over three tiers washed down with a lovely choice of teas. I enjoyed a very nice facial by Laura in the hotel spa, absolutely fab. We have already booked our second stay :) will be sharing the experience with our family next time around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozrodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM M, Manager at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I will pass on your positive comments to the team and both Katie and Laura from the Claret Jug and the Spa will be delighted to hear your feedback!

Great to hear you have already booked your return visit to Oulton Hall - it would be lovely to say hello personally when you return with your family.

Best wishes,

Joel May
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
22.7 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
15.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
7.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing