We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - so immaculate.”
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oulton Hall & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Gorgeous, gorgeous gorgeous. I loved this hotel. Set in scenic gardens surrounding the hotel, so many flowers, colours and scents. Two golf courses (18 and 9 holes). Food was lovelly although a bit expensive but you can't complain about prices when staying at a 5* hotel. There is a small library, drawing room, whiskey room and cocktail room. So so nice. Staff at check in, during our evening meal and breakfast all so friendly and polite. The pool and spa was so nice, clean and complete relaxation. Fully equipped gym as well over looking the pool. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekybwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,472 - 2,478 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Recently stayed in this hotel just as an over night treat. The hotel is lovely and the staff very helpful and polite. The champagne bar and afternoon tea room are gorgeous but like the rest of the hotel seroiusly over priced. We really enjoyed our stay but don't htink it is worth the £100+ a night price tag. The room we stayed in was spotless but a little worn round the edges. Having said that the setting is absolutely gorgeous.

If you do go and fancy a cheaper meal try the 3 horse shoes at the bottm of the drive, the fish and chips are excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

A jewel in the crown of the Devere hotel chain, we were made to feel special by all staff whether in reception, restuarant, library etc. I can't think of a single bad point to say, the rooms were spacious, airy and comfortable with good range of TV channels, the afternoon tea in the library was to die for, don't miss the scrumptious carrot cake or the divine hot chocolate. We dined in both the grill and the Claret Jug restaurants, the food was delicious and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artyfartyblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

After staying at Oulton about a year ago I thought I'd treat my partner to a night away and where better that what I thought was still the 5 star Oulton. In fact it is now only 4 star and looking at the bedrooms could soon be 3 star if some money isn't spent soon. In fact event the service seems to have deteriated substantially and even a good morning seemed to be to much trouble for some members of staff. On arrival we struggled to get a parking space due to wedding guests taking up most spots with cars just parked everywhere. The welcome at the front door and assistance with baggage was no longer visible and the check in process was wasshort and sweet. No mention of would you like a newspaper in the morning sir or a table reservation for this evening sir!! In fact these are the questions I had to ask upon check in. Anyway we are given our room key and made our own way to the third floor where we'd been given a room. The main public areas were bright and some money looked to have been spent since my last visit especially on the restaurant. However on entering the lift I thought I was going back in time especially when we exited onto a dark corridor offering no warmth or comfort. We found our room easy enough but the decor was a mix of decades and styles which just made for a mess. The bathroom was dated and the nets at the windows looked to have been there for years. Knobs were missing off the tv cabinet and loose connections on the lights meant you had to shake the standing light to get it to come on. We decided to eat out in the end as the prices seemed to have inflated with time although the hotel has frozen in time. On returning to our room we were greeted by blaring music coming from below and outside. We called reception to ask what was going on and were told that it was a wedding function which had a live band which would be going on till 1am so nothing could be done about it. So my partner and I had to lie in bed enduring some band killing some all time classic songs till just after midnight in the end. We could then finally get some sleep but our relaxing ramantic break had been ruined. Breakfast was also not great with the offering you would expect at a motorway cafe on the M62. You wouldn't expect 90% fat bacon and mushrooms out of a deep fat fryer at a four star hotel.
At check out no help was offered with our bags and no apologies were made for the music the night before which according to a member of staff in reception is a regular problem and they get loads of complaints about the noise. Well thanks for letting your guests no before booking in.
On a plus I would like to say that the Spa staff and housekeeping were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
Just a shame the other memebrs of staff don't look after customers as well.
We wont be returning, once bitten.....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueblobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We sent along to Oulton Hall to check out the wedding fair on Sunday 28th March. Decided to stay for coffee and looked for a place to sit down. We were rudely turned out of the library and was told it was for reserved guests only but not shown another place to order. Eventually we found a place in the bar to sit but the table was filthy and the floor had remnants of someone elses food on the floor. There were four staff behind the bar not serving anyone and we were left standing without anyone asking if they could assist. When the coffee arrived it was cold and had to be sent back. I felt sorry for guests staying at the hotel as there were so few places to sit and relax. Would never have a wedding there!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMOKMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This is a lovely old hall coverted into a Hotel and Spa and is certainly impressive when you arrive. We ate lunch in the Golf Club House because the Claret Jug didnt open until the evening. A small ham sandwich with no garnish or salad was £5.95 whilst drinks were very expensive
In the evening we ate at the Calverley Grill which had a very limited menu mainly steaks at £30 to £40 each and small portions of vegetables £4 per portion.My wife had freshly made Caeser @ £8.95 which conisted of 4 lettuce leaves and some parmesan cheese with a odd dressing unlike any she had tasted before
The wine was exceedingly expensive and added much to the overall bill.
We liked the hotel itself but not the rip off charging over the meals

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersmansfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Lovely hotel with a wonderful garden overall the ambience is great. The conceirge on Sunday (7th March) was so helpful and resolved my problem with the lack of natural light in the room we'd been allocated. He was a lot more concerned than the reception staff.. unfortunately they didn't show much interest. The guy was an absolute star!!

The room we were finally allocated was nice, the food was good however disappointed with breakfast don't expect buffet style in a hotel of this standard. The champagne bar was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful and offered great customer service. The Claret Jug is well worth trying the food was great. We had a table beside the window and it was great. Staff team are exceptional. Overall exeprience was great and well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lCumbrialor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Address: & Spa Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range: £90 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing