We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamlike, friendly little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Shout-out to Yoliswa, who runs the day-to-day at this lovely B&B. She is unfailingly friendly, helpful but not pushy, and cooks up a killer breakfast. The views, rooms, and location are perfect. The property has all sorts of comfy corners for chilling with a book while looking out at the Atlantic, which is only a few hundred steps from your door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very sweet spot, intimate and homey feeling in a quiet neighborhood. Nice cold breakfast spread and delicious hot breakfasts by the lady of the house, Ms. Yoliswa. Top floor view from our room was outstanding, as was the birdwatching. Local eating spots were within 2 minutes driving and the city was a gorgeous drive not too far away, but far enough to be away from the noise. Instead you enjoy the lullaby of crashing surf and the smell of the sea breeze. Wonderful artwork. Delightful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I escaped to this place after the insanity of the Cape Town Jazz Festival to enjoy some relaxation by the seaside. Beautiful location in a quiet residential area, but walking distance to the beach and lots of cafes and restaurants. Secure parking on the property. I loved the decor. It seemed that each room had something special by local artists which gave a great feeling. Nice breakfasts prepared fresh to order (the garlic mushrooms were my favorite), and service with a smile by Yoli, who took very good care of me. The stepped garden and patio gives a nice outdoor space.

Yoli told me about the educational project that the b&b supports and I took a spin out to see it. Wow! Amazing work being done there with women and children and I was glad to be supporting such a great cause.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms give a great sense of privacy and an eyeful of the ocean and peninsula
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Blue On Blue in early January 2014 for a dreamy four days. The B&B is exactly what we were looking for---clean, beautiful, relaxing, with lovely common areas where you can sit and read and look out at the ocean or enjoy a cup of tea. You'll find colorful art on the walls and books, maps, and other useful resources for travelers' use in the living room. We loved starting the day with a delicious breakfast of fresh breads from the beloved local Olympia bakery; juices, coffee, and tea; cereal; and eggs cooked by the very warm, hospitable Yoliswa. Staying a block from the beach was a wonderful way to enjoy Cape Town in the summer---we would just put on our suits and head down to the ocean pools to swim at sunset, walk to the harbor for fish and chips at Kalk Bay, or take the train to see the penguins at Boulder Beach. And whether we spent the day hiking on Table Mountain or tripping around the city, we were always very happy to return to our cozy room in a gorgeous, safe neighborhood with a view of the sea. Also, we appreciated the B&B's connection to the nonprofit Art Aids Art--guests can learn about and visit the nearby townships if they so desire, which we found an incredibly enriching addition to our trip to South Africa. We look forward to staying here again the next time we travel to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricazora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Check in is after 2pm and as we had flown overnight we arrived before that only to find that the manageress had gone to do some shopping so there was a delay in being let in.
The place is immaculately clean and the rooms are quite adequate with en suite bathroom. There are 3 rooms and the best one is the first at the top of the stairs. It is set in a delightful but small garden. There is no pool.
Security is paramount and the doors are kept locked at at all times. The breakfast was usually delicious and there was a good variety from full English to fruits and cheeses and very fresh local breads. The cost per night was very reasonable partially as the rand is very cheap at the moment.
We will certainly stay there again but it might prove to be a problem for anyone who has difficulty climbing stairs or the steep hill from the main road. A car is important in order to visit the local beaches and tourist sites.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We loved staying at Blue on Blue. The B&B is very charming and our room was really nice with amazing view to the bay. Yoliswa, our hostess was very friendly and helpful since day one. The breakfasts were great! St. James is a nice option to stay close to Cape Town (30min or less drive) with lots of options for dinning out, very relaxed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed in the B&B for two nights. The location is very beautiful and calm. Restaurants and shops are close. We stayed in the master suite, which has a very amazing view over the sea. Also from the bathroom we had a directly view over the sea. The host is very fiendly. We can really reommend this place a lot. It is a very good oportunity for staying, because Cape Town and the Cape of Good Hope are close.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. James
0.1 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#4 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Sandhurst Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue On Blue, a charming B&B at the foot of the Silvermine Mountains, is ideally situated one minute from the beach. Our romantic upper floor guest rooms feature panoramic views of False Bay and the Cape Peninsula. Walk to the tidal swimming pool, seaside tennis court, nature reserve, and local cafes & antique shopping. Centrally located between the city center, Cape Point and Winelands. Whale watch from your room (August-December)! We provide secure parking and personalized tours upon request, including in-depth visits to artist collectives and cultural community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast Cape Town/St. James, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing