We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendiferous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa St James

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. James
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa St James
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Splendiferous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were a group of 13 near the end of a motorcycle tour of South Africa, and we finished the trip with a five night stay at Villa St James in late November 2012. Barbara gave us a great welcome and an introductory tour of the property. It is a gorgeous old villa, beautifully furnished but with a very comfortable, lived-in feel. We did some entertaining during our stay and made good use of the 22-seat dining room, billiard room and cosy pub. The location is wonderful, with beautiful views of the sea at the front and a mountain right at your back garden. It’s only a 15 minute walk into the fishing village of Kalk Bay, but the train station is just nearby if you can’t be bothered walking, or want to go further down the peninsula to Simon’s Town, or the other way into Cape Town CBD.

Barbara was very helpful and encouraged us to phone her if we needed any assistance, and we did when we wanted to book a tour of Stellenbosch wineries at extremely late notice - and Barbara achieved that for us. She also kindly arranged our transport to the airport.

Something worth noting is that some of the bedrooms are interconnected, so it helps to be pretty comfortable with the people you’re sharing the house with (but you can see that from the floor plans that are available on the website). Also, the road outside the house is very busy and you need to take care when exiting/entering – but it’s manageable.

We had a wonderful stay at Villa St James and would strongly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying on the Cape Peninsula. We hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Eleven of us spent two wonderful days at the Villa St James, on a management strategy session. We used the dining room for the serious stuff, and gathered around the fire in the lounge for the more relaxed part of the day.
Excellent venue, we'll definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was the perfect place to have a vacation with the whole family. Location, views, swimming pool, dining room, WIFI, pool billiard, kitchen, braai, Joyce who took care of the dishwashing, you name it. Big enough to have your privacy, but intimate enough to have the family experience you can dream of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Wonderful celebration with magnificent views of the sea, beach and mountains. Great accommodation for many friends and celebration for 50 guests. close to many restaurants and amenities.
I would recommend it for any celebration.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We-a group of "Golden Oldies"- hire the villa and then club together and produce our own table settings and menus. The chefs in our group all get a chance to out-compete each other in a very grand and well equipped kitchen. So far we have done a Christmas in Winter, a celebration of Italian cooking and a South African weekend. The atmosphere and the setting are stunning. The main bedroom is to die for and to make the allocation fair, we sell raffle tickets. The income helps cover incidental costs. The venue is perfect as we all stay over and no need to stay sober.

A Grand Old Lady perfect for Golden Oldies to have good old fashioned fun!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

After a long and fruitless search for a place to host a large group for my 40th birthday, a friend suggested Villa St James. It was perfect! Great location, gorgeous house with lovely rooms and an amazing dining room to host a birthday dinner party. the ladies who looked after the booking (Barbara and Sally) took all the stress out of organizing the weekend. A great time was had by all, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmjackson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I celebrated my 30th birthday at Villa st James and loved every second of it! The house has an amazing view over the ocean, is very spacious and still very intimate. you are very close to shops and bars and are within walking distance to some great surfing spots!

I really enjoyed my time there with 20 friends and can recommend it to everybody!

Rene

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guusthts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. James
0.4 mi away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chartfield Guest House
Chartfield Guest House
#1 of 5 in Kalk Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#5 of 7 in St. James
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St James

Property: Villa St James
Address: 36 Main Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in St. James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hovering over False Bay with a 360-degree view of mountain and sea, is the enchanting, Villa St James, a restored historical National Monument ideal for a lavish seaside holiday, wedding or corporate function in the coastal town of St James. Villa St James accommodates up to 16 people in 8 bedrooms with five bathrooms. The living zone features an elegant 22-seater dining room table, 2 lounges, billiard room, an English pub and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa St James Cape Town/St. James, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing