We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
171
25
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
25
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchendrying roombritannia innnational trustcommon roomlake districtpretty villagebike shedgreat kitchen facilitiesapple crumblebunk bedsgreat local puboutdoor enthusiastscar parkshower facilitiesmobile phone signallovely little village
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I've stayed at the hostel a good few times now either with "football dads and lads" activity weekends or more recently with a buddy to enjoy the stunning mountain walks and scenery of the Langdale valleys. Stayed three nights w/e 20 May and the place is as good as ever...actually better ! Why ? Nick, Charlie, Andy and the whole team who run the place are incredibly welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hostel itself is very clean and very pretty and in one of the best villages in the Lakes ! Stay at Elterwater and you won't go too far wrong whether the high fells are your bag or lower walks....the scenery is stunning....as are the local pubs. The Britannia Inn is a 150 yards away and is brilliant and serves superb beers and good food. It gets very busy though so either book in the restaurant or take a chance. We didn't eat in the hostel lounge preparing a simple breakfast in the well equipped kitchen but the breakfasts served to a group staying looked delicious and great value served by chef Charlie's own hands ! When we stayed midweek the hostel was quiet so saw no evening meals being served though the menu looked good and once again good value. The hostel quite rightly does not allow you to bring your own alcohol but serves a good range of beers and wines the latter from £11 to £14. We had a few of the £11 bottles which were very good. Thought the beer prices a bit steep but I guess you need to make a few bob !
I was surprised that it was so quiet midweek which was great for us....but not good for business ! It deserves to be busier....the Lakes are long passed the terrible winter flooding and its now very much business as usual with the Grasmere to Keswick road well and truly open so if that's putting you off then don't worry. It's beautiful...just go and stay and enjoy a friendly team prepared to look after you where nothing is too much. if you are driving in you can park and offload your gear at the gate but it can be tight when it's busy..depends on what time you arrive but you can't check in till 5pm. Once unloaded you need to move your motor and I would recommend either the National Trust car park about 100 yards away free if a member about £6 per day if you aren't or a totally free option is on the Elterwater Common......straight up Main Street to the end of the village and then it's a quick right and left turn to a large car park. Don't forget though it's a hostel....you get affordable prices in an idyllic Lakeland village, you get a clean double bunk room with fresh bedding and a good nights sleep, friendly helpful attentive staff, shared wc and bathrooms, hot showers, good kitchen, prepared food if you want it. In other words you wouldn't book your special birthday or anniversary stay there but that is not what this place is about. If that's what you want go and stay in the Langdale Country Club or Eltermere Inn. The Elterwater Hostel is great.....buff your boots...get out your walking gear and head for them there hills...and them there pubs once you have earned it ...and book the hostel where Nick/Charlie/Andy and the team will ensure you have a great stay. Finally......come the end of October they apparently rent out the entire hostel to larger groups to have the whole place for themselve...that would make for a superb weekend for a large group of friends in run up to Christmas. I'm working on that one !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 near to the showers and bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silverfox1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Wow!! Thanks for writing such a detailed review, and thanks for all the great comments.

We appreciate all the positive comments and are pleased we ticked so many boxes for you. And thanks for spreading the word.. we really do appreciate it!!

A brief comment on the beer prices... we do only make a 'few bob'... with the exception of the Coniston Bluebird (which is quite a large local brewery) all the beers are made by very small micro-breweries and as a result economies of scale mean they cost a little more. We do keep our mark-up to a minimum!

Hope to see you again soon!!

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Came with large group; Charlie and Andy looked after us very well, great breakfast and lovely relaxed atmosphere. Real sense of being somewhere special and we were able to enjoy the sunshine. Oh, and the swimming in the tarns was fab; really appreciated the large drying room :)

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Thanks for the great review. We applaud your bravery in swimming in the the tarns! They aren't very warm yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Perfect for a stay in the heart of the Lakes away from the overcrowding in the bigger towns. Elterwater is a pretty village with a cracking pub that serves good food, just what you need when you get off the hill. The hostel is ex-YHA. It is very well set up, but with a much more relaxed atmosphere than the rule heavy YHAs. Staff are very friendly. Having visited the hostel twice in the last 8 months I was impressed to note the continuing enthusiasm of the staff, who engage with all visitors, offering local knowlegde and enthusing with plans. Rooms are what you would expect in a hostel, clean and functional. Views are beautiful.
Tip - If arriving by car, pack ready to unload. There is a National Trust car park 50m away, but if you're not an NT member you should unload your car at the YHA and then drive to the other end of the village to park. It's really no bother if you are organised, and gives you the opportunity to stroll through the village on arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jendarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Thanks for the great review.

Cheers,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This weekend me and my friend stayed at the hostel, it was perfect for us (mid 20's). Charlie and Andy looked after us perfectly, more than happy to help us noobies with any questions about the Lake District. Breakfast was nice and helped us get the energy we needed (we didnt eat there in the evenings). Washing facilities were great for a hostel and the mattresses were comfortable enough for us. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thanks for the great comments. I'll make sure Andy and Charlie know their efforts are appreciated.

May have been the first time, but hopefully not the last!

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend for my Dad's 60th. With about 40 of us staying we were looked after really well and provided us with a buffet for the night of the party which was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Thanks for the great review. Glad your party went well.

Cheers,

Nick & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews