We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace”
Review of The Farm Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Farm Resorts
Reviewed 21 February 2014

When you sit on the balcony of one of these cottages and watch the water the trees, the tea and mountains you get into a trance and never want to come out. I cannot believe these are work related visits!

I have come here over 25 times on work and still every time is better than the last. Ganesh the Manager and Manoj the cook are superb and treat you like Lords and give you the privacy too.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but you stay there only to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dulan293962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place exceeded all our expectations! I called to make our reservations and Ashok was extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were totally charmed. There are two bungalows ("cottage" just sound too flimsy for what these are) sitting on magical Castelreigh Lake, with wide front porches and surrounded by Eucalyptus trees and tea bushes. The tea pickers waved to us as we drove up, and later showed us how to plug the new leaves from the bushes. We were met by host Ganesh and assistant (and genius chef) Manoujh, and we were delighted with our two-bedroom, two-bathroom house. The rooms are large and there is also a living room and dining room. A bell brings Ganesh, who serves tea or food whenever you want. I slept beautifully in this quiet oasis, and it was also a perfect place to base yourself if you want to climb Adam's Peak. We decide to climb at 2 a.m. so we left the bungalow at around 1:15 in the morning. Driving on the deserted roads late at night we saw wild boar, mongoose, a large spotted cat (not sure what it was) and other wildlife. It was wonderful! After we returned from Adam's Peak the next morning, exhausted, Manoujh had a fabulous breakfast waiting for us and then we relaxed on the front porch and had an easy day seeing a few waterfalls and admiring wild monkeys, and having tea at the goofy but fun Tea Castle.

Room Tip: The only small criticism I have to the place was that the bathroom in the back bedroom had an unfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlehillsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in the cottage for 2 nights after an exhausting trek to the Knuckle Range and there could be no better place for us to relax! We wished we could have stayed longer. The cottage is clean and comfortable, the host is very helpful and polite. In fact it was the best customer service ever experienced by us in Sri Lanka. The host is also a passionate cook - ask to help him in the kitchen while preparing the dinner and you will learn a lot about curries ;) The food and tea they serve are very delicious. The surroundings are trully stunning: Beautiful tea plantations invite for walks (sometimes crawls;), sunrise takes your breath away. In total: highly recommended!

Room Tip: Be aware that the price is charged per person, not per room (we missed this information while reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

THis was our favorite stop on our trip to Sri Lanka. The cottages sit on a lake that looks like a surreal painting. The staff saw to our every need and the cottage we stayed in was beautiful, comfortable and clean. I strongly recommend you eat dinner at Castlereigh. The young man who did the cooking was a genius! It sits in a tea garden and one of the tea pickers showed us how she picked and let us try our hand at it! It was a good starting out point for a hike up Adam's Peak.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debfromvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night following our climb of Adams Peak - just what we needed!

These cottages are situated amongst tea plantations and eucalyptus trees with a nice view overlooking the castlereigh reservoir. Unlike anywhere else in Sri Lanka this place is actually very quiet and good for some rest and relaxation.

The cottages were quite comfortable, the hot water runs hot/cold after a short while, but other wise very nice. Ganesh provided perfect service with our meals being both delicious and on time.

He also organised our driver Vicki to take us from Castlereigh to Polonnaruwa to Anuradhapura ( via Siguriya) to Kandy over 3 days for a reasonable price. On a side note Vicki then picked us up from Colombo several days later and took us to the airport free of charge - very friendly man indeed!

All in all we highly recommend staying here in Castlereigh

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LBaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Castlereigh Cottages is a beautiful place! We absolutely loved our stay here in January 2014. The cottages are clean and spacious, there is nice hot water and the view is amazing! This is the type of place for relaxing so don't think you are going to be busy! We enjoyed a nice walk around the tea plantations and to the nearby British church. Lots of relaxation and amazing food to go along with it. Ganesh and Manu are beautiful people and Ganesh cooked some amazing Sri Lankan food for us. Some of the best on our trip! Ask for the coconut rotti for breakfast, its delicious!

This is the perfect place to come back to after climbing Adams Peak. Ganesh called our driver to ensure he could have breakfast ready for us upon return. Very sweet.

There is a little kitty that Ganesh saved from the streets of Hutton and we fell in love with her. We were tempted to out her in our bag to take home. We miss her and hope she is well Ganesh!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AriyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This cottage is a luxurious place in the middle of wilderness. Nearest city is 5km away. There are actually 2 cottages - one smaller for 4 people and one larger. Even the smaller has 2 seperate bedrooms each with it's own bathroom and hot water, large dining and living area and a terrace with splendid view on the lake, tea plantation and surrounding hills. The only noises you hear is birds, squirrels running over rooftops and wind in the trees. Sometimes few locals pass by but otherwise it is far from any village. Food (half board) was cooked in a small kitchen behind the cottage, everything fresh and delicious. The staff and manager were very helpful in arranging our trips and other wishes. From the cottage we had 1 hour drive to the foot of Adam's Peak and after the climb it is exactly the place you want to rest in. Overall great place although bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickoya
0 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
100 reviews
0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,652 reviews
0 mi away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Castlereigh Holiday Bungalow
0 mi away
Mandira Dickoya Bungalow
Mandira Dickoya Bungalow
#8 of 19 in Hatton
4 reviews
0 mi away
The Waterfall Villas
The Waterfall Villas
#1 of 1 in Talawakele
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm Resorts

Address: Norton Road, Dickoya 22050, Sri Lanka (Formerly Castlereigh Family Cottages)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dickoya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dickoya
Price Range: £31 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Farm Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farm Resorts, on the banks of the Castlereigh Reservoir, is a magical, untouched serene tranquil haven to gather your strengths in a peaceful natural ambience, absolutely the best way to experience the Hill Country. Just three and a half hours by road from Colombo or less than a hour by seaplane to The Farm Resorts. We offer unique accommodation in a reasonable price range ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Farm Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing