We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Having got married here in 2014 we were confident that we'd have another memorable stay. We were not disappointed. Warm and welcoming staff, excellent food and service and gorgeous rooms with great views. Ideal all year round location but perfect retreat for a few cold, wet and wintry days. Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Carol S,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

I am very pleased you were not disappointed on returning after getting married at Knockderry House. We very much appreciate your positive comments about the warm and welcoming staff, excellent food and our rooms.
We hope to see you again soon to get away from another wintery day 

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break with my husband celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were both delighted with everything that Knockderry offered. Our room, room2, was great. The views were lovely and the decor was cosy yet elegant. Lovely bathroom with views over the loch to the hills.

The lounge was friendly and relaxing. The bar staff were always helpful and the fire and views were amazing. Our meals in the restaurant were the best we've eaten. As a vegetarian, it was nice to have something out of the ordinary to eat and the chef kindly cooked a different meal on the second night as the veggie options on the menu were the same as before.

Overall, lovely location, amazing room and food, friendly helpful staff (lovely dogs too). Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meala6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Meala6,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel and for spending you wedding anniversary with us.
I am happy you enjoyed the room and the views and more importantly found it cosy and comfortable.
We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and I have passed compliments onto the chef’s regarding the vegetarian meals. The kitchen team are so flexible here that we are more than happy to cater to any special dietary requirements. I am also glad you enjoyed the warm and relaxing atmosphere and took full advantage of the fire.
I have passed your comments to the team, including the pups (who were thrilled with their mention). We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had my family coming over to visit Scotland. We found this place on a road trip and decided to stop for a break. We were immediately fascinated by the beautiful location. It was a cold winter night so we decided to move inside and have a late lunch. The stuff is extremely welcoming and very kind. They let us in the main lounge and we had a seat around the fireplace that was on. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing. They took our orders for food and drinks and once our table was set we moved into their dining room. Lunch was amazing. Their fish pies and beef in ale were very tasty.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fede6581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear fede6581,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and I have passed compliments onto the chef’s about the tasty fish and beef pies. I am also glad you enjoyed the warm and relaxing atmosphere.

We really hope to see you and your family again soon and perhaps next time you will manage an overnight stay.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I arranged to visit various places in Scotland to host my wedding for an intimate and special event for 25 people.. i visited KnockDerry first and didn’t bother with any other venue as I immediately knew this was the right place for us. From staying there for the very first time, dealing with Fraser who was absolutely superb advising and helping us to arrange everything … the set up of the service, the room allocation , and the general plan of action was so easy and a pleasure... everyone we dealt with in Helensburgh with regard to the service, florist, cake, outfits etc all knew each other and even better, they all knew Knockderry... I couldn’t have asked for a better setting, the weather in late April was amazing, the food for our reception was truly outstanding and people are still talking about it.. Jonathan the chef is a genius. The rooms are all individual and charming...and the views across the loch are stunning..The staff at Knockderry are wonderful as are the owners Beth and Murdo....... I loved it, my guests loved it and we will definitely return... the only problem now, is that so many of our friends have told other friends, that its no longer our little secret... should you go? Without a doubt.....

Room Tip: try and get a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HELEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Hak Traveller,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel with reference to holding you wedding here. I am so pleased you liked the place immediately and the whole experience matched your initial feelings. I also really appreciate your feedback regarding our service; in particular that our staff are superb and I have passed on your comments to the chef’s regarding the food.

It is also lovely to hear such positive feedback about the suppliers we work with in Helensburgh, we are very particular about who we use and obviously this shows in the service you received from them as well.

I’m so glad you had a fantastic stay and wedding here at Knockderry and we do hope to see you again soon (and all your friends).

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We enjoyed a lovely home-made afternoon tea which was original not a scone in sight. Beautiful fillings in the sandwiches and homemade sausage rolls. The fruit cakes and truffles also had lovely flavours. The staff were also very good attentive but not over the top. Of course the building itself is stunning as well. All in all would throughly recommend for a festive treat to get away from all the madness of Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank scott622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear scott622013,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our festive afternoon tea so much, we do aim to do things a little differently and to the highest of standards. I have passed on your feedback to our kitchen team who have been working very hard on our Christmas menus and they were delighted with your comments.

Thank you also for the comments about our attentive staff and the stunning building.

We hope you pop down again soon for another treat :)

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

A Superb 3 night stay at a beautiful location on the shores of loch long.Ann and The staff were very friendly and helpful the food was excellent and reasonably priced.The lounge was very comfortable with a roaring fire, our room had a beautiful view of the loch and was very clean and comfortable.all in all a fantastic weekend at a beautiful hotel Thank you Ann and all the staff.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Ben S,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

We are very pleased you found our rooms comfortable and made the most of our open fire, especially in this colder weather 

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our staff and I have passed over your thanks to Ann. We also appreciate the comments that our food is excellent and reasonably priced.

I’m glad you had a fantastic stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A beautiful character property, like a romantic little manor house on the loch shores, in the most stunning of locations. Cove is a lovely little gem of a place. Not very busy and a little out of the way, but as far as we were concerned that only added to the charm of it all. The staff are as friendly as you could ask for and were happy to have a chat. The menu is simple and not very varied, but the food is good and fresh. I was surprised not to see more sea food options, but maybe that was the season we visited.
A lovely place, where we would happily return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Rheatravels,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

Thank you for highlighting the beautiful character of the property and the stunning location. Also, thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff.

With regards to the menu I am sorry you thought it wasn’t very varied. We aim to change our dishes on a weekly basis to keep in with seasonality, meaning our ingredients are fresh and all the items sourced locally. There are some seafood options on the menu, but with all things this isn’t to everyone’s taste so we do have to keep a balance of options. We will however take these opinions on board.

Overall, I am glad you had a lovely visit and will return to see us again.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing