We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of places and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manoir de Kerdanet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poullan-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de Kerdanet
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The very best of places and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Manior de Kerdanet is a very special place in a very beautiful part of Brittany and its hosts, Monique and Sid, are very special people. Monique and Sid are at once urbane, sophisticated and gracious while being warm, personable and humorous. They love being hosts to travelers and they love their Manior with its rich history and beautiful architecture. They make taking care of guests look effortless and never tire of offering those amenities that really make guests feel comfortable and at truly at home. It is never too late at in the evening for a nice Earl Gray tea or a table set for a late snack, but the most enjoyable offering is their good and willing conversation about the Manoir, its history, French and English language literature, music, art, world affairs and all other imaginable and unimaginable topics. Monique and Sid are experts on what to do and see and where to go in their part of Brittany. They know the unexplored hiking paths, the ancient Celtic tombs deep in the woods, the centuries old chapel tucked out of sight along the road and the history of nearly every building and farmstead in the area. These are the really great discoveries for travelers seeking the intimate history of the countryside.They
generously share their knowledge of these things as questions are asked and interests are expressed by their guests. With all this said these two vibrant people have even more to offer. Consider Monique's breakfasts which reflect 25 plus years of world travel with Air France. She has cleverly adopted food combinations not usually found in French culture for her unique take on Breton breakfast. She makes a different cake each morning along with her personally made crepes and croissants accompanied with fresh fruits and hand squeezed orange juice. I won't divulge the rest of the delights. You need to come and experience for yourself at her exquisitely set table. As guests enter the great room for breakfast Sid is always there to greet you with a handshake and a kind inquiry about your night's rest and general health. When we arrived at Kerdanet we were greeted by Monique and Sid as if we were long time friends and when we reluctantly left Kerdanet we felt the warmth and satisfaction of being new friends to Monique and Sid. For a true traveler's experience of Brittany and France stop and tarry at Kerdanet. And for a true experience of meeting two great people please go to Kerdanet.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally elegant and expansively comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed with Monique and Sid for two nights in July on the way back from the Loire, and I must say that this was the highlight of our whole holiday. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this is a very special place, steeped in history and beautifully restored. We received a really warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Monique and Sid. The breakfasts were fantastic and we really enjoyed the home made cakes! Monique gave us excellent advice on how to make the best use of our two days in the area - however two days just isn't enough and we will certainly return. We would highly recommend this special place if you are looking for somewhere full of character, in a lovely part of Brittany, and of course with a fantastic welcome.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed four nights at this wonderful Manoir. Beautiful old house, tastefully and lovingly restored. Large bedroom. Peaceful location. Excellent breakfasts with a different homebaked cake each day. Above all, though, was the warm welcome from Monique and Sid. Monique speaks excellent English, and went out of her way to make recommendations on restaurants, best places for walks etc. I enjoyed the opportunity to practise my French with Sid during our chats, and in particular on the very interesting tour of the house and grounds. It felt as though we were saying goodbye to friends when we left (yes, I did shed a tear).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_M_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Chosen by chance without advice from anyone, using the book "Chambres d'hotes de charme", we feel lucky to have found Sid and Monique and their Manoir. Every detail is perfect and above all their warmth and attentiveness. From advice on what to see and do, history with tour of the property, to the perfect breakfast we found it hard to leave and will definitely return. What they have created and are always refining has given us the highest admiration for them. One or two nights is not enough and the more the better!

Room Tip: All are equally good, inform them if you need wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank graciefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quiberon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent two nights in the Manoir de Kerdanet, staying in the Suite which was fabulously large with two spacious bedrooms, a salon and a bathroom. The manoir has an incredibly rich history, with certain parts of the building dating back prior to the 15th century. The owners have spent much time and effort renovating the manoir, with the furniture and decoration respecting different historical periods.

The owners, Mr & Mme Durand-Nedjar were more than welcoming, inviting us for an aperitif as soon as we arrived. They were a wealth of information about the local area, and helped us organise our stay, recommending sights to see, organising bicycle hire and reserving restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious and copious, with hand baked cakes and pastries.

A wonderful stay, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poullan-sur-Mer
3.7 mi away
Hotel du Port Rhu
Hotel du Port Rhu
#1 of 10 in Douarnenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Villa les Hortensias
La Villa les Hortensias
#1 of 5 in Pont-Croix
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Kerdanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Kerdanet

Property: Manoir de Kerdanet
Address: 29100 Poullan-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Poullan-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poullan-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annual Closing: December 15 - March 15 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing