We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday cottage we've stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Moorfield - private and secluded with plenty of parking Miles of secluded sandy beaches - this is Luskentyre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Moorfield - private and secluded with plenty of parking
Miles of secluded sandy beaches - this is Luskentyre
The living room - picture window and additional double sofa bed
Roomy shower room with plenty of towels for all guests
Comfy king size bed
Well equipped kitchen with proper coffee and tea provided for all guests and a fresh baked loaf!
The bottom tip of Harris - Moorfield just over the brow of the hill in the middle distance.
Gorgeous sunsets over looking the Atlantic
Peace and tranquility
Stornoway looking moody
Luskentyre looking spectacular
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rodel, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea S
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday cottage we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a couple of weeks here in April and didn't want to leave! The owners Annie and Rob are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
The accommodation has everything you need and the bed is so comfortable had the best nights sleep. There is home made bread and other essentials when you arrive and there is a great shop with petrol station only a couple of miles down the road.
This is the most pet friendly accommodation we've stayed in.
Where else can you see eagles flying overhead while eating breakfast!
We loved it so much we're going again in October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Wow!
THANK YOU

We really loved having you here and we're very happy that you chose to book again in October.
Dogs are always very welcome here at Moorfield - we even had a guest who brought their cat with them!
Harris is such a brilliant place for dogs to run on the beach without the seasonal restrictions that so many beachside resorts impose on dog owners these days. A long as you're responsible and considerate to other beach users and crofters then it's a doggie paradise.

We're looking forward to seeing you again in October.
Annie & Rob and Toby Dog
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at Moorfield and the accommdation was excellant with all the amenities required. The location is in a Glen and fairly isolated and had good views to the mountains around and down the valley to the sea and Skye on the horizon. Ideal for local walking. The Isle of Harris is an amzing place with so much to see and variation in landscape offered in a fairly small area. Wildlife was good and saw my first Sea Otter nearby in Leverburgh harbour where there is an excellant restuarant. The accommodation had good heating which was required due to some inclement weather, but nothing to stop us enjoying the Isle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Ah yes, The Hebridean weather....we can't be held responsible for that but we always make sure the cottage is cosy and comfortable no matter what the weather. There is no extra charge for electricity or internet and there's a great supply of local history and interest books which means staying indoors when the weather is rough isn't such a bad thing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever, most beautiful Island and excellent accommodation.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Annie and Rob are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and very helpful. The annexe was very clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything you could need. The fridge is stocked with the essentials and a fresh baked loaf of bread awaits you're arrival (it was delicious). Although a great base for exploring the Island, there is plenty to do right from the front door- walking, fishing and the spectacular St. Clements Church. Annie and Rob can advise you of the best walks and fishing spots etc. The week passed too quickly but hopefully we will return soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thank you, Ruth, what a lovely thing to write. we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday here with us. It's a great place for teenagers with all these incredible beaches and the space and freedom. It's also a really good excuse to get them off their electronic gadgets as well!!
Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely things about your holiday here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazyday12
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week Away”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful stay at Moorfield with our three dogs, Annie and Rob were so welcoming of us and the dogs. Moorfield is situated in a beautiful valley (sorry I should say Glen as its in Scotland!) called Rodel, there is a hotel nearby with a bar, we sat outside on the small harbour wall with the dogs one evening enjoying a drink and watching seals in the sea! We saw eagles from the lounge window on several occasions and on clear days you could see the Isle of Skye. The lounge area has two sofa's which is great so you can laze out after a hard day of exploring, so many properties for two people only provide one sofa, and although I love my husband very much its great to stretch out and really relax.

We had driven through the night non stop from Cambridge so it was lovely when we came over on the morning ferry to Harris to get a bit of early lunch before arriving at the cottage for 1pm, so many cottages don't allow you in until 3 or 4 pm! On arrival we found fresh baked bread and basic provisions to get us started amazing and so kind.

Just one quick tip regarding the ferries, book as early as possible and if you can't get the crossing you want check nearer the time as they have cancellations and the ferry company will swap your booking.

A wonderful week away in an amazing cottage in the most beautiful part of the Scotland, thank you. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great but the warm welcome for us and the dogs was really amazing, Thank you.
Liked least: Having to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Your dogs were wonderful and I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday here with them.
Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlemo5...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moor field, rodel”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming arrival. Accommodation clean comfortable and well placed for ferry arrival and for exploring the countryside. Most comfortable bed ever and well provided with everything one needs and with a very useful welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was good, so can't say what was best
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you both,
It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm looking forward to seeing all your wonderful photographs.
Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine11...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is a gorgeous home from home in probably the prettiest part of the island,
The owners have gone to so much trouble to make our stay as relaxing as possible, with all the comforts of home, fresh baked bread on arrival and all sorts of welcoming things in the fridge, right down to being the most laid back and truly dog friendly place we have ever stayed. .......even when our dogs rack up uninvited in their own home. Unlike many places you truly feel your dog is welcome......even down to a supply of doggy food in the cupboard and doggy blankets for them.

Annie is full of local knowledge and has been instrumental in us finding all sorts of places we would never have otherwise known about.. We have seen Golden eagles almost everyday at from the windows of the cottage! Beautiful view down to the church spire and over to Skye.
Thoroughly recommended

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
This is our very first Trip Advisor review as we've only had the holiday cottage a very short while and 2015 is our first ever season of marketing it on a national holiday site.
That someone has not only taken the trouble to write a review but write such a positive one helps us to realise that we might well have got it right.
Thank you so much for your kind words and we're really glad that you and the dogs had a great time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing