We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B. Good Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boxgrove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brufords Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Boxgrove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

4 of us spent 3 nights in Bruford's anexe, which is actually a self catering apartment with breakfast included! We had one double and a single room, and the owners were happy for my daughter to sleep on one of the large sofas downstairs. In the event she found it 'spooky' downstairs (she is 9) and slept on an air bed in our room!

The accommodation is very well presented, with good facilities, including use of a full size snooker table, great for male bonding! Breakfasts were lovely, the children were well catered for with cereal, croissants and pastries, while we had the full english, enough to last all day. The accommodation has its own sitting and dining area with sink, cooker and washing machine, so you wouldn't have to eat out every evening if you didn't want to, but we do highly recommend the Anglesey Arms, 2 mins up the road - fab food and real ale.

Boxgrove is just 15 minutes from Chichester and its great shops, and a short trip on the motorway to Portsmouth and Southampton, with a whole host of attractions. In the other direction we visited Amberley Museum of Heritage which we highly recommend, with far too much to see in one day.

We had a great 3 night stay at Brufords and would hope to return. One word of caution though, the stairs, loos and shower are rather 'compact' and would not suit the larger or taller guest!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Brufords Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a lovely little place. The accomodation was clean, attractive and up to date including free wifi - though I didn't use this.What really makes this place are the hosts who cooked us lovely breakfasts in their garden, were very good on local knowledge, recommendations for eating out etc and didn't stand on ceremony. They were very friendly. The whole experience was great, I would use this B&B again and would recommend it to anyone for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Looking at the pictures here and on their site I think we must have had their smallest double room! It was only just about large enough for a double bed with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - the doorway is only just two feet wide and you have to enter, stand against the loo and then close the door in order to reach the shower! A sloping ceiling means gentlemen must always use the loo seated!!! It would have caused a larger person a great deal of discomfort. The towel rail is inconveniently outside in the bedroom. The basin is also in the bedroom. It is sunk into a worksurface which has a microwave and tea tray on it and fridge underneath which makes the basin feel like a kitchen sink. Apart from small bedside tables there's no free surface to put anything down on. There are coat hooks available, but the wardrobe is only half height so you can't hang longer length clothes in it. White curtains meant we woke as soon as it got light.

The room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with excellent bed linen. A lot of thought has been put into providing anything you might need, with many unusually considerate touches. It was very peaceful and quiet. Breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden was well cooked and really delicious with excellent service. Our hostess was friendly and charming.

Would I stay again? Probably, but definitely not in the same room!!

Room Tip: Brufords Room 2 is a very small double with a really tiny bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Excellent facilities and friendly service, incl. breakfast. Quiet room, house located in a small village with a priory/church nearby for interest. Close to Chichester. The local bus stop is close by, the nearest pub is a 5 minute walk at Halnaker.
We could have had breakfast in the lovely garden, but the weather was against us. Their happy chickens lay happy eggs.
If I returned, I would ask for twin beds as I prefer my own space.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redfunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

we arrived at this accomodation following a disasterous cock up by hotels 4 u and it could not have turned out better the family are very obliging and the breakfast superb the rooms are very well equiped and comfortable with lots of nice little touches i would highly recommend this accomodation

Room Tip: we had a small twin room which opened onto the pleasant garden
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gassyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We arrived at the Bruford's expecting a room but instead were given an apartment - complete with full-size snooker room ! There was everything we could possiby need, even a washing machine. Lots of nice little touches too - some milk, juice, water and butter waiting in the fridge; coffee, tea, biscuits and so on - even some chocolates and nice toiletries. They really had thought of everything. We were fortunate to have good weather and so were able to have breakfast in the lovely garden, served by the delightful Tina and her mum who run the place together. Fabulous food and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would certainly use this B & B again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: The apartment we were in had a small second bedroom and would, therefore, be suitable for 3 people.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely staff who go out of their way for you.

The B&B is located in a pleasant village just off of the A27 so is easy to get to. There's a pub just down the road from the guest house which is quite pricey but has great food and nice gardens.

To be fair I don't think I had the B&B's best room (in the loft) I couldn't use the shower at the same time as someone else on the same floor! Having said that, the room still had a shower, toilet, sink, double bed, TV, microwave, kettle etc.

And if you're fortunate enough to get the weather, starting the day with a fab cooked breakfast in their gardens is very pleasant!

Room Tip: Located in a quiet village.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boxgrove
2.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,530 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
5.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
899 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brufords Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brufords Bed and Breakfast

Address: 66/Ashley House | The Street, Boxgrove, Chichester PO18 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Boxgrove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boxgrove
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business that is now well established. We offer 9 rooms ( all en-suite) including singles, doubles, kingsized, a twin. Aswel as 'The Annexe' a new modern 1 bed apartment ( the beds can be arranged as a twin or a superking) with fully fitted kitchen, corner sofa, dining area, smart TV etc. This room is on the ground floor with just one small step between, the bedroom and living area. We offer the choice of room only, continental ( this can be left in your room for you to have at your leisure) or a cooked breakfast. You are often able to enjoy this in our tranquil garden. Please call us to discuss your requirements The Brufords ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brufords Bed And Breakfast Boxgrove, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing