We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and lovely owners”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Moorfield - private and secluded with plenty of parking Miles of secluded sandy beaches - this is Luskentyre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Moorfield - sitting at the head of the Rodel Valley
Moorfield - private and secluded with plenty of parking
Miles of secluded sandy beaches - this is Luskentyre
The living room - picture window and additional double sofa bed
Roomy shower room with plenty of towels for all guests
Comfy king size bed
Well equipped kitchen with proper coffee and tea provided for all guests and a fresh baked loaf!
The bottom tip of Harris - Moorfield just over the brow of the hill in the middle distance.
Gorgeous sunsets over looking the Atlantic
Peace and tranquility
Stornoway looking moody
Luskentyre looking spectacular
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rodel, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melged201...
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and lovely owners”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Excellent venue lovely homely ferl, plenty hot water and heat. Quiet lication and the added touches if homemade bread was delightful. The shower was good and the option to have either feather or quilttd duvet was great. The couple who own it were very friendly. Pets are welcome although I left mine at home it would be a great place to walk a dog. A car is needed as Harris is quite open and an ecar is not recommended. Call the accomodation as they know a local company who hire non e cars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thank you, Lorraine.
It's a shame that the range of the e-cars on offer from the airport don;t make it as far as south Harris without needing to be charged for an hour or so en route. There are other companies in Harris who have petrol cars for hire and I'd be glad to put people in touch with them.
We hope you come back with your dogs next time.
Thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive review, it's really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you, both.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we really appreciate feedback like this.
We are so lucky to live in such a stunning location and just want our guests to experience the beauty and tranquility while they're here.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such nice things.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JanetP232...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Moorfields is a wonderful place to stay & enjoy Harris. The accommodation is spacious & very comfortable with lovely views down Glen Rodel.

Annie & Rob could not have been more friendly & helpful but at the same time were never intrusive.

We plan to stay there again & have no hesitation in recommending it to any couple contemplating a stay there.

Thank you Annie & Rob!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I spend most of my time sitting in the window watching the view down the glen - it really is a magnificent vista and it changes from day to day, it's nice to know other people love it as well.
We look forward to welcoming you both another time and we give substantial discounts to returning guests, especially during the darker, winter months when there's a great chance of seeing Northern Lights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suegoldie
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage was warm and well equipped. The owners made us both feel very welcome. Great that it was dog friendly too. Nice little touches of food and drink upon our arrival. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
So glad that you enjoyed your time with us - despite us dashing off to a family wedding half way through the week!
It's great to hear that would be happy to return. We have a lot of guests who return year after year, welcome to The Club :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Because we live on site we always try and let people settle in as soon as they arrive on the island. Sometimes there's a delay but guests are always welcome to leave their bags and meet us before going exploring while we finish sorting it all out.
Glad that you're thinking of coming back for a winter visit. It's exciting and incredibly beautiful here during winter months with every chance of seeing The Northern Lights. We give our returning guests a substantial discount and don't expect payment until you arrive in case the weather stops the ferries from sailing.
Looking forward to seeing you for another visit.
Rob & Anne & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea S
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just arrived back from another fabulous stay at this delightful cottage. Arrived in the afternoon to a warm welcome from Rob and Annie. They were both friendly and helpful as they were last year.
I love how the cottage has been decorated, the Harris tweed curtains in the living room are fabulous along with the rug which gives the room a maritime feel. The dining table is placed by the window so you can eat your meals looking out over the Minch and the Isle of Skye, you may even see an eagle gliding overhead! Definitely has had a woman's touch in here! In the main bedroom the bed is so comfortable! You can tell a lot of thought has been put into this cottage, amongst other things I was pleased to see that there are plugs next to the bed so you can actually charge you phone etc up and not have to get out of bed if the phone rings whilst charging. The kitchen has all that you require on holiday and some supplies are ready there for your use. The shower is superb......I really want this shower in my house! I really didn't want to leave and could happily live in this cottage! Overall it is well presented clean and fresh with no odours. There is free internet available but to be honest it's nice to get away from it all and just look at the scenery and take a break from the usual staring at the screen.
Can't wait to come and visit again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you.
We have tried to create the kind of cottage that we would be happy to stay in when we go on holidays. We've tried to include all those things that make it easy to be there and make your holiday with us as relaxed and as straightforward as possible.

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know. See you next year !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well after reading so many comments I find myself not feeling the same. Whilst the accommodation was nice I was disappointed and could tell it didn't have the ladies touch. We didn't get the warm welcome everyone mentions only a comment that Rob had been waiting in all day for us. We had let him know the ferry wasn't late and would arrive about 9.00.

I was expecting the house to have had heating on for our arrival but it hadn't. We did get essentials in the fridge for which we was grateful for but disappointed we didn't get the fresh bread so much talked about.' Rob quickly showed us round the house. We were told not to pull down the blind in the living room where my 13 year old son would be sleeping as it might fall off, my husband had to put then curtails back in their hooks because they wouldn't close properly and when we made the bed up there was a big dirty stain on the mattress so we had to turn it over. The bathroom was very nice and so was the main bedroom. The kitchen had no dishwasher despite being itemised as there being one and there was a horrible smell of damp water. The cooker needed a proper clean and to say it had 5 stars or definitely wasn't 5 star standard.

We saw little of Rob. We felt uncomfortable when we did and that we was being watched. We were told on the second night but to use the Internet as he has limited allowance and it was obvious he was watching what we was downloading. My son wasn't happy because we had no signal on our mobiles so relied on the internet. May be he should our limited internet access.

Whilst we never bothered Rob much with questions about the island we found when we did he wasn't forthcoming in giving information. He told us he was anti-social and I could see that. We saw Annie on the Thursday for a few minutes and that was it which I was surprised at.

The cottage is a nice place but is over-rated and over-priced compared to the luxury log cabins with hot tubs further down the road.

Lovely island just not the 5 star accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Hi there,
We are so disappointed that you weren't happy with your holiday here and feel sad that you didn't feel able to speak to us about anything.
We always advise guests about download limits with the our satellite internet access and mention our fair use policy with all correspondence. We prefer to ask people not to download films, games and videos before midnight so that we don't have to charge additional costs for internet. As explained at all times, email, browsing, messaging and Facebook and other social media cause no issues at all, it's just downloading games, videos, films and music that might incur additional charges.
I'm really sorry that mentioning it caused anxiety for you and your son and we will make our fair use policy clearer in future.

We have read your other comments and feel saddened that we didn't come across as approachable enough for you to discuss these other issues with us for us to investigate and remedy immediately.
We will try and improve our interaction with guests in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing