We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect newlywed getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect newlywed getaway”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My mother-in-law booked us three nights at Knockderry hotel as a mystery mini honeymoon. It was the perfect choice for such an occasion. We were in room 1, which was extremely comfortable with a wonderful view over Loch Long. The big, bright bathroom was a heavenly spot for a soak in the deep tub after a day out on the hills. The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well, which is saying a lot as I'm normally a terrible sleeper.

The food was really something special. It is a little pricey, but worth every penny if you are looking to treat yourself, especially if you are a fan of game. My husband described the guinea fowl dish as one of the best things he's ever eaten. The vegetarian option was delicious and interesting, which is great as vegetarians are often neglected in this kind of place. Just a shame there wasn't another veggie dish to try. If I was an actual vegetarian I probably wouldn't have wanted to eat here every night. That's the only criticism I have of the menu. Portions may be a little small for some, but I found the food very satisfying and just the right amount overall. Everything I tried was delicious, interesting, and perfectly cooked. The puddings were stunning to look at as well as a delight to eat. The wine list offered a great choice for all budgets.

We found the staff and owners very friendly and welcoming. The bar was cosy and the drinks reasonably priced. The garden was a fantastic place to relax with a drink on a sunny evening. Marvellous views from the restaurant, garden and bar. It's a bit of a drive to the best areas for walking, that's the only down-side to the location. Overall we had a wonderful wee break. The perfect place to spoil yourself in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Cat H,
Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our one of our Master rooms, especially the roll top bath and amazing loch views. We also really appreciate your comments regarding the food and our menu and the chefs work exceptionally hard to create these delicious dishes. With regards to vegetarians, we do only have one option on the menu, but we do offer alternatives should it be unsuitable or our guests are staying more than one night. Our kitchen team are extremely flexible and creative, so as long as we have a little notice of any dietary requirements this is not a problem at all.

I have passed on your comments to our team and we really hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing wee break.

Kind Regards,
Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    107
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
53
365
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great place, food excellent, ancillary staff hard working,
shame about the management!
The only thing they managed to do was upset a Bride and Groom!

This hotel is very regimental and does not create a pleasant atmosphere!
We found it very difficult to enjoy the evening reception due to the hotel restrictions. Not at all child friendly!

Great day soured by very poor hospitality skills from the events organiser and management!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Deborahwebster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On a beautiful sunny evening we took a trip down the Rosneath Peninsula for the first time, and came across Knockderry and stopped on spec for food. Being a Monday evening the refurbished Victorian hotel was quiet but we were welcomed in, and provided with good seats in the lounge as we perused the interesting menu.
The owners made themselves known and were very friendly and welcoming.
We stayed for dinner, received canapes and complimentary cullen skink, watched the sun go down over the loch, ate wonderful food and came away uplifted that such a good restaurant and lovely spot exists in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear ImacGlasgow,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding the owners being very friendly and welcoming and also for your comments regarding the wonderful food. I have passed on your comments to the team.

I am glad you left uplifted and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I attended a wedding at this hotel this weekend. I found the hotel itself lovely and the views and location fantastic. The room we had was more than adequate although needs improving for a 4 star establishment. Our weekend went fantastic until 10pm on the Saturday of the wedding when the owner of the hotel Murdo Macleod decided he would take parental responsibilities away from the attending parents at the wedding and order all the children to bed, claiming they were unsupervised( ridiculous behaviour for a man in a managerial role) the hotel attempted to charge one couple for their dog yet didn't allow the dog in the hotel, the poor fella spent his time in the boot being walked and checked on constantly. He was allowed in one room at night which wasn't even the owners of the dogs room. Ironic considering mr Macleod had 2 dogs running around the premises the whole time and covering the front grass in excretion! Which two of the flower girls managed to fall into! When asked " it wasn't my dogs" sloppy shoulders for this guy is an understatement. When leaving the hotel they then proceeded to get my bill wrong and questioned how much the bride and groom had actually paid towards their guests room bills, surely they would of known this as it's not rocket science. The father of the bride attempted to have several meetings with Murdo Macleod but I believe he would of been better speaking to the door as this man had selective hearing and just quotes regulation without attempting to solve a problem! This man tries to run this hotel as his house and acts as if everyone is a guest in his house, which for the service he provided was completely overpriced! He should be paying people to stay there with his attitude or prisoners should be sent for a weekend to be constantly undermined, made to feel inadequate and to get arrogantly bombarded at! The man ruined the whole weekend for a lovely couple and their guests!! Please don't bring your children here as clearly he doesn't feel they are equal human beings to him! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Seany89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am late with this review , was only prompted to write when I saw the pop up when reviewing another place. I must stress how good the food was too - as we did Dinner B&B.

We went here around Aug/Sept 2013 and absolutely loved it. The food was amazing – a tiny dining room and menu was seasonal, lots of game and intricate desserts -so much effort went into it, we didn’t want to leave!

Our room was lovely, like a suite, all modern décor and new bathroom and really nice linens and towels. There is a small , traditional bar/lounge with a coal fire to relax in with lovely views. This is a real gem of a place and I will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Holy M,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments regarding the food and the acknowledgement that it was seasonal and intricate. The chefs work very hard on or menu and change the dishes on a regular basis to reflect the season. I have passed on your comments to them.
Thank you also for your comments about the room and bar being lovely.
We hope you can come and relax and share our wonderful food again very soon.

Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We received a one night stay as a christmas gift. Have no idea how they found this hotel but we were really glad . It's a quirky old building and has a wow factor. We were not aware of the check in time however the very helpfull staff checked us in early. We had booked a contemporary room as my husband is quite tall and as detailed on the website the smaller quirky wee double rooms were not suitable. For the first time ever we had a free upgrade to room 1. It was lovely with a 4 poster bed great view with a large en suite. Very clean and comfortable. We appreciated the upgrade as we received this gift to replace an earlier holiday which was cut short as we were phoned home due to the illnes of my mum, it made our stay a bit special.

We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast. We have to disagree with previous review as we had a great breakfast. I also had poached egg but asked for 2.

The hotel is well looked after and definately not needing redecorating, this mix of decor and old building is very well done. Our room and the public areas we were in had no musty smell. The staff were all friendly with excellent service . We had a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Remember if you are tall book a contemporary room and can request a room with a king size bed. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear happytravels013,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments about the rooms being very clean and comfortable and I am glad you appreciated the upgrade. This is quite rare as we are usually fully booked, but if we can offer an upgrade we do like to do so. I am glad you also enjoyed your evening meal and the breakfast and you thought our service was excellent.

We are glad you had a brilliant stay and we really hope to see you again soon. Perhaps next time you will return with the people who gave you the gift :)

Kind Regards

Linsey
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titus1218
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The grounds are beautiful and service friendly. Unfortunately the beds and interior are worn and musty. Overpriced given the shape it was in. Regret not paying attention to some of the reviews I read. Wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titus1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear titus1218,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House.

Firstly, thank you for your positive comments regarding the grounds and the friendly service.

However, with regards to your comments regarding the interior I feel this is a little unfair as you stayed with us almost 1 year ago. We are always updating our rooms and pay particular attention to keeping them clean and fresh.


Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing