We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“journey into your past”

West Wales Museum of Childhood
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Llangeler
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“journey into your past”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We visited yesterday on a daytrip that I had organised for a group of people aged between 50 and 90!
We had a very good talk to begin from Hilary and Paul, the owners. They gave us a demonstration of antique toys. Then we visited the outbuildings, the long barn etc which holds a huge collection of toys, games and memorabilia.Everyone marvelled at the toys of their youth. Well worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CARDIFF. WALES
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lost piece of Heaven if you are nostalgic.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A little gem not far from Newcastle Emlyn on the main road from Carmarthen.. Brown signed. That's how we came across it. The couple who own and run this museum are welcoming, affable and extremely knowledgeable. It was amazing to see how they amassed such a comprehensive collection of toys, games, ephemera and we enjoyed an hour of two of pure nostalgia. Many reminders of childhood I had forgotten. Will visit again. Had a pot of tea and sandwich to finish it all off, all made in front of us by the lady and gentleman. Some nice walks in the fields and woods adjacent. Good picnic facilities. WARNING- closed Wednesdays so we were told.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nofydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Creepy!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Visited friends in Haverfordwest and decided to try something 'different', so found this place. The website looked decent enough, if VERY out-dated........prices have increased.
Like other reviews here, I found the initial 'Oh, I had one of those' soon wore off. The displays looked tired and tatty, and like another review, felt parts of it was like a junk shop with toys etc just thrown together.
What I wasn't too keen on were the owners, I felt it was a bit creepy that adults had such a fascination with toys, it bordered on something from a Stephen King book.........just didn't feel 'right' at all. Imagine the EXCELLENT 'feel good factor' watching 'Toy Story'?.....well, this is the stark opposite.
The tea shop was VERY pricey for something so basic.
We didn't hang around too long, it was cold and uninspiring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MickJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“west wales museum of childhood”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This place should not be missed if you are in the area the collection of toys from all decades will have you saying i remember those over and over again.We went in September with friends who have moved to Wales and we all felt like big kids by the time we left.You could go back time again and still see things you did not see the last time you went.It has a small tea room as well so go and make a visit you wont regret it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevecasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A magical place packed - and I mean packed - with toys.”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Absolutely awesome place with the owners' life time collection of all types of toys. How many times did I say - 'I remember that', 'I had one of those'. If you had a favourite toy I bet you can find it here. There are cases packed with stuff. It's not what you see in the show cases, it is what you worry you may have missed. Anyone who loves toys must visit. It is a truly wonderful experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ianpreston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Wales Museum of Childhood also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Llanwrda, Carmarthenshire
 
Cenarth, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to West Wales Museum of Childhood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing