We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was fantastic, the house was fantastic, the owner was beyond terrible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location was fantastic, the house was fantastic, the owner was beyond terrible!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I attended a wedding at this hotel this weekend. I found the hotel itself lovely and the views and location fantastic. The room we had was more than adequate although needs improving for a 4 star establishment. Our weekend went fantastic until 10pm on the Saturday of the wedding when the owner of the hotel Murdo Macleod decided he would take parental responsibilities away from the attending parents at the wedding and order all the children to bed, claiming they were unsupervised( ridiculous behaviour for a man in a managerial role) the hotel attempted to charge one couple for their dog yet didn't allow the dog in the hotel, the poor fella spent his time in the boot being walked and checked on constantly. He was allowed in one room at night which wasn't even the owners of the dogs room. Ironic considering mr Macleod had 2 dogs running around the premises the whole time and covering the front grass in excretion! Which two of the flower girls managed to fall into! When asked " it wasn't my dogs" sloppy shoulders for this guy is an understatement. When leaving the hotel they then proceeded to get my bill wrong and questioned how much the bride and groom had actually paid towards their guests room bills, surely they would of known this as it's not rocket science. The father of the bride attempted to have several meetings with Murdo Macleod but I believe he would of been better speaking to the door as this man had selective hearing and just quotes regulation without attempting to solve a problem! This man tries to run this hotel as his house and acts as if everyone is a guest in his house, which for the service he provided was completely overpriced! He should be paying people to stay there with his attitude or prisoners should be sent for a weekend to be constantly undermined, made to feel inadequate and to get arrogantly bombarded at! The man ruined the whole weekend for a lovely couple and their guests!! Please don't bring your children here as clearly he doesn't feel they are equal human beings to him! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Seany89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    107
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
53
365
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am late with this review , was only prompted to write when I saw the pop up when reviewing another place. I must stress how good the food was too - as we did Dinner B&B.

We went here around Aug/Sept 2013 and absolutely loved it. The food was amazing – a tiny dining room and menu was seasonal, lots of game and intricate desserts -so much effort went into it, we didn’t want to leave!

Our room was lovely, like a suite, all modern décor and new bathroom and really nice linens and towels. There is a small , traditional bar/lounge with a coal fire to relax in with lovely views. This is a real gem of a place and I will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Holy M,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments regarding the food and the acknowledgement that it was seasonal and intricate. The chefs work very hard on or menu and change the dishes on a regular basis to reflect the season. I have passed on your comments to them.
Thank you also for your comments about the room and bar being lovely.
We hope you can come and relax and share our wonderful food again very soon.

Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We received a one night stay as a christmas gift. Have no idea how they found this hotel but we were really glad . It's a quirky old building and has a wow factor. We were not aware of the check in time however the very helpfull staff checked us in early. We had booked a contemporary room as my husband is quite tall and as detailed on the website the smaller quirky wee double rooms were not suitable. For the first time ever we had a free upgrade to room 1. It was lovely with a 4 poster bed great view with a large en suite. Very clean and comfortable. We appreciated the upgrade as we received this gift to replace an earlier holiday which was cut short as we were phoned home due to the illnes of my mum, it made our stay a bit special.

We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast. We have to disagree with previous review as we had a great breakfast. I also had poached egg but asked for 2.

The hotel is well looked after and definately not needing redecorating, this mix of decor and old building is very well done. Our room and the public areas we were in had no musty smell. The staff were all friendly with excellent service . We had a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Remember if you are tall book a contemporary room and can request a room with a king size bed. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear happytravels013,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments about the rooms being very clean and comfortable and I am glad you appreciated the upgrade. This is quite rare as we are usually fully booked, but if we can offer an upgrade we do like to do so. I am glad you also enjoyed your evening meal and the breakfast and you thought our service was excellent.

We are glad you had a brilliant stay and we really hope to see you again soon. Perhaps next time you will return with the people who gave you the gift :)

Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titus1218
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The grounds are beautiful and service friendly. Unfortunately the beds and interior are worn and musty. Overpriced given the shape it was in. Regret not paying attention to some of the reviews I read. Wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titus1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear titus1218,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House.

Firstly, thank you for your positive comments regarding the grounds and the friendly service.

However, with regards to your comments regarding the interior I feel this is a little unfair as you stayed with us almost 1 year ago. We are always updating our rooms and pay particular attention to keeping them clean and fresh.


Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Knockderry for 5 nights after our fun filled busy wedding weekend in Edinburgh. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind. We had stayed 3 years ago and we knew we had to come back for our honeymoon.

We booked the stunning Library Suite for the first 3 nights as a treat! It had incredible views across the Loch. For the final two nights we stayed in Room 1. More beautiful views and a wonderful roll top bath. Both rooms were perfectly clean and the service was excellent as well as friendly.

Our favorite part of our stay was their INCREDIBLE menu. We fell in love with the food here 3 years ago after a delicious dinner was followed by Cappuccino souffle with cinnamon ice cream! Which is still the best souffle I have ever had. We were very pleased to find the food was just as good if not better than we remembered! 5 nights was the perfect amount of time to sample most dishes on the menu and even try our favorite twice. Mine was the rosemary scented duck on top of creamed kale with fondant potato and a gorgeous jus. Adam's was the special of the week Ribeye steak with chunky chips and the best peppercorn sauce on earth.

We've had the pleasure of dining in restaurant's all over the world can't rank this one highly enough. It is simply superb. We will be back for sure.

Steph and Adam Horne

Room Tip: Library Suite is gorgeous. Room One is very comfortable and excellent view. Room Two is also fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Adam and Steph,

Thank you so much for your recent review of Knockderry House.

I am really pleased you enjoyed both rooms you stayed in, particularly the beautiful views and that had a relaxing honeymoon.

Thank you for your comments about our staff being friendly and the service excellent, we really do strive to provide this kind of service. We also really appreciate your comments about our food and the menu, our kitchen team, led by head chef Donn Eadie, work incredibly hard to produce such a varied and delicious menu. I have passed on these comments to all the team who are thrilled.

We really hope you come and stay with us again soon

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
658 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It seems as though you will never arrive at this quirky looking hotel but when you do WOW . It is the most bizarre looking building - must be a nightmare to upkeep - but it is so cosy inside and welcoming . We had room 2 and it was beautiful ! 4 poster bed , bathroom in a turret and separate shower room and a fabulous view over the garden and loch . Staff combine friendliness with efficiency in just the right ratio
The food in the restaurant was wonderful as was breakfast . The hotel had a good buzz about it
Absolutely without hesitation would recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear JANDDBritinParis,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House.

Thank you for your comments regarding the building being quirky, also about the inside being cosy & welcoming. Room 2 is a beautiful room and I am glad you thought the same.

I particularly appreciate your comments about the staff being friendly & efficient and our food as wonderful. I have passed these comments onto the team.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The weather may have been windy and dreach but there was a warm welcome at Knockderry by the lovely fire in the bar. there were 5 in our party and we all enjoyed our delicious 3 course lunch. The lamb main course was beautiful and very tasty and although we shouldn't we did enjoy the desserts as well.
Thank you Beth, Murdo, Laura, Lindsay and all the staff for another lovely meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeancoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jeancoul,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Knockderry House.

We are so happy you had such a lovely Mother’s Day. I have passed on your thanks and compliments to the team.

See you again soon :)

Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing