We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little holiday within our holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Havana Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Havana Cuba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our little holiday within our holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

A friend of ours booked 4 cottages facing the beach.
2000 rupees per cottage per night
On arrival we found them to offer a excellent vista but they were basic, dirty and with intermittent running water (cold only).
We eventually got the rooms cleaned but it did take time.

The good in the bar was good value and the waiting staff were polite and good at their jobs if not a little overworked. The bar owners would just watch them run ragged rather than pitch in!

A thing to bare in mind is that with the cottages being above the bar you will have to wait for the bar to shut before you get any peace and quiet just the crashing of the high tide against the beach.
So if you want a quieter stay they have cottages behind the bar which I believe are cheaper.

We might consider these if we were to stay here again but our other friends stayed in other cheaper accommodation that they believed better value.

I would offer these words of advice though. If you are planning a trip to Palolem out of peak time. Just turn up and find the best deal on your stay

All in all Havana was ok but they could have done a better job for the money

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oneearedelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Although we did not stay in the huts we ate at Havana many times as the Havana steak was very good. in my opinion the best I have had in Goa. music good, you can take your own CD and they will play it. very good staff. looking forward to visiting again in November.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anthonyfreeman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I was a 1st time visitor to palolem beach and whilst walking down the beach looking for accommodation I noticed a sign for the Havana beach huts and restaurant being a lover of Cuba I checked out the beach side huts what a fortunate result it was.The havana is a brilliant place to spend some time the staff, the waiters and the chef are all 1st class very helpful and friendly check out the chefs speciality fillet steak stuffed with blue cheese second to none the havana is located in the middle of palolem beach I stayed here for 3days by myself and I am returning this week with two off my friends check out the Havana you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredfromfev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I ranked it so high only because of the amazing view from the balcony, where you could seat comfortably, drink their amazing coconut cocktail and look on the ocean directly in front of you. Most huts on Palolem don't have that.

Hut is very basic, beautiful from outside, and inside...well..That's my first time in the place in this price segment, so I probably couldn't compare. I was prepared, that it'd be very simple, which it was. Actually, you just sleep inside, nothing more. All my free time in hut was spent on the balcony, and it was nice.

Anyway, I saw a lot of other bungalows, and let me tell you, they are all the same. So amazing location of this one is definitely a plus. Also they have quite a decent beach restaurant, which is a bit pricy comparing to others nearby, but totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a typical beach shack place to stay. Huts that are propped up at the start of every season. Bar/Restaurant in the middle. Beautiful views of the beach. Good music. Good food. Rooms are extremely basic but that's expected. Given the options on this beach, I'd say this is the best deal (especially given the price point). It's also right in the middle of the stretch.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are beach facing and right next to the bar (on either sides). That makes this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBombayBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Havana huts were strictly decent... I went there with a bunch of friends and though Palolem is paradise and the stay was kickass coz of the beach and the tranquility around, Havana the shack by itself wasn't as great as some of the other shacks on Palolem - 'Cuba' for example. However, for the price, the shacks at Havana were clean and livable. There're colourful and have those amazing hammocks outside each hut, and that was the best part.

Food was the biggest dissapointment... and the alcohol was more expensive compared to some of the best shacks on the beach.

However, we did have a great time, in spite of all the drawbacks. :)

Room Tip: Please check out the rooms at 'Cuba', next door to Havana, if you have a slightly higher bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very colourfull beachhuts,a tropical dream to look at! The interior of the cabins is very simple,double bed with mosquitonet,fan and a little cupboard.The bathroom is also very simple,but it has all you need!They don't provide towels and toiletpaper (like in a lot of accomodations in Goa) so bring your own.And bring a pair of earplugs if you are a light sleeper.In february there was no partying on the beach,but the dogs had their own party..We had a great time at Havana and the restaurant is very good!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palolem
0.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Touch Beach Huts
Royal Touch Beach Huts
#8 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Trees Resort
Palm Trees Resort
#3 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#29 of 79 in Canacona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Cuba

Property: Havana Cuba
Address: Sudhan Bhatt | Palolem Beach, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > Canacona > Palolem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Palolem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and pleasant place situated in the center of Palolem Beach with beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Havana Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Cuba Palolem, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing