We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
224
27
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
224
27
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen drying room lake district very friendly and helpful staff cooked breakfast walking routes weather forecast bus stop local knowledge home from home stayed two nights great langdale excellent stay whole team brilliant location long weekend full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Had a fantastic stay at Elterwater Hostel. Great location with easy access to loads of great walks - had a lovely run along the river one morning. The surrounding area is absolutely gorgeous and the perfect place to enjoy nature.

Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I really appreciated the time they spent to answer questions and provide suggestions of walks/areas to visit.

Rooms & bathrooms are nice and very clean. Overall very well set up for a hostel. The individual USB charging station + light for each bunkbed is especially helpful.

The cooked breakfast is good value and a great way to start a long day of walking.

Can't wait to come back! :)

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thanks Lauren

Hope you manage another visit soon!

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Had a really excellent stay here recently - very clean and well-maintained hostel, very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way for us, and great food provided! A great place to stay in a lovely location.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chillhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thanks for the lovely review

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Situated in the lovely village of Elterwater, this independent hostel is a great place to stay whilst exploring Great Langdale. The staff are experts at all the local activities and can advise you on the many excellent adventures to be had in the area. Good value meals can be ordered including a delicious home made apple crumble! I've visited this hostel many times and it's been consistently good.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 64ramblerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thanks for the great review

Hopefully we'll see you again soon

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

As soon as we checked-in, we were asked to make our own bed. The rooms that we got had 6 beds. Each bed had 2 USB ports and a personal reading light, which are really helpful. The rooms were very clean. The loos and the shower were shared amongst all the people(separate for males and females), and they were clean too. You can rent a towel if you want.

There's a kitchen where you get all the utensils and you can cook for yourself. There's a common room where you can sit and read, or probably play some board games. There's a shared dining area too. They provide free Wi-Fi, and it's pretty good.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyank_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We're pleased you liked us

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

1. Our first visit to this private hostel and I'm sure it won't be the last.
2. Super location, friendly and helpful staff.
3. Comfy beds and spotlessly clean facilities.
4. Lovely cooked breakfast.
5. My only minor negatives are that it's quite expensive for a hostel, but it is a five star hostel, but the prices including cooked breakfast are in the realms of B&B prices (at the lower end), and I didn't like having to make my own bed (sorry!) at those prices.
6. Take a towel.
7. Good free Wifi.
8. Mobile phone signal (Vodafone) non existent.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hedgehog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi

Thanks for the great review.

To be certain of getting the best price, please make sure you book direct. We do monitor prices of our neighbours to make sure we're offering good value

Sorry, but we aren't able to influence the quality mobile phone signal, but if you have WiFi calling you can connect via the hostel WiFi

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews