We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
174
26
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
26
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen drying room britannia inn national trust car park common room bunk beds lake district apple crumble free tea and coffee local pub wet gear dungeon ghyll cooked breakfast langdale valley great pub great langdale local area
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This is not my first stay at Elterwater Hostel this time of year and it has not disappointed yet again. In fact, the stay was better than ever!

The warm and bright hostel was a welcome sight after a long travel journey through wintry weather. The weekend I was visiting Ambelside was filled with snow-covered walks, so the dedicate drying room is a welcome site! After a hot shower I was ready for a trip back out (to the local pub that is).

The beds were just as comfortable as I remember, but this time with added comforts. Recently installed USB charging ports and lights at each bed makes for useful features when wanting to read or relax in bed before shutting off the lights for the evening.

All in all, my stay in Elterwater Hostel was better this time as it ever has been. I would absolutely recommend the hostel and will be coming back!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bsburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks. We're pleased you like our improvements. We are continuing this winter with an upgrade to the men's washroom and a lot of decorating

We should mention that the Britannia has been voted 'Best Walking Pub' by Trail magazine readers

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Elterwater hostel is surrounded by the most beautiful landscape, with walking/hiking for all abilities on its doorstep. There is also a great pub 1 minute walk up the road.

The bedroom was perfect for my short visit - warm and comfortable with handy USB charging facilities next to each bed.

The downstairs communal area was a cosy place to relax in the evenings and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you could possibly need.

After spending the day in the snow the drying room attached to the hostel was extremely useful!

Would 100000000000% return

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EllaP431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks for the lovely review!

We're SO glad you like us! The USB chargers are part of our ongoing efforts to upgrade without spoiling the character of the place

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

A lovely hostel, with friendly, welcoming staff, whom are very knowledgeable of the local area. I was also able to borrow one of the local ordinance maps from reception, to assist me on my hiking trails during my stay.

Dorm-style accommodation was suitable for my purposes - I was located to a 6-bed 'all female' dorm (bunk beds), although there were only ever 4 staying in the room during my visit...

Great self-catering facilities -> one of the best kitchens I've even found in a hostel. And a great policy of reclycing was being adhered to, which is a truly positive, and environmentally-friendly step in the right direction.

Loved the combined downstairs dining & lounge room area - sufficient tables & chairs for folk to dine at, and also several comfortable old lounges, providing a very warm & inviting ambience, with a fireplace to boot!

Not necessarily the easiest hostel to get to - although there is a local bus that you can catch from Ambleside, that helps somewhat,especially if you don't have your own transportation. However, it's a beautiful location, and well worth the hassle to get there!

I'd return back there for more welcoming hospitality & hiking in the general area, without a doubt!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zippy-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for the great review

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

spent last saturday at hostel, Hired a room for 6 but only 4 of us actually turned up which was probably a good thing as would have been a bit cramped. Bedding good and clean , usb chargers next to bed . Clean hot showers. Had breakfast in the morning excellent value and tasty.
thank you for your hospitality

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darencrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for the review

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed at this pleasant, scenic hostel for one night. Parking wasn't a problem as there is a National Trust carpark nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the booking process and our short stay. The two course dinner was also value for money and extremely filling - perfect after a long day of hiking. Refurbished bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Will be back!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sunnyday20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for the lovely review

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews