We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot for Langdales”
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Can't comment on rooms as was staying at the Youth Hostel so decided to eat at the Britannia Inn as we had been given recommendations. Luckily we booked ahead in the restaurant as it was fantastic weather and very busy. The first night the food was excellent, although we struggled to eat it all. The second night not so good. We both had the sea bass which was quite dry and never saw the salad which had been ordered and by the time we were able to mention it we were ready to leave. Went to get our own drinks from the bar as the waitress (not the same as the first night) was very busy and we were sort of left to our own devices, hence four stars. If you are going at a busy time it is well worth booking but you do pay a 10% premium on meals in the dining room, but then you are assured of a table. Meals are available in the bar area and outside. If the weather is good you can't get a better view with your meal. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book at table in restaurant if you want to guarantee eating there, especially in peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Helpful and friendly staff. Good pub food - though perhaps a little more than pub food prices but then everywhere seems to be like that in the Lakes we found. Room 3 nice (but bathroom across corridor) - children stayed in twin room 8 - nice and light - and twin room 7 - bit dark but nothing like as bad as some other reviewers have said. Good breakfast. Daughter left something behind in room and they offered to send it back to us recorded delivery - very impressed.

Room Tip: Room 3 nice view - bathroom across corridor. Room 8 nice light twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here while doing the Cumbria Way. Arrived with tired feet to find the Inn right on the route- no extra effort required :). The outside area is very busy and popular and a great place to relax while recovering from the days walking. Then going to our room to find luggage already waiting for us was a blessing. The room was modern, clean, spacious and comfortable. Dinner was good and plentiful- actually too big for us- but not a complaint. Location is excellent for great walks in lakes. A beautiful spot. Will stay again in future. Also had free access to nearby Spa but we just enjoyed a deep hot bath instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spent three nights staying here and eating here each night. I was pleased to receive a slight reduction in the room rate as i was on my own. The room was cosy and clean ( however no handwash in bathroom - forgot to mention at the time). The staff friendly and attentive. The breakfast was tasty and well cooked. The selection of food on the menu was good and everything i ate was cooked well and of good quality. However, the food was still 'pub' type food albeit slightly better quality but everything just cost too much. I had a lovely homemade chicken and leek and ham pie but it was £12.95. The 'special' fish dish was £14.50. This really spoilt my stay as i felt as if i couldn't enjoy an extra drink whilst on holiday. I didn't think the food was worth this although it was good. What was also a problem was that the lunch and snack menu was only available until 5pm (this was very strict). This was a shame as everything else was lovely. P.S whilst i was there i heard someone else complaining about the noise in room 7 - so maybe best to avoid this one. It was very hot when i was there so i slept with the
window open. I was at the front overlooking the seating area and although i could hear people chatting it was quite pleasant

Room Tip: Rooms at front means you can overhear conversation outside. Lovely having window boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HW2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a great place to stay for a weekend in the Lakes. Staff are on the whole really friendly and make you feel very welcome. Breakfasts were really good and substantial, perfect fuel for a day on the fells. On a summer's evening the pub can get really busy, particularly outside, but the crowds die down around 9 o'clock and the residents feel a little more at home. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. We were in room 7 at the back of the hotel which despite other reviews to the contrary was fine...except the window doubles up as a mini-door and is the fire escape for the whole floor. Not a problem for us as there was no fire when we were there! However, the 'dwindow' as we called it wasn't lockable and someone could easily put their hand through top window and open the whole thing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank skiingarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here for a few days while attending a wedding in the lakes last September. A traditional inn, with great food and they brew their own beer as well! Must have tried every one a few times. The room suited me well, the only thing lacking was a view from the window. But just a step outside the front door and you're greeted with a stunning view (rain or shine) down through towards Elterwater. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're in the area, or even just dropping in for a meal or a pint!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_Rock88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a two night break here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff are welcoming and friendly but our room was awful. It was cramped, hot and was above a refrigeration unit which created noise and vibration all night. The room was also a fire escape for the rest of the floor! How did they get planning permission for that. When we mentioned the following morning we were told by the manager that nothing could be done, even though another room had become vacant. He didn't even offer us a reduction to the bill or a glass of wine on the house. We will never come back to this hotel. Very poor value for money at £190 for two nights.

Room Tip: Room 7 is cramped and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeDistrictHotelier, Owner at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Firstly I would like to apologize for not being on here to reply to other reviewers for a while.
Now on to the review,
Thank you for choosing The Britannia Inn to celebrate your anniversary.
All the staff are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, but we feel some of the points you raised in your review are simply not true.

All our rooms are cosy not cramped, because the Inn is 500 years old! Bedrooms were simply not designed to be junior suites 500 years ago.

Your room was hot because we were right in the middle of a heat wave, quite rare in the Lakes but very welcome.

There was a problem with the fan unit on the fridge. It made slightly more noise than its usual silent running. This was fixed as soon as the engineer could get here.

Room 7 is a fire escape for 3 rooms (including 7). In the unlikely event of a fire you smash the glass on the door to escape through the garden window. Which would make the residents of room 7 first out, is that a bad thing?
The Britannia Inn is a grade 2 listed building, hence we struggle on planning permission a bit.
This reviewer also took the time to place a call to Cumbria fire service, who came to inspect the fire escape. The fire officer said there is nothing wrong with how the fire escapes in the Britannia Inn function.

We were full when you stayed so not too sure about the vacant room.

Room 7 is a lovely, quiet room with a garden view.
There are lots of other reviews on trip advisor to testify to that.
Thank you
Andy Parker (Landlord)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elterwater
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
6.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range: £89 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing