We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, okay snorkeling”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dive Savaii

Dive Savaii
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Fagamalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, okay snorkeling”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We hired snorkel gear for 24 hours plus took a snorkel tour where the boat brought us to three different sites. The first, a deep reef that would probably be much better as a diver. Not many fish when we were there. The second, a shipwreck that again had very few fish during our visit. The third locatioin had some fantastic coral and fish, but we didn't have much chance to hang out in the most intersting coral (the coral garden) when following our guide. We tried to find the coral garden again after our guided tour of the area, but were unable to locate the best spots.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The snorkel gear was of high quality and in good condition. However, the boat tour we felt was much better suited to divers. We found other snorkel locations just off the beach that we felt were better sites than the ones the boat brought us to. We felt the hiring of the gear to be a great value, but the boat trip not so much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Interesting dives”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Olaf,Tina and Alex were excellent. We had planned to dive on the day we were to arrive (Saturday), but we were delayed and they were very understanding. They (and almost everything else) are closed on Sunday, so next opportunity was Monday. Trips are very tide-dependent and the morning trip had to be cancelled when Olaf delayed departure for a large group of snorkellers and the boat was trapped by the retreating tide, so we tried again in the afternoon and it was great. We did 2 dives on the trip. For me the highlight was the wreck. The coral was pretty good and there was a good variety of fish. Olaf was a great dive leader.

Note that this is a cash-only operation. No credit cards. That caught me out, and the only ATM within an hours drive has a maximum cash withdrawal of WST$200 with WST$15 surcharge per transaction.

If trips are a mix of snorkellers and divers, Olaf is restricted in the sites he can visit as some aren't suitable for snorkelling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun dive and snorkelling”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Went for 2 fun dives with Dive Savaii. Diving around coral reefs and a wreck. Lots of things to see, baby nemos, turtles feeding in their natural environment, magic coral etc. Was awesome. Friends went snorkelling at the same time as we went diving and they also loved it.
Would recommend booking in advance as had booked out fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkelling”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went snorkelling with Dive Savaii for one day during our 2 week stay. They were very knowledgeable and knew some really good spots. Much better snorkelling than the reefs around the popular beaches. Local snorkelling guide Alex was brilliant, found 5 turtles for us during our 3 trips with them, more than was seen by any of the divers that day. Best pizzas in country can be found in the small pizzeria behind the dive shop, well worth stopping by there afterwards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome dives with helpful crew”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We turned up at the dive shop without booking. Tina helped us fit 2 x 2 dives into her schedule making sure we could get back to the ferry on time. Dive instructors Ron and Fabienne were perfect, leaving me the freedom to roam around the sunken wreck, but also showed me a mantis shrimp, turtles and nudiebranches. Leo is the friendliest boat captain ever keeping my girlfriend entertained while I was diving ;-). I would really recommend going here for diving or even just snorkelling with the family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dorieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dive Savaii also viewed

 

Been to Dive Savaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing