We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strictly decent stay, average food and expensive alcohol”
Review of Havana Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Havana Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A strictly decent stay, average food and expensive alcohol”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Havana huts were strictly decent... I went there with a bunch of friends and though Palolem is paradise and the stay was kickass coz of the beach and the tranquility around, Havana the shack by itself wasn't as great as some of the other shacks on Palolem - 'Cuba' for example. However, for the price, the shacks at Havana were clean and livable. There're colourful and have those amazing hammocks outside each hut, and that was the best part.

Food was the biggest dissapointment... and the alcohol was more expensive compared to some of the best shacks on the beach.

However, we did have a great time, in spite of all the drawbacks. :)

Room Tip: Please check out the rooms at 'Cuba', next door to Havana, if you have a slightly higher bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very colourfull beachhuts,a tropical dream to look at! The interior of the cabins is very simple,double bed with mosquitonet,fan and a little cupboard.The bathroom is also very simple,but it has all you need!They don't provide towels and toiletpaper (like in a lot of accomodations in Goa) so bring your own.And bring a pair of earplugs if you are a light sleeper.In february there was no partying on the beach,but the dogs had their own party..We had a great time at Havana and the restaurant is very good!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The Havana huts, dismantled and rebuilt each season, are a pretty standard budget style all along the beach - a simple shack with small verandah, double bed, mosquito net, fan and 'lean-to bathroom (cold water shower only). The Havana, however, charges a high amount (we paid 1200R) no doubt cashing in on the beach frontage. If you discover a problem with the room, don't expect good service in rectifying it. While we were able to improvise a curtain from a bed-sheet, we had absolute disinterest from the owner in our net not installed, lack of towels and fan not working until we said we were going to move. The music from the restaurant, excessively loud until the early hours of the morning, finally drove us away two days later. The staff who work at the Havana's cafe were, however fantastic, friendly and helpful (the cook, Dashi and Dinku in particular) and given the conditions they work in deserve every tip they get!
We moved hut after a couple of nights finding one much cheaper and in better condition just back from the beach.

Room Tip: As it gets really hot, good to choose a hut that is in the afternoon shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Lovely beach, well priced beach huts and wonderful chilled out staff and bar. We stayed in one of the beach huts on stilts on the beach front. They are pretty and have a balcony and great view of sunset and so close to the water. But there are a lot of dogs living on the beach at night and we were kept awake on both nights by them barking and fighting. Next time I'd stay in one of the ground floor ones just set back a bit from the beach. They have a front terrace and hammock.

Room Tip: You can barter if the rooms are empty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The havana cuba management is uninterested and ask twice the value for their simple dirty huts with a bad matras. You have to negociate. The service is bad, the forks and knives are still dirty. There are much better places to find.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palolem
1.4 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Trees Resort
Palm Trees Resort
#3 of 50 in Palolem
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#27 of 81 in Canacona
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
#14 of 50 in Palolem
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Cuba

Property: Havana Cuba
Address: Sudhan Bhatt | Palolem Beach, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Palolem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Palolem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and pleasant place situated in the center of Palolem Beach with beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Havana Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Cuba Palolem, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing