We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Troia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We loved this location, hotel and its facilities!
Troia is a lovely place for a fast get away, the beach is beautiful and this hotel is great for families, friends or work.
Combines the nature with elegance and design.(loved to see again the Shoe by JV)
We live in The US and I can say that we (portuguese) still can be very welcoming and service oriented.
Enjoyed the fact that the hotel follows the environment concerns, but the staff doesn't seem very engaged on that.( I refered to Hk staff not to change the bath towels after 1 day and they still did it.)
The service, the breakfast buffet is very good and front desk staff is very young and nice. Hopefully with couple of more years of experience and right coaching, they will be more comfortable with the industry etiquette and more detail oriented. (Not that they weren't I just expected more)
Also would be nice to be recognized when facing the the hotel staff.
Overall I wil most certainly come back and recommend!
Thank you:)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aldina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    310
    116
    31
    18
See reviews for
254
491
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed one night in Troia design hotel and had big expectations for this hotel.

The hotel is a bit run down for a 5 star hotel and is starting to look and feel like a 4 star hotel with a 5 star price tag.

The room was big but looked outdated for a design hotel and the balcony was dirty with no pillows on the dusty chairs of the balcony.

Even though I went in august the hotel was under staffed for the amount of guests and the breakfast just looked like something out of a all inclusive resort.

On top of this while I waited for my eggs I had to hear the staff complain for 15 minutes about how tired he was, underpaid, etc.

This is not what you expect of a 5 star service.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the ocean, my room was facing the entrance and the elevator with zero privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grao_Mestre_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This resort was more than we expected for our two night stay. The staff was more than helpful and the accommodations were outstanding. We stayed in a studio on the 10th floor that offered breathtaking views from our balcony. The poolside restaurant was surprisingly delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 617anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljezur, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went to the hotel for a two day anniversary break from Sunday afternoon 3rd August to Monday 5th. We had not booked which was probably a mistake! We had wanted a room with a Harbour view, But that was not possible as they were fully booked. Although the room we had was quite good and spacious. It would have been good to have coffee making facilities . The harbour itself had lots of small cafés and restaurants, which served up excellent quality food, and drinks. We did not try the hotel restaurant as the view would have been disapointing, it had a hedge and small stalls right in front of it! The breakfast was included in the room price, and the setting and quality plus quantity was exceptionaly good. Overall it was a nice place to stay for a short break.
The staff were helpfull and friendly, and parking was free and done for us.

Room Tip: Try to choose a lower floor room as the lifts get very busy at meal times, or go for a suite with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Connacht, Ireland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a well built and modern hotel suitable for conferences and a short stay. It does its best to please with a most helpful staff. They are alone almost worth the visit!
The decor and rooms are first class- five star.
The food is mediocre and not worthy of comment!
So if you want to attend a conference in the hotel you will not be disappointed but if it is a holiday you want of more than three nights - forget this place and it's location

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WoIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location on the tip of the Tróia peninsula. A view over Setubal, the laguna and the ocean. You can either be by the pool or take the short walk to one of the beaches (Atlantic ocean or along Sado's Bay). The spa facitilitis are very good and complete.The breakfast has a very good selection, with your own egg chef. It's a short way with a boat to the city of Setubal and you can easily spot dolphins in the Bay. The staff is very service minded. The rooms are elegant with a exciting bathroom solution. The hotell is fresh and filled with cool artworks.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prüm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I read different opinions in tripadvisor, so I wasn t quiet sure if I should book it or not. But when we arrived we loved it on the spot. Very friendly welcome at the reception, luggage was brought up to the room. Perfect mastersuite - ok I don t believe it is 160 sqm, but anyway; the kids and we loved it. We stayed on the 14th floor with a fantastic view, had 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets. Breakfast was the best in Portugal, so much fresh fruits, cakes, warm food etc. And plenty.
Unfortunately there isn t any good restaurant around. We didn t try the one in the hotel.
Although all the kids loved to play in the indoor pool the outside pool area was a good spot to relax and clean .
It took us around 1 h from Lisboa to Troia, we took the Ferry from Setubal, which was 24 Euros for the car and 5 people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troia
0.2 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
2.1 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#3 of 18 in Setubal
25 reviews
10.3 mi away
Casas da Comporta
Casas da Comporta
#3 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 7 in Sesimbra
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
3.3 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#2 of 18 in Setubal
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel

Property: Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Address: Troia by the Marina, Troia 7570-789, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Troia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Troia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the magnificent sea views are surpassed only by the mystery of the Arrábida Mountains. With 14 floors of residential suites and luxury rooms and a façade that communicates with the other side of the river using an innovative lighting system. The hotel includes a Spa with over 70 different treatments, a unique kids club offering both indoor and outdoor activities, 2 roof-top swimming pools, restaurants and a lounge bar that are true design spaces, a Show Centre, Casino and a Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green Troia Design Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing