We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, thunderous, Amazing!”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the perfect place if you want an escape from noisy, polluted cities and breathe some fresh country air. There was even a magnificient thunderstorm at night which we ran through to get to the other chalet. This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. We could only stay one night because the rest of the days were booked but we loved every minute of our stay. We were a party of four and two young children - at first it did not seem like a kid-friendly place because the chalets are far apart and also away from the main villas but the golf-kart service made it all easy to travel around. It was fun travelling back and forth on the golf-karts - especially fun for the kids.

The chalets and plunge pool
Each chalet has a small dining and living area and a huge bedroom area and a nice, lavish bathroom. The first thing I did was dunk into our private plunge pool. There were also monkeys everywhere. Before my second trip into the pool, a frog jumped in and I had to call the pool maintenance guys. I found out later a lizard had jumped into our neighbors pool. Just shows you how far removed this place is from the dust and grime of the human world. Everything is sustainable and runs mostly on solar panels.

Activities
We had a lot of fun riding bikes around the hotel estate and discovering new places - the most fun was riding the bike down the long path through the rice paddy. I'm pretty sure I saw a huge iguana slither past while I was biking around. We did not get time to try archery or horse riding.

Food
Amazinggg. Especially the fact that you can order anything from the menu - breakfast at dinner time and dinner at breakfast time. The chefs work with your body clock not the other way around. The food was delicious as well especially the breakfast. We had the breakfast in the restaurant and the weather was great to lounge about. I loved the yogurt and mini donuts.

Staff
Everyone was so kind, always smiling, and willing to help. They even delivered our dinner during a thunderstorm at night time.

Overall this hotel is exceptional and deserves all the fame and accolades it gets.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet 7 and 8. It was nice and private and the pools faced towards an expansive jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msfats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This Hotel is just amazing. Located within rice fields and Wood. The chalets are very big and very comfortable. We had our own jacuzzy and two bikes to ride around the place. The check-in was very special, we had to light a candle and then they rang the big bells. The Restaurant is very recomendable and you get dinner and breakfast at any time you want. The staff is very friendly and helpful and if you are in a mood to chat, they do appreciate and love it.The also provide horse riding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swiss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is an amazing place. It seems to be at perfect harmony with its surroundings. A great place to disconnect and recharge your batteries. Wonderful service with attentive staff. We loved the horse riding, nature walk, pool, archery ...... In fact everything that was on offer. The villas are really high tech and the plunge pool a luxury.
The only down side was the transport to the airport. I requested a luxury vehicle and got the excursion van. It would have been OK but my wife was sick twice due to the vehicle bouncing along the long road to Colombo. At almost 30,000 Rupees I expected a little more. However, even this experience did not detract from the pleasure of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reallywild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband selected Ulagalla for the first two nights of our honeymoon! We stayed there from 29th of Dec to 31st of Dec. By the time we entered the resort till we checked out they provided us an excellent service! Hats off to ulagalla staff!! I have never seen such a friendly and caring staff in any hotel!!!! We were highly satisfied!! Chalets were well maintained and beautiful!! Food was awesome! Each and everything was perfect! We are happy coz we selected this place for our honeymoon!! It's a best place for honeymooners who seek privacy as well as the luxury!!! We are looking forward to visit Ulagalla again!!! Thank you for everything!!! Love Ashan & Dilini

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ashdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Probably on of the best hotels we stayed at. Excellent service throughout, the bungalows are large, well furnished, they are surrounded by lush vegetation and have large private outdoors jacuzzis. The main, colonial house with bar and restaurant, is stunning and the food is the best we had so far in Sri Lanka. The staff had not said no to any of our requests. Everything does come at a price of course. Perhaps some activities like yoga should be free and the bottled water should not be priced 10x higher than in any shop, but all in all we can highly recommend it. By the way, wifi is available everywhere, the bungalows, the Olympic pool, the bar.......

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was my first trip to Sri Lanka and this was the first hotel I stayed in. It sets the bar so high.....
The environment is beautiful and so calm - during the day you get the impression you're the only guest in the hotel. Only at night at the superb restaurant and bar do you finally realise there are other guests staying. The food is stunning - particularly if you like the traditional 'rice & curry', which is cooked and presented in such a wonderful way. There are many other dishes to try, all of which are superb.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It was a perfect start to my holiday, and I really think those 'tourists' who gave negative reviews of this establishment should never have come to Sri Lanka in the first place....

BUT....be aware that they take a credit card deposit of 10,000 rupees on checking in, and that is NOT deducted from your final bill. The refund (as long as you notice it on your credit card statement and ask for it) should be made in 14 days - I'm still waiting for mine!

Room Tip: Chalets 11 and12 are furthest away from the main reception/bar/restaurant, so if you seek seclusion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramli G, Director/ CEO at Uga Ulagalla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent feedback on our staff and the choice of food. With regards to your credit card pre-authorisation issue, please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We have communicated with your travel company and the credit card merchant (local bank) on a daily basis. We can confirm that on check-out we advised the bank (as per our SOP) to release the pre authorisation. We have received confirmation that the local bank has instructed your card service provider to release the authorisation and they have assured us that will happen shortly.

We will continue to keep inquiring from the local bank about this transaction but we are limited in what we can do after they have confirmed that your bank has been advised to release the pre authorisation transaction.

Finally please do feel free to contact me on (ramli@ugaescapes.com) should you require any further clarifications and once again we regret any inconvenience caused to you because of this incident.

Regards,
Ramli Ghaffoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

+ points

* A 5 star villa with all modern comfort.
* Beautiful grounds. Lots of space, nature, nice pool.
* Not too many villa's( 21) which helps to create a relaxed atmosphere.
* The lady who brings you to your villa, explains everything and welcomes you every day at the restaurant is the ideal hostess( friendly& professional)
*Every member of the staff you meet outside the restaurant is very friendly.

- points

* the service in the restaurant is very slow. Even when we were the only couple or there were only 2 couples it took ages before breakfast was served. I can only imagine what a disaster this would be if lots of guests would be in this restaurant at the same time (which we never saw).
* Mistakes were made when we ordered our dinner in front on our last day.
* Some of the waiters in the restaurant are friendly others not so. It is a sharp contrast with all other people of the hotel you meet outside the restaurant and who are all very friendly.
* Some days the food was very good other days it was clearly not at 5 star level.

This resort could be a top level hotel if they improve the quality& speed of service in the restaurant and keep improving the quality of the food.

If you take everything together we had a very good experience in this boutique hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
534 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: £163 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/North Central Province - Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing