We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, but Claret Jug Restaurant really lets it down!”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, but Claret Jug Restaurant really lets it down!”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Me and my partner stayed at Oulton Hall for 2 nights as a short getaway break and we thought the hotel was fantastic. The main original building is so grand and decorated magnificently. You will know what I mean if you have stayed there. Reception staff on check in and check out so friendly and couldnt have done any more to help us.
Our room was a standard double and was located in the new part of the hotel located on the back of the original building.

Room was very spacious, with a comfy bed, very clean and all the facilities you expect: tea and coffee, free wi-fi, large tv, bath and shower, iron and ironing board, safe and a fridge which was handy to keep drinks cold in. Rooms also have A/C which was great as we stayed during a week where temps rose to almost 30c.

Downstairs the hotel has 3/4 lounge areas, all of which do something a bit different. One room is for afternoon tea etc..., one is the champagne bar and another is just for relaxing in. Drinks are pricey but you dont expect anything but that staying in a hotel this grand.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant in the hotel. Couldnt fault it, and plenty of choice, with full english, fruit, hams and cheeses, pastries and cereals. Waiting staff very polite. We didnt eat in the main restaurant for dinner, although it did look nice.

One of the nights we took the decision to eat in the Claret Jug restaurant, which is their less formal dining option. It is a separate building to the hotel and overlooks the golf club. Fantastic setting, but our whole experience was awful and really spoilt our whole trip. There wasnt one major thing that happened but more a series of little things which meant we didnt enjoy ourselves at all, and eating or drinking here isnt cheap (3 course special £30.00! and the cheapest bottle of wine is £20.00). And if you are like me... when you pay a lot of money to eat somewhere you expect it to be fantastic. Without going into every detail this is a summary of the things that spoilt our evening: air conditioning unit dripping on table so had to move, fire alarm going off and had to evacuate because chef burnt something, ingredients missing off meal and had to ask for it, not offered complementary bread and asked and had to wait 5 minutes for it, bringing wrong beer to table, staff rude, chips dropped on floor as being served at table and had to wait for new ones to be done whilst the rest of my dinner got cold and I could go on...

The hotel superb leisure facilities. A big pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, spa and gym, all of which looked brand new.

I would recommend this hotel is anyone, but I wouldnt stay on DBB rate because you will have to eat in the Claret Jug restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooeyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    781
    412
    209
    133
See reviews for
358
1,116
38
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Stayed there for a wedding; the service, rooms, food & cocktail bar etc. etc. were fantastic.

I need to find a reason to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Stayed here for a 2 night break on a promotional offer for £149 for 2 nights with breakfast included. Loved the hotel! The pool, sauna and steam room area are amazing and really clean. The spa treatments were a bit too expensive for us though so didn't try these.
The breakfast was lovely, had fresh fruit, bacon eggs etc and danish pastries. The service was fantastic and we enjoyed the champagne bar too. The rooms are slightly old fashioned but spacious and have everything you need including tea and coffee and a fridge (useful if you want to save a bit of cash and bring your own wine!) :)
We had dinner at the claret jug restaurant next to the golf course and food was great, and HUGE portions!!! We had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltaireClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

we were returning for a weekend get away as had stopped at this hotel last year just before the refurb and was looking forward to seeing what had been done. As ever the service as great although we did feel that the drinks were being pushed on to us some what! The only let down was the breakfast, last year this was top notch with proper local sausages and well cooked bacon. This time the sausage was very cheap and the bacon was under cooked to the extent it should still be running around a field! So instead i decided to have some fruit and oat meal but had one spoonful to find that this had gone sour. The hotel its self was as opulant as ever and the other dining was spot on but left feeling a tad badly done by! Also our fridge didnt work in our room and when we looked to see if it was plugged in found a great big dust/hair ball behind cabinet, yuck!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford uk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Stumbled across the de vere group and Oulton Hall whilst looking for a hotel to use as a base to visit york...a weekend bed and breakfast package came in at just under 200 pounds but it is rated as a five star hotel. On booking mention was made that my wife celebrated a birthday that weekend..hence the trip...The hotel was easily found and impressive from the car park inwards through the foyer and to the sumptuous longe which is galleried and filled with classy furniture and artifacts.Our room was at the top of the staircase,well fitted out and clean and not at the end of the very lengthy corridor which stretches out of sight ( normally we seem to get the furthest room from the lift and civilization!!).There was a hand written note from a manager to my wife and a small tray of fruit and chocolates..what a welcome and from there I could do no wrong!! leisure facilities were excellent, pool,heat room and sauna..the prices for spa treatments were a bit out of our league as were the prices for the Calverley grill but we did eat twice in The Claret Jug, the golf club house situated within 100 yds of the main building.We found the food to be excellent...BIG TIP..if you have the lamb pie..be aware one pie will suffice for two people unless you have the appetite of ....well a very very hungry person! we could have made two pies last all week!!...we had different items each night and everything was perfect...well done to the staff who worked long hard hours and always with a smile on their faces...especially the manger in there ..joi?....breakfasts were busy affairs but the food was good..staff bent over backwards to meet the small requests we made regarding seating and light in both venues...overall we were well impressed with what we saw...two weddings occurred...seemingly without major problems..we understand virtually every friday,saturday and sunday a wedding takes place...Iam afraid Ihave made a rod for my own back as all future trips will be measured against this one and will be hard to equal in my wifes eyes...we would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We visited Oulton Hall as it had been shortlisted as a venue for our annual customer conference.

Our first impressions on entering the hotel were good although we did have to wait for the receptionist to finish a personal/internal phone call before we were welcomed. As we waited for the Conference Manager, with whom I'd previously arranged a meeting, we were impressed by the quiet professionalism of the staff on hand. On a number of occasions we were politely asked if we'd like coffee etc. And of course the setting (in the old part of the Hall at least) is very impressive.

However, we were not impressed to be kept waiting for 30+ minutes beyond our meeting time. Only after I'd returned to the reception to remind the receptionist that we were waiting for a meeting did the Conference Manager turn up, telling us that she hadn't been told we'd arrived.

She seemed ill-prepared for our meeting and had not considered that we'd like to see some of the bedrooms our guests would be stopping in despite having been told it was a residential conference for 100 guests. In the end she was only able to show us suites, which clearly did not represent what most of our guests would experience.

As time was getting on by the time the meeting concluded, my colleague and I decided to have lunch at the hotel, which we thought would give us a further opportunity to test the hotel's service and the standard of food. The Conference Manager left saying she'd get someone to bring us a menu and take our order. This was after she promised to send us a full proposal. After 20 minutes of further waiting, we gave up and left.

Five weeks later we still had not received any form of proposal, though as I'm sure you can guess, this was irrelevant since, based on our experience, we had already dropped Oulton Hall from our shortlist. However, I did send an email to express my concerns (this review is essentially a copy) and never even received the courtesy of a response.

For a romantic break away, this hotel should be fine. The old part of the hotel has some nice rooms - though the 'extension' is a bit of a disappointment. However, if you're looking for a venue for a wedding/conference, I'd give this one a miss. Added to our poor customer service experience, the function rooms themselves do not live up to the expectations created by the hotel's grand entrance. This hotel does not, in my view, live up to its 5* claim!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Recently refurbished and better than ever, really enjoyed our stay here and we will be back.
Leisure facilities and Spa are excellent, as is the food. Rooms are well appointed but can be a little on the small side, but who spends all their time in the room anyway?
Would recommend this hotel for anyone on a business trip to Leeds and it's an ideal base for touring Yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
3.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
13.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,256 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
17.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Property: Oulton Hall & Spa
Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing