We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent 4 night in this ideal location.
Staff, service, food, chalets were very good.
A complete rest in a very relaxing and secluded place.
Non obstructive service and discreet staff
Thank you for the excellent service

Room Tip: Lot of narure and wild life at your door step
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdainv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family and I visited this unbelievable resort August 3-5th. The layout of this vast resort is amazing. My children loved the tree swing and the hammock in the front lawn and they spent many of hours there. They also enjoyed horseback riding.The staff was really friendly. One employee by the name Manik was so caring to my children. She went above and beyond normal service to make sure they were taking care of. Manik made us feel more than welcome when had our meals. She made sure the kids and myself had food that we could eat since we are not native to Sri Lanka and the food tends to be spicy. Our chalet was awesome! I have never stayed in a place quite like this and we have traveled all over the world. We stayed in chalet 18, it was very nice. We had our own private pool, sunken living room, master bedroom with whirlpool tub and outdoor a shower. There is over 30 species of birds on the property with plenty of peacocks! My only regret is we did not spend enough days here at Ulagalla. We will most definitely visit this resort again and stay longer. The beauty of the resort along with the fantastic staff is a must visit for anybody that is searching for a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ldjandree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We toured Sri Lanka over a period of two weeks and this was one of the highlight of our stay. Beautifully designed, discretely situated chalets are dotted about the estate and each has its own terrace, plunge pool and bicycles for touring, but for those who don't want to exert themselves there are smart little buggies on call. Peacocks, chipmunks and monkeys are free to roam but always at a comfortable distance. The grounds are immaculately kept.
Rooms are well appointed and the blue tooth sound system is totally amazing. Free wifi and a number of plugs make it really easy to deal with all forms of tech. You'll need to organise a driver to be able to see some of the amazing Buddhist sites that are quite a distance off.
The only reason I haven't given this a five star rating is that they need to improve the cooking. With a more skilled chef this would be one of the best places in the world to stay! But please don't let that put you off. It really is a terrific stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is an amazing resort, blending the relaxed and friendly service that can be found throughout Sri Lanka with world class comfort and style. It is within the cultural triangle but make sure you build plenty of time to relax at the hotel and enjoy what it offers.

The resort has 21 or so individual chalets - we were in Chalet 21 which was very private with its own plunge pool and views over a lake (with water monitors, monkeys, parrots). The room had a big 4 poster bed, separate lounge, efficient aircon and a kicking sound system.

The resort is huge given the number of rooms and can be navigated by bike or buggy. There is a lovely big swimming pool and also a serviceable gym. A highlight for me was the cooking course - where the chef takes you to the kitchen garden to pick the veg/herbs that you are then shown how to cook in the hotel kitchen.

The staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and thoughtful. We had a fantastic stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

By Far the best hotel experience I have had. The Location is serene and secluded perfect for couples. Accommodation in chalets with private pools, four poster beds and private terrace. The service was world class and every staff member was friendly and efficient. The food was also star class and well presented. Overall an impressive resort and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: All excpet two chalets have private pools. These two chalets are next to the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chandithaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in this resort, in a beautiful, luxurious and spacious villa (chalet). The villa was very private, had a small pool and an amazing view. We loved the sound system! The resort provides bikes and offers a good buggy service to move around the vast grounds. We biked around a bit and enjoyed the wildlife. It was great to leave the resort on the south side gate and to bike along the lake, seeing local people doing their laundry and taking a bath while waving and smiling at us!
The restaurant is good but not great. We booked half board, so we enjoyed a four course dinner with a few options per course. Not too exciting but decent. Staff is very friendly and try to accommodate you in every possible way. Would definitely come again, thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OandO-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Quite simply this was the highlight of our 2 week family holiday in Sri Lanka. Well located in the “cultural triangle” it is the perfect base for exploration each day to the key attractions. We originally booked 3 nights however due to our own mix up with our driver and guide we ended up with 4, which was perfect – in fact we were sad to leave!

Ulagalla is really a destination in itself with spread out accommodations in a safari style. We were travelling as a family and booked the 2 bedroom villa with pool – this was excellent. One of the best parts was riding bikes to and from the main house which meant the kids had real freedom to come and go.

The staff was all local Sri Lankan, immensely friendly and welcoming to our family. Special thanks to “Anu” who was just fabulous with the children and us!

The food was great, varied and fresh – we learnt so much here with regards to local cuisine – the best egg hoppers of our trip! (a rice pancake dish shaped with an egg and sambal etc on the side)

Overall a great stay and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbob66Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,533 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
146 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
543 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: £160 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/North Central Province - Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing