We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A treat in the country”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a little treat hiding in the Kilcreggan peninsula. Worth the effort to find. The surroundings are beautiful and the food is excellent. Friendly staff and a delightful stay. My only criticism would be that our room in the new wing was noisy and could do with better insulation and although the food was delicious it was a bit expensive considering the (nouvelle cuisine) portions. Otherwise a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Bob B

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you had a delightful stay and thank you for your comments that the food was excellent and our staff were friendly. I have passed these comments onto the team.
I am sorry you found you room slightly noisy and we will look into our insulation to avoid this problem for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    104
    29
    15
    18
See reviews for
50
356
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great country house hotel with a great view of loch lomond. Quiet and real comfy.

What really distinguish this hotel is however the amazing bar with a great Scottish decoration!! The restaurant is also very nice! One of our BEST stop during our trip to Scotland! Would definitly go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonlessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear simonlessard,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments that the Knockderry is quiet and comfy and was your best stop during your trip of Scotland. I am glad you liked our interiors and Scottish feel.
I hope you come back and visit us again next time you are in Scotland

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed in most of the hotels around this area and the knockderry is most likely the best I have had the pleasure to stay in.
I travel most weeks to the area and found the food to be excellent, the staff's service is impeccable.
The owners are so nice and friendly to all, the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: I asked if my room had a bath and the receptioned said no but instantly changed me to a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Stan B,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments that the Knockderry is the best place in the area that you have had the pleasure to stay in. We really appreciate it. Also, thank you for your comments that our service is impeccable and the food excellent, these comments have been passed to the team who work exceedingly hard.

I am glad we managed to change your room and accommodate your needs. When booking next time we will remember you like a bath :)

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent two nights here on a recent visit to Scotland. The setting is absolutely beautiful. We arrived in the afternoon. We were checked in by exceedingly friendly and helpful staff and shown our room which was absolutely immaculate. After a couple of drinks on the lawn we dressed for dinner. The menu was excellent as was the food and the whole dining experience. The staff were attentive to our every wish. The food was of an exceedingly high standard and came out of the kitchen piping hot. The dining room was lovely and warm. I have stayed in similar places that have been chilly in summer. On the Saturday the sun came out but it was too chilly to sit on the lawn. A log fire was lit in the bar. What a wonderful touch. It created a beautiful ambience and made us happy to sit inside and read. The owners were always around and concerned that you had everything you wanted. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Perfect room, perfect food, wonderful staff. You felt like you were being looked after in your own stately home. With Glasgow airport under 40 minutes away this is a perfect Scottish retreat. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the library suite but as the hotel is all so beautiful I am sure any room would be equally go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear VictoriaCarole,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you found the property the setting absolutely beautiful and the room immaculate. Thank you for your comments that our staff are extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. Also thank you for your comments regarding the food being of an exceedingly high standard. I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knockderry House very soon to enjoy the atmosphere and log fire again very soon.

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon, and fell in love with Knockderry. The property is beautiful and a great place to just relax, and the staff was extremely warm and welcoming. We'd had a rough start to our trip due to unrelated circumstances, and Laura took fantastic care of us, helping us with everything we needed to take care of the situation we were dealing with. We were fortunate enough to meet Beth, one of the owners, and she is such a lovely person. She helped us make plans for what to see while in the area, and overall was just a joy to talk to. The chef is amazing as well- some of the best food we had on our honeymoon (though a bit overpriced, and smallish portions for those who like big meals), including Italy!

I will say that it's worth paying the extra money for one of the bigger rooms if you are staying more than one or two nights. We ended up extending our stay beyond the original 2 nights planned, and the only room left was small (and HOT because there wasn't any air conditioning). We also had a slight issue with the shower in our room, as the curtain didn't fully enclose the shower and water got EVERYWHERE. Closing it also made the space in which you could actually shower miniscule.

Overall, this was a great place to stay, and one we'd love to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Erin S,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you found the property beautiful and the atmosphere relaxing. Thank you for your comments that our staff are extremely warm and welcoming, and particularly mentioning Laura and Beth. Also thank you for your comments regarding the food being some of the best you experienced on your honeymoon I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knockderry House very soon.

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent two nights at the hotel, the Loch side setting was beautiful. We had diner in the restaurant on Saturday night, the service was really good and the food was lovely. Just one little disappointment was the lack of drinks available, my husband could not have his first or second choice of whiskey as they had run out and we couldn't order the wine we wanted for diner either as that was sold out also. We would recommend this hotel and will be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is above the bar but has the most beautiful view of Loch Long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear mustard14,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding the beautiful setting, the good service and lovely food. I have passed your comments onto the team.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the drinks available. Unfortunately the weekend of your visit we had a problem with a supplier and also it being very busy. We look forward to you returning for another visit and I assure you the bar will be fully stocked :)

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location, excellent food and wine. Master room, sadly lacking. Needed dusting under furniture, shower leaked onto back wall causing floor to flood. A little TLC would make this rather expensive hotel perfect for a restful get a way. Include breakfast in the price of a room and we would return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sheena M,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry Country House hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding our wonderful location and excellent food and wine. I have passed your comments onto the team.

I am sorry about the issues with the shower. Our maintenance team have looked into this and it is now fixed. With regards to breakfast, the reason we do not include it in the price is because not all guests want breakfast and then end up paying for something they do not have. We do however appreciate the feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing