We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor price/quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Troia
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor price/quality ratio”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a t1 apartment in Tower Troia Lagoa for 3 days in the high season (August 2013), just to try out the famous Troia!. Overall services in Troia felt expensive (restaurant, supermarket, etc.) with poor/average quality in general. The apartment was ok although it lacked the most basic items/utensils in the kitchen. The pool was small and always crowded. It is a convenient location for families with children though and my kids loved the outdoor cinema in the park. The beach has ok facilities (toilets, bar, etc.) though pricy. Restaurants in the marina are just a few and buffet in the hotel looked a sad option considering the price (20 eur/people, with drinks & desserts not included). We made a boat trip to watch dolphins. It was lovely although the boat felt crowded. Definetely not an option for next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libreta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    257
    107
    33
    22
See reviews for
286
145
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel in june of 2013 for 5 days. The hotel itself is good and the room was massive with great vieuws. Breakfast was not that good not a lot of choice. We weren't very Lucky with the weather, when it's a bit chilly there is not much to do. And the nightlife well there isn't any....the casino is nice though.
A trip to Setubal with the ferry for some shopping is a nice way to spend the morning.

good travels !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice hotel with big areas, stayed in a suite and was very good enjoying the view from the room. A good Hotel, definitely!
Troia has a very big problem, the "owners of the peninsula" think small and if you decide to go there you'll pay much more then the value of the product, not only in Hotels but also restaurants, markets, etc... everything is really expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasc784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked 5 rooms with sea view (we were on the 8th floor). We asked to have them all next to each other, which was also the case when we arrived. Overall the hotel is well designed. Rather modern but still pleasant. Rooms are large and have a small kitchenette, a sofa bed and a 4 persons dining table. The pool may be a bit too small for both hotel towers though. We had dinner one night in the hotel's buffet out of convenience and since there at not that many places for dinner in Troia. The buffet was ok, but quite pricey for what it was (20€). Kids ate for free though. Staff was overall very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was with the elevators. Of the three, there were almost constantly 2 out of order. A bit annoying, but technicians seemed to be working on it. Finally, please note that most (all??) rooms have separated beds and it is not possible to place them together.
As regards the surroundings, we had lunch once at Comporta beach (Comporta Cafe) which was definitely recommendable. But watch out for the sunset. We were literally attacked by a plague of mosquitos at Comporta beach and had to run to the car. Other than that, the beach of Comporta is beautiful!
We almost visited the Pousada of Setubal and Palmela. Both remarkable and very professionally run places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReizendeRoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I took my daughter and parents to this hotel for an over night stay, unfortunately we were unable to check in until after 5pm which was not really exceptable however they did let us have a late check out the following day. We had a two bedroom premium apartment on the 11th floor,fantastic views, large spacious apartment but alittle clinical for our taste, sofas and chairs could have come from a doctors waiting room. Only had 2 chairs on one of the balconies, nothing on the other, due to layout of bedroom/sink area one of the rooms was very dark even at midday. If you are planning on staying here with young children check your room first as the dividing wall in the living area was glass and not very child friendly. (see photo). The beach was lovely, the pool area lovely, even though alittle busy at times, the water aerobics lesson was alittle too loud for our liking but seem popular with other guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is located 200 m away frtom the sea. The construction is recent, and the installations are nice and in good condition.
My T1 apartment was spacious, nice balcony, 2 lcd's, air conditioning. The staff was polite, competent, really trying to do their best.
But the food ... breakfast could be eaten, provided no chese was eaten. But the main meals, that are not made in the hotel (made elsewhere and just warmed up) were the worse I have eaten for years.
I tried one dinner (I have a baby less than 1 year old, so eating in the hotel was rather comfortable) but for the remaining meals I went to the marina restaurants ! Same price (20€ prperson) but better, normal food!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Aqualuz in a Suite T1- 15th floor and the view is amazing! The suite is very modern and well equiped.
Aqualuz has a very good indoor and a fantastic outdoor swimming pools. The beach in a walking distante and is one of the most beautiful in Portugal.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast buffet is good, with a lot of variety.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troia
0.2 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
10.2 mi away
Casas da Comporta
Casas da Comporta
#3 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
16 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 7 in Sesimbra
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#3 of 18 in Setubal
25 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#2 of 18 in Setubal
483 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos

Property: Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
Address: Alameda do Zambujeiro | Carvalhal GDL, Troia 7570-789, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Troia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Troia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Troia peninsula, with a privileged location less than one hour from Lisbon and within a surprising natural environment, between the Atlantic Ocean and the Sado River, the three Aqualuz Troia units offer unique conditions for family leisure vacations, meetings and events. Aqualuz Troia is distributed amongst the Troiamar, Troiario and Troialagoa units, with breathtaking views over the sea, the Arrabida Mountain and the Sado River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing