We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and Lovable stay”
Review of Dolphin House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagaon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nagaon
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We (I and my husband) were there for 2 nights during Christmas and must say that we had an excellent time right from the welcome to the see off. we were touched by the warm hearted and friendly staff who were very passionate about their work and were always eager to help. In fact, the owner of Dolphin House, Mr. Girish Patil, himself is a wonderful person and very open-minded to any suggestions. He personally looks after the welfare of his guests. Since it was christmas time,he personally took pain along with his staff to decorate the property. We enjoyed te christmas carols. Not to miss the food! it is awesome and mouth watering. Be it Indian,Chinese or Sea food, you will get all under one roof and cooked by the specialized cooks assigned for each cuisine at very reasonable price. Just place your order and specify your time you want to be served and you will be enjoy sizzling hot food right from the kitchen. No need to hang around anywhere else for your meals. Rooms are homely with clean linen. Bonus is the balcony attached to the rooms where you can have your morning tea and same time admire the nature and fresh breeze and relax in the evening after a tiring day. Could see the renovations and modifications going on which indicates that Mr.Patil is very particular about upgrading to better standard. Beach is barely 3 minutes interesting walk.Overall, a very peaceful and lovely place at a very reasonable price. What more can one ask for ??? Dolphin House Beach Resort is more like a home away from home than a boutique hotel. our sincere thanks to Mr. Patil and his entire team.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is good and has the nature front and big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sangs6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin_House_11, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Sangeeta and Richard,

Thank you not only for writing this review and for letting us know you had a loving and memorable stay. Our goal is to satisfy every guest every time and I was glad to read our staff impressed you with our customer services. Thank you again for providing an experience that our guests consider as good value for money .
Hope to see you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are a family of three, stayed at dolphin beach resort on 08/12/13 & 09/12/13. We were alloted room no 13, which was a excellent room to stay . Staff was very good & helping. And above all sea food was the USP of the resort. I recommend all sea food loving tourists to visit this resort. Hope to visit this resort with our friends and relatives in near future.

Room Tip: Choose room no 13 & 14 for peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sameerbongale2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinHouse_Alibaug, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Mr. Sameer Bongale,
Thank you for your appreciation about Dolphin House. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food especially sea food.. Hope to see you in near future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We Enjoyed our family picnic / get together at Dolphin House Beach Resort during Diwali in Nov 2013. Nice arrangement ...tasty food....Beach is just 2 minutes walk form the resort ..We will visit again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Keshkamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinHouse_Alibaug, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you Mr. Narendra Keshkamat. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your Diwali vacation at Dolphin House. We will be happy to serve you still better when you come to dolphin House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for a night with family and friends. Hotel is actually little away from Sea front. Rooms are so so. I liked the food and it is home made . Only you have to morder an hour before. People are polite.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinHouse_Alibaug, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Sumit824,

Thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food. You are right that we are not exactly on the beach but still its just 200 mtrs from the beach.. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We decided to visit Alibaug and stay near beach. After surfing the net found
Dolphin House Beach Resort at Nagaon as the rates are very economical. We stayed with family of six in room nos 2, 4 and 6. The rooms are cozy with all the basic amenities. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The service and food is excellent and we enjoyed sea food and chinese food

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snehaingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinHouse_Alibaug, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for your encouraging review. We are delighted to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Dolphin House. Looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I’ve been a frequent traveller to Konkan since almost 10 years now and never ever had a bad experience, until I “checked-in” at the Dolphin House Beach Resort Nagaon.
Oh, where do I begin? We had done our reservation looking at the photos and charges mentioned on their website. It appeared to be a decent place at reasonable rates. We booked a ‘cottage’ meant for 6 people. Being a group of 8, we paid for extra 2 persons. Fine till now. Frustration started when we reached the place and got a chance to look at their so-called “cottage”. The room could barely accommodate 6 people and the man there says its fine even for 10 people. Wow! What species of people? Dwarfs? Not being interested in arguing, we booked an additional room for 2 people, off course at additional charges.
This additional room looked to be a bathroom converted into a bedroom. Right, it’s actually that sized.
What least things you expect in a hotel room you’ve paid enough for? Drinking water? Bathing Soaps? Towels? All wrong. A drinking water jar was kept at a common place shared between 4 rooms, and getting a bathing soap required a 5 min quarrel. A dustbin was in place, though!
You switch on the TV and find that the connection is not recharged, so you’ve no option than watching free channels like ‘Aastha’ and ‘Sanskar’.
Being this frustrated, we chose to have our meals outside which irritated the manager.
Next day the man comes at 7:00 AM and starts nagging about 11:00AM check out time.
THE MOST RUDE AND ARROGANT HOTEL STAFF I’VE EVER CAME ACROSS.
The owner has managed to write good reviews on his own website; but trust me this place is not worth at all. There are lot better hotels in Nagaon. Being here you’ll end up spoiling your vacation fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sushant_shidore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0lphinH0use, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear guest, You had booked a cottage of six for eight people through travel agent. They had booked previously the same cottage for more than 8 persons and none of our previous guests had complained because they were satisfied with the arrangement for what they paid for. . You could be more comfortable if you had booked 4 rooms by paying double the charges but you wanted an extra room and extended stay till next day evening without paying extra which was not possible for us to offer on weekend during tourist season. Our manager was not upset at all because you had all your meals somewhere outside. If you had tried our food then your feedback would have been somewhat different because the quality and taste of our food brings all our old customers back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We decided to take a weekend break in a seaside property within couple of hours drive from Mumbai. Being the vacation time, it was quite difficult to find a decent place within such a short notice. As we wanted to spend quality time little away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded beaches near Mumbai - thought of places like Nagaon or Kashid. We chose this property after seeing some decent reviews on TripAdvisor.

Booking: We had a very smooth booking experience - I called Mr. Patil, the owner over phone who confirmed the availability and sent a SMS immediately with his bank account details. After sending 50% advance amount got the confirmation SMS from him.

Access: As I was quite familiar with this place, it was not difficult to locate this place. Nagaon is about 3 / 3.5 hours driving distance from Mumbai. For the people visiting first time please take the right turn at the Shivaji Statue (on the right hand side) on Alibaug-Revdanda road. This road would take you to Nagaon beach. After taking the turn within a kilometer you would find Dolphin House on the right hand side (50 Mtr. off the main road).

Parking: Just opposite Dolphin House there is a huge open ground where you can park your vehicle - no worries!

Rooms: This is basically a house where owner Mr. Patil himself stays with his family - so better you can call it a home stay. So please do not expect anything a hotel or resort is having - no Swimming Pool, no play area, no activity centre etc. etc.!! On first floor there is a balcony which is a nice place to enjoy morning tea / breakfast and/ or evening snacks / drinks. We booked 2 A/c Deluxe rooms - they were on first floor. Rooms are comparatively small but with decent size attached bathroom - rooms are equipped with a small cupboard, table, split a/c's, LCD TV's with Tata Sky connection. Beds are very basic and not very comfortable to sleep on (per our liking) - 2 cots joining together was also not a great idea! The linens provided was synthetic! Towels and soaps are provided on demand.

Beach: The beach is about 5 minute walk from the property - this would take you to the quieter side of the beach. You can walk about a kilometer to reach the more happening side of the beach! But the main attraction of Nagaon beach is water sports - there are lot of activities you can do on the beach and prices are very reasonable. Water is clean enough to take a bath - but for that you may have to go a little deep inside the sea. Beach is reasonably clean - you can also take horse cart ride, camel ride on the beach. You can see the Alibaug beach from far - on a clear day you can also see the fort.

Food and Service: This is the best part of Dolphin House. Food is basic, home made but delicious. There is no restaurant but have their own kitchen and separate dining area with some basic facilities. Please remember to order at least one hour in advance. Prices are reasonable. There may not be too many options but they are flexible enough to modify the dishes as per your liking. Staffs are all courteous and very helpful. And most importantly owner Mr. Patil is always there to look after in case there is any issue.

We had a very nice stay at Dolphin House - we had a good time in the beach, enjoyed the sumptuous food there! Only nit ......... bed and linen could have been better for a good night sleep!! Otherwise, this is a nice weekend get away at reasonable price!

This is a no-frill nice home stay option in Nagaon!! Recommended!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room No. 1 & 2. Room No 1 open on the balcony ........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0lphinH0use, Owner at Dolphin House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Regarding bedsheets and beds, we have noted your observation and will improve them. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagaon
3.3 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#14 of 17 in Alibaug
103 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ghanvatkar Bunglow at Zirad
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ramakant
Hotel Ramakant
#12 of 17 in Alibaug
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mauli Village
Mauli Village
#7 of 17 in Alibaug
42 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ruturaj Inn
Ruturaj Inn
#5 of 17 in Alibaug
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
#1 of 22 in Nagaon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House

Address: 1317 Dolphin House Nagaon Bunder Road, Nagaon 402204, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Nagaon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nagaon
Price Range: £32 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House is located at Nagaon Bunder Road, Nagaon. It is located at two minutes walk from the beach. It has 8 rooms with attached bathrooms & one cottage with three bedrooms. The vegetarian & non vegetarian food is served in the dining hall. Fresh sea food is our specialty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Nagaon, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing