We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old house for "Golden Oldies" to have great parties like in the old days”
Review of Villa St James

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. James
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa St James
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We-a group of "Golden Oldies"- hire the villa and then club together and produce our own table settings and menus. The chefs in our group all get a chance to out-compete each other in a very grand and well equipped kitchen. So far we have done a Christmas in Winter, a celebration of Italian cooking and a South African weekend. The atmosphere and the setting are stunning. The main bedroom is to die for and to make the allocation fair, we sell raffle tickets. The income helps cover incidental costs. The venue is perfect as we all stay over and no need to stay sober.

A Grand Old Lady perfect for Golden Oldies to have good old fashioned fun!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

After a long and fruitless search for a place to host a large group for my 40th birthday, a friend suggested Villa St James. It was perfect! Great location, gorgeous house with lovely rooms and an amazing dining room to host a birthday dinner party. the ladies who looked after the booking (Barbara and Sally) took all the stress out of organizing the weekend. A great time was had by all, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmjackson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I celebrated my 30th birthday at Villa st James and loved every second of it! The house has an amazing view over the ocean, is very spacious and still very intimate. you are very close to shops and bars and are within walking distance to some great surfing spots!

I really enjoyed my time there with 20 friends and can recommend it to everybody!

Rene

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guusthts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

An amazing weekend with friends it really felt like a proper holiday with huge amounts of space a breathtaking view and the sound of the sea from every room in the morning. Would recommend to anyone at any time of year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a fabulous place to stay for a group of 12-20 people. The entertainment area is great, with huge lounge, great dining room and quirky velvet walled pool room. The proximity to St James beach, nice restaurants and the short walk to Kalk Bay make it a convenient location. The kitchen is very adequately equipped and the bed linen is of high quality. I would love to stay here in Summer to experience lying on the front lawn and dipping in the pool. Very well maintained and managed. You cannot not enjoy a stay at Villa St James.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ferry_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Second time in 6 months. This time with 17 women celebrating my birthday a bit late. Once again we had a ball. Spent the evening on the balcony with too many bottles of wine and much laughter. Had dinner in the spectacular diningroom and ended it off with red velvet cake in the lounge. Everyone commented on how well they slept in the beds with great linen and could not believe the magnificence of the house. Sunday's weather beat Saturday's and we wish we could have spent another day there. Love it, love it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleenct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We spent the weekend at the Villa on a staff retreat and all I can say is that it wasn't long enough. What a stunning venue! We went down to St. James pool early in the mornings for swims and then spent the rest of the day relaxing by the pool (or on our beds). Everything you need is provided for and we all had the most wonderful time. The best is sleeping with the doors to the bedrooms open and hearing the sound of the sea all night. I would recommend taking a GPS with you though as the villa is so big you get lost in it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chippie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. James hotels
0.4 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#4 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St James

Address: 36 Main Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in St. James
Price Range: £471 - £1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hovering over False Bay with a 360-degree view of mountain and sea, is the enchanting, Villa St James, a restored historical National Monument ideal for a lavish seaside holiday, wedding or corporate function in the coastal town of St James. Villa St James accommodates up to 16 people in 8 bedrooms with five bathrooms. The living zone features an elegant 22-seater dining room table, 2 lounges, billiard room, an English pub and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa St James Cape Town/St. James, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing