We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect loch-side stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
View from bedroom accross the Gare Loch
Garden, looking across the loch
Seating / Sofa Bed in Living Area
Woodburning Stove in Spacious Living Area
Across the room from Living to Dining areas, windows either side, a lovely sunny room!
Open Plan Danish Style Living/ Dining area Leading to Bedroom.
Relaxing Open Plan Living/ Dining Area with Danish Style Beamed Roof.
Flexible bedroom -can be set up with one kingsize bed or two singles
Bath/ Wet room with Two Showers and a Bath. Shaver Point and Underfloor Heating.
Looking down to car parking area
The Gare Loch off Clynder
The Gare Loch from the top of the Rosneath Peninsula, Clynder is on the right with the yachts.
The Cobbler
Sailing on the Gareloch
Clynder Beach
The Iconic Charles Rennie Macintosh's Hill House in Nearby Helensburgh
Glen Fruin amazing views!
Great Walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rosneath, Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
88FionaF
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect loch-side stay!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

June and Geoff welcomed us to their fantastic holiday cottage on the Gare Loch where we had an absolutely wonderful time!

The cottage was very spacious and comfortable, with stunning views especially from the bedroom window. It was very well equipped and I cannot stress how spotlessly clean it was. We had everything we might possibly have needed during our stay, which was much appreciated. :)

The location of the cottage is very good - located right on the shore of the Gare Loch which made a good base for a few day trips to explore the area. Helensburgh and especially Luss were favourites.

We were very lucky with the weather for the duration of our stay. It was fantastic (especially for early April) and we made very good use of the courtyard at the front of the cottage which was a lovely sun trap! Being able to sit outside and enjoy lunch or a cup of tea is a rare occasion in Scotland so it was lovely to take advantage of the nice weather.

All in all we terrific few days and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing a wonderful and relaxing holiday in Scotland!

Thanks June and Geoff!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, location and views!
Liked least: Having to leave :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your time in An Caladh and the surrounding area. It was a real bonus that the weather was kind to us all. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaggerooo...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had excellent communication with owners before arriving, confirming time the accomodation would be ready. was fresh bread on arrival plus a well stocked supply of tea / milk / firewood. The accomodation is great, largely kitchen / diner / living room, bathroom and utility room. Lots of advice on walks etc. The accomodation was warm and very cosy (especially with the log burner on!). Bedroom was excellent with a great view of the Loch. Overall could not fault it. We had a lovely time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review An Caladh. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your break, it was a delight to meet you both. We hope that you had a great festive season, and wish you both all the very best for 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could not be bettered in any respect.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome, and to a holiday cottage that could not be better. Clean, neat, gloriously comfortable, very well appointed and excellent value all round. This really is the home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review An Caladh, and thank you for the beautiful calender, leaving us beautiful memories of you both and your homeland!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves being back in 'The Auld Country',despite the variety of weather that you experienced.
We hope that you had a safe trip home to the wonderful heat and Haste Ye Back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macala67
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic, relaxing and a must stay at place.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived on the 27th of September to a lovely friendly welcome from June and Jeff our hosts. Both were amazed at the simple little things were put into the accommodation, but also things like bread rolls, fresh milk lovely touches to make the stay that little bit more special. My advice to anyone is give this a try you wont be disappointed. And if you look at the photos online they really dont do it justice the place is stunning and bigger than you think.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday in An Caladh, it was a real pleasure to meet you both. Haste ye Back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T
1 review
“Perfect ��”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a great time everything was perfect nothing to moan about.had fresh rolls and milk in room with tea and coffee. Great views nice garden also has a wood burning stove for the winter .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in An Caladh. It was a pleasure to meet you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BionicJoh...
West Kirby, Glannau Mersi, Deyrnas Unedig.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“First class accommodation with stunning views”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The simply laid-out bungalow is immaculately maintained and it was a delight to stay here for a week. Every facility we needed or wanted was there which was the icing on our relaxing stay, including whisky glasses to sample the Auchentoshan we bought from the distillery!

We thoroughly enjoyed our three visits to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games, travelling by train from Criagendoran where there was easy parking, but always looked forward to getting back to An Caladh.

We can only repeat the comments of previous visitors that the place is absolutely top notch, and thank June and Geoff for their welcome and and the chance to wake up every morning to the view across Gare Loch.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 5 star accommodation, views and location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Thank you so very much for your splendid review...it was a real pleasure to meet you both, and it was a delight to us that you enjoyed the Commonwealth Games as a highlight of your visit...as well as Auchentoshan!. It was great that you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of An Caladh after the excitement of the games! Haste ye back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireL72...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were extremely impressed with An Caladh. It was in a beautiful location overlooking Loch Garehead, with stunning views. June and Geoff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the property was in immaculate condition.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here and would love to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review An Caladh in such a positive way. We cannot be more delighted that you enjoyed your time here, and look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing