We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to like here, but . . .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boxgrove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brufords Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Boxgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lot to like here, but . . .”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Looking at the pictures here and on their site I think we must have had their smallest double room! It was only just about large enough for a double bed with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - the doorway is only just two feet wide and you have to enter, stand against the loo and then close the door in order to reach the shower! A sloping ceiling means gentlemen must always use the loo seated!!! It would have caused a larger person a great deal of discomfort. The towel rail is inconveniently outside in the bedroom. The basin is also in the bedroom. It is sunk into a worksurface which has a microwave and tea tray on it and fridge underneath which makes the basin feel like a kitchen sink. Apart from small bedside tables there's no free surface to put anything down on. There are coat hooks available, but the wardrobe is only half height so you can't hang longer length clothes in it. White curtains meant we woke as soon as it got light.

The room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with excellent bed linen. A lot of thought has been put into providing anything you might need, with many unusually considerate touches. It was very peaceful and quiet. Breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden was well cooked and really delicious with excellent service. Our hostess was friendly and charming.

Would I stay again? Probably, but definitely not in the same room!!

Room Tip: Brufords Room 2 is a very small double with a really tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
58
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Excellent facilities and friendly service, incl. breakfast. Quiet room, house located in a small village with a priory/church nearby for interest. Close to Chichester. The local bus stop is close by, the nearest pub is a 5 minute walk at Halnaker.
We could have had breakfast in the lovely garden, but the weather was against us. Their happy chickens lay happy eggs.
If I returned, I would ask for twin beds as I prefer my own space.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

we arrived at this accomodation following a disasterous cock up by hotels 4 u and it could not have turned out better the family are very obliging and the breakfast superb the rooms are very well equiped and comfortable with lots of nice little touches i would highly recommend this accomodation

Room Tip: we had a small twin room which opened onto the pleasant garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gassyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We arrived at the Bruford's expecting a room but instead were given an apartment - complete with full-size snooker room ! There was everything we could possiby need, even a washing machine. Lots of nice little touches too - some milk, juice, water and butter waiting in the fridge; coffee, tea, biscuits and so on - even some chocolates and nice toiletries. They really had thought of everything. We were fortunate to have good weather and so were able to have breakfast in the lovely garden, served by the delightful Tina and her mum who run the place together. Fabulous food and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would certainly use this B & B again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: The apartment we were in had a small second bedroom and would, therefore, be suitable for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely staff who go out of their way for you.

The B&B is located in a pleasant village just off of the A27 so is easy to get to. There's a pub just down the road from the guest house which is quite pricey but has great food and nice gardens.

To be fair I don't think I had the B&B's best room (in the loft) I couldn't use the shower at the same time as someone else on the same floor! Having said that, the room still had a shower, toilet, sink, double bed, TV, microwave, kettle etc.

And if you're fortunate enough to get the weather, starting the day with a fab cooked breakfast in their gardens is very pleasant!

Room Tip: Located in a quiet village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast accommodation. The room was very comfortable, very well equipped everything one needed (refridgerator, microwave tea and coffee with small mint cholcolates and good quality biscuits) and the design was excellent. The bathroom had all one needed and toileteries if one had forgotten anything. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful outside area with tables if the weather permitted, with attractive plants and flowers, which all made for a very relaxed visit. We woudl stay there again if we were in the area and definately recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room No. 3 had door which opened onto the paved outside area, giving a wonderful feeling of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Brufords is a real gem. I have stayed there twice now and have already booked in for when I visit the Festival Theatre again. The welcome is so warm, and a huge amount of thought and care have been put into the design and furnishing of the rooms, which are extremely well equipped and comfortable, and exceptional value for money. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Tina and Silma, and for me it's such a great pleasure to know I'm going back again twice more this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boxgrove
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
1.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,495 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
567 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brufords Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brufords Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Brufords Bed and Breakfast
Address: 66/Ashley House | The Street, Boxgrove, Chichester PO18 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Boxgrove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boxgrove
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business that is now well established. We offer 9 rooms ( all en-suite) including singles, doubles, kingsized, a twin. Aswel as 'The Annexe' a new modern 1 bed apartment ( the beds can be arranged as a twin or a superking) with fully fitted kitchen, corner sofa, dining area, smart TV etc. This room is on the ground floor with just one small step between, the bedroom and living area. We offer the choice of room only, continental ( this can be left in your room for you to have at your leisure) or a cooked breakfast. You are often able to enjoy this in our tranquil garden. Please call us to discuss your requirements The Brufords ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brufords Bed And Breakfast Boxgrove, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing