We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food as good as the views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockderry House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food as good as the views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently and have stayed before - food always absolutely excellent at breakfast and dinner. Good wine list; staff very helpful and approachable; rooms very comfortable with DVD player - the hotel has a library of films to watch in your room; adequate parking; great lochside views with a beautiful countryside silence to enjoy. A fine old country house with classical interiors and wifi. We are going back if it's not fully booked!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnotabanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear iamnotabanker,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad to hear you have stayed with us several times and managed to enjoy the views and hotel. Thank you for the comments about our excellent food, wine list and helpful staff, I have passed these onto the team.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    103
    29
    15
    18
See reviews for
50
349
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all we were misled in terms of the location of the hotel because booking.com gives distances in air miles and not actual driving miles.
Arriving from the North, and its free open spaces, we had to drive past an industrial compound and then passed through a property belonging to the Ministry of Defense...
We had been so spoiled by the magnificent landscapes we had seen in our previous week travelling through Scotland that we were slightly disappointed by the lovely yet somehow normal view on the Loch.
We were even more disappointed when asking about the walks to do and the things to see around the hotel to learn there was not much.
We had a very good dinner though, gracefully served.
Our room was very large and very well furnished, yet the window was opening onto a wall and was above the hotel ventilation. Its noise Thank God stopped at night.
Upon waking up, we went for breakfast at around 9:30 but we were told, no breakfast was served after 9. As we had paid for the breakfast we would have appreciated at least getting a coffee.
We then decided to leave the hotel a night earlier as we fell stuck there, it is not the kind of retreat we were looking for and told the kind owner (at 10:15) it was just because of the location.
We left, by an easier route South.
Booking .com called us and said that the hotel was kindly not going to charge us for the night we did not spend there. Obviously we were very happy at saving 125£ as we had to book a hotel somewhere else. And rightfully just as disappointed when we saw our card was debited to learn that if the room had not been charged, a cancellation charge of exactly the same rate as the room's rate had been charged. Which I think is a rather dishonest manipulation of words.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank let135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The views are simply stunning. Really tranquil, relaxing place. The building is beautiful and very well kept in its quaint historic style. It is really good food and the breakfast is the best I have ever had in any hotel. The staff are attentive, friendly and know what they are doing. If you want a few days break in stunning surroundings this cannot be beaten!

Room Tip: We had a room with a Loch view so you might ask for this when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear travelelaine,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you had a relaxing stay. Thank you for your comments that the food was really good and especially the breakfast, the chefs were delighted to hear this. Thank you also for noting our staff are attentive, friendly and know what they are doing. This is lovely to hear as the team work extremely hard.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a little treat hiding in the Kilcreggan peninsula. Worth the effort to find. The surroundings are beautiful and the food is excellent. Friendly staff and a delightful stay. My only criticism would be that our room in the new wing was noisy and could do with better insulation and although the food was delicious it was a bit expensive considering the (nouvelle cuisine) portions. Otherwise a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Bob B

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you had a delightful stay and thank you for your comments that the food was excellent and our staff were friendly. I have passed these comments onto the team.
I am sorry you found you room slightly noisy and we will look into our insulation to avoid this problem for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great country house hotel with a great view of loch lomond. Quiet and real comfy.

What really distinguish this hotel is however the amazing bar with a great Scottish decoration!! The restaurant is also very nice! One of our BEST stop during our trip to Scotland! Would definitly go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonlessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear simonlessard,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments that the Knockderry is quiet and comfy and was your best stop during your trip of Scotland. I am glad you liked our interiors and Scottish feel.
I hope you come back and visit us again next time you are in Scotland

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed in most of the hotels around this area and the knockderry is most likely the best I have had the pleasure to stay in.
I travel most weeks to the area and found the food to be excellent, the staff's service is impeccable.
The owners are so nice and friendly to all, the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: I asked if my room had a bath and the receptioned said no but instantly changed me to a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Stan B,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

Thank you for your comments that the Knockderry is the best place in the area that you have had the pleasure to stay in. We really appreciate it. Also, thank you for your comments that our service is impeccable and the food excellent, these comments have been passed to the team who work exceedingly hard.

I am glad we managed to change your room and accommodate your needs. When booking next time we will remember you like a bath :)

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent two nights here on a recent visit to Scotland. The setting is absolutely beautiful. We arrived in the afternoon. We were checked in by exceedingly friendly and helpful staff and shown our room which was absolutely immaculate. After a couple of drinks on the lawn we dressed for dinner. The menu was excellent as was the food and the whole dining experience. The staff were attentive to our every wish. The food was of an exceedingly high standard and came out of the kitchen piping hot. The dining room was lovely and warm. I have stayed in similar places that have been chilly in summer. On the Saturday the sun came out but it was too chilly to sit on the lawn. A log fire was lit in the bar. What a wonderful touch. It created a beautiful ambience and made us happy to sit inside and read. The owners were always around and concerned that you had everything you wanted. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Perfect room, perfect food, wonderful staff. You felt like you were being looked after in your own stately home. With Glasgow airport under 40 minutes away this is a perfect Scottish retreat. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the library suite but as the hotel is all so beautiful I am sure any room would be equally go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear VictoriaCarole,

Thank you for your recent review of Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you found the property the setting absolutely beautiful and the room immaculate. Thank you for your comments that our staff are extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. Also thank you for your comments regarding the food being of an exceedingly high standard. I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Knockderry House very soon to enjoy the atmosphere and log fire again very soon.

Kind Regards

Linsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing