We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth that road!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butterfly House Bahia
Ranked #6 of 37 Marau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
1 review
“Worth that road!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived by flying into Ilheus and taking the proffered transfer. Well worth it. Won't repeat Christopher F.'s accolades in previous review, all of which are entirely accurate, but if you want a day that begins with the sounds of the waves and the birds, a superb breakfast, a morning walk along a beach that goes on forever, an afternoon in the shade around a beautiful fresh water pool on comfortable chaises, hammocks, or in an outdoor sultan's lounge that overlooks the pool with your book or friends, with tapas and drinks available, followed by a sundowner caipirinha (Brazilian mojita) in the comfortable and friendly poolside bar with fascinating bar hosts, a delicious meal quietly or with other new friends, then sleep and the prospect of doing it all over again the next day (and you won't tire of the routine), treat yourself.

Room Tip: You might feel you should be disappointed if you do not secure a bungalow, but we stayed in Aurora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah13132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflyMarauBahia, Guest Relations Manager at Butterfly House Bahia, responded to this review, 2 May 2015
Hello Deborah13132014,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

Best wishes,
The Butterfly House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
56
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The effort it takes to get to the Marau Peninsula is certainly rewarded in bucket loads when you arrive at somewhere as special as Butterfly House. It is positioned in a remote area of the Peninsula, which took us about 6 hours to reach from Salvador, by road and ferry, about an hour of which was on unmade dirt roads, but that just adds to the rarity of this fabulous place. The owner Chloe Gibbs has created an eco-heaven, where guests can live the paradise dream in luxury, and good taste, whilst also feeling that they are close to nature, effortlessly nestled between breathtaking deserted palm fringed beach, and untouched Brazilian rainforest. If this was paradise, I would not be disappointed. The Pousada is managed and run by two very interesting, charming individuals, Damian and Alienor, a young Australian/French couple, who are just wonderful hosts. Nothing too much trouble, but in a friendly, interested way. Alienor is a very graceful and polished French lady, who has superb style, and Damian, oozes enthusiasm for everything, and together they clearly work hard, play hard, but put their guests at ease perfectly in tune with this special and rather unique spot. We booked for 4 nights and ended up staying for 8! So many great experiences, but one of the highlights was being invited to share a very memorable inpromtu 'al fresco' lunch with them one day, with some other friends/guests, which included some of the local chef's Moqueca, and which was both delicicious, and very special in so many ways. Indeed most of what we ate at Butterfly House was excellent, including a great breakfast every day, using local fruits, and ingredients. If you are traveling to Brazil, and you are looking for a place to experience true paradise, clear blue waters, unspoilt beaches, and some style and sensible luxury, this is the place to come. But, do not be surprised that the price you pay for that tip toe into one of the remaining few such unspolit areas of our globe, is the need to travel a bit to get there!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Altough the access is a little hard, being "offroad" the isolated location makes it a good place to rest... No "urban sounds" whatsoever, only the sound of waves and nature... The separate cabins and staff are really cool, and the food is very good, specially the seafood!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Paradise found! Great rooms, fantastic beach, superb service. It really felt like a home away from home - but better. Even our one-year-old loved it. Couldn't ask for any more. Thanks for everything guys.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am a solo traveler and was looking for somewhere friendly, secluded, relaxing and on a gorgeous beach. Thats exactly what I found at Butterfly House. Lovely property (the pictures say it all - the images are completely accurate, which many travelers will know is not always the case with pictures provided by management!), amazing food cooked up by chef Elias, friendly staff, and the most wonderful breakfasts - really unbeatable. If you are travelling alone its no problem as its really friendly and the couple of run the place and Elias the master chef will keep you company in the evening or you can have a nice chat in the cosy little garden bar with the other guests. The beach is absolutely PERFECT for runners - mile after mile of firm white sand. Great room, heaps of movie channels in English, lovely comfy 4 poster bed, room was always made up whilst I was at breakfast. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflyMarauBahia, Guest Relations Manager at Butterfly House Bahia, responded to this review, 2 May 2015
Hi Yvette,

Sorry about our delayed response thank-you very much for review! Very kind words.

Best wishes,
The Butterfly House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Nested in Peninsula de Marau, this place is uniquely designed to involve people into an unforgettable experience in all senses.
Warm hospitality, charm, elegance, peace,entertainement,adventure.
Remarkable performance of managers Alienor (France ) & Damian ( Australia ) as well as Chef Elias who masters anything in his kitchen.
Friendly staff, everyone commited to the best !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyneceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I spent a week there with my husband on may 2013. We had a wonderful experience. Since we had 7 days around, I could check other places and I can say that this pousada, really cute one, is by far the best of Peninsula do Maraú! The price is totally ok for all the amazing rooms and service you get. The managers, the chef and everyone around are so friendly, so nice people that made our time incredible. If you want a desert beach, a quiet place with the best food, best drinks and great service, don't hesitate to choose Butterfly. We are going back there in July with a couple of friends!

Indico de olhos fechados! Fomos MUITO bem recebidos. A Pousada é linda, bem cuidada, charmosa e a praia deserta e limpa. Alugue o quadríciculo e passeie pela península ou fique pela pousada desfrutando das delícias do Chef Elias e descansando nas espreguiçadeiras a beira mar. Vou voltar em breve e se não trocaria a pousada de jeito nenhum! De longe, a melhor da região. relação custo/ benefício incrível.

Room Tip: the best one is Almirante but the one right next to it is also incredible. O melhor é o Almirante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marau hotels
9.8 mi away
Pousada Porto da Barra
6.3 mi away
Taipu de Fora Inn
Taipu de Fora Inn
#3 of 37 in Marau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.9 mi away
Viking Inn Boutique Hotel
Viking Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Taipus de Fora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Dreamland Bungalows
Dreamland Bungalows
#2 of 5 in Taipus de Fora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kiaroa Eco-Luxury Resort
2.8 mi away
Terracos Marinhos
Terracos Marinhos
#1 of 37 in Marau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly House Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly House Bahia

Property: Butterfly House Bahia
Address: Ponta Da Baleia S/N | Cassange Beach, Marau, State of Bahia 45520-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Marau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Marau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly House Bahia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butterfly House is a luxury eco-resort in Bahia, Brazil, 250km south of Salvador. Boasting eight beautifully appointed villas, a palm-enshrouded swimming pool, gastronomic restaurant and acres of tropical gardens sprinkled with hammocks and bamboo recliners, it is the ultimate refuge for travelers seeking luxury and adventure. Located on the Marau Peninsula, Butterfly House benefits from pristine white-sand beaches, multi-coloured coral reefs and a gentle ever-present ocean breeze. Freshwater lakes, World Heritage-listed rain-forests and local indigenous tribes are just a few of the other local attractions. The whole area is part of a protected conservation area, which means zero development, no high-rise buildings - just mile upon mile of untouched natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Butterfly House Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly House Bahia Brazil/Marau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing