We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two peaceful nights”
Review of Barn to Rest B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barn to Rest B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Oxenhope B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Two peaceful nights”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a lovely converted barn with a beautiful entrance hall, and a warm and comfortable welcome from hosts Ann and Derek. Nothing was too much trouble for them and a lovely choice of breakfast which set us up for the day.
The bedroom had all you could want, even homemade cakes!!
We would certainly stay here again.
It is also centrally located for the Worth Valley and Bronte Country with four public houses selling food all within a 15 minute walk

Room Tip: They have two rooms, one double and one twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

just stayed for two nights at this lovely barn conversion. comfortable rooms with everything you want, hairdryer, tea making facilities with fresh milk- ann even left home made cakes for us. sportlessly clean with great shower room. ann and Derek make their guests so welcome. it was the best breakfast we have had in a b and b for a long time. few steps to thesteam train to take you to Haworth, or down to Keighley. the whole house is welcoming as are the hosts - we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knapploughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This b&b is a true find rooms are modern & slightly quirky being in a barn conversion with all facilities you would expect tea/coffee fresh milk not that horrid carton stuff etc but with extra touches ie facial wipes, cotton buds, muffins really lovely little extras which whether you use them or not are a bonus the b&b use local produce & you can definitely taste it in the gorgeous breakfast but the real assets are the couple who run it so a big thank you we will definitely be returning a great b&b

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodation and hosts, we were made to feel very welcome. Rooms well equipped and very clean and as per other comment breakfast was fab. Location is ideal and close to all transport links.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Spent a great few days in this lovely bed and breakfast. We felt so welcomed into Ann and Dereks home. Our room was great so big and the bed was so comfortable it was like being at home. We felt spoilt the whole house was lovely and warm, everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was more than we expected. Fresh fruit and yoghurt, choice of cereals and fruit juices. Toast with 3 different choices of jams, plus full english breakfast and coffee or tea all beautifully presented.
Its less than 2 minutes walk from the Oakenhope Steam Railway station. We walked into Howarth a couple of times ,which took us about 30 - 40minutes. Or if you want to there's a bus stop a few miniutes walk away,or the local taxi which only cost £4.00.
Ann baked a cake one of the days and left us a couple of slices in our room, which were beautiful.
We are planning to go back in the Spring. If you want a few days away in the country in a lovely bed and breakfast then this is the place to go, it's really special and Ann and Derek are great people.

Room Tip: Only TWO rooms ours was the King Size - brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildaboutcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

just come back from this wonderful b&b after staying there to visit the 1940s weekend in Haworth. We couldnt have asked for a nicer place to stay. Ann and Derek are lovely hosts and the b&b is so cosy and comfy and Ann serves the best full english breakfast ever! It is situated in a beautiful place also. Cant wait to go back. Top marks to Ann and Derek [Anns mam is lovely too]

Julie and Pat from the north east

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

On a quiet lane only 100 yards from Oxenhope Station, the southern terminus of the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway, Barn to Rest is a perfect starting point for a day on the railway either as passengers or as participants on a Footplate Experience day.

Ann and Derek are very welcoming and the double room spacious and comfortable. The thermostatic radiator valves were adjustable to our preference and piping hot water was always available. A nice touch was a vacuum flask of fresh milk for tea and coffee making.

There was a wide choice at breakfast. I can recommend Ann's Full English - a mighty plateful, perfectly cooked and including the nicest black pudding I have ever tasted! A perfect start to a hard day on the footplate!

With "The Lamb" providing excellent and affordable pub grub just up the road, The Barn is a perfect base to explore this very interesting rural area.
We will not hesitate stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxenhope
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
1.0 mi away
Westfield Lodge
Westfield Lodge
#1 of 3 in Oxenhope
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashmount Country House
Show Prices

Been to Barn to Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn to Rest B&B

Property: Barn to Rest B&B
Address: The Barn Harry Lane, Oxenhope BD22 9JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oxenhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxenhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone detached Converted Barn and large Garden with Pond. all the Bedrooms have En-suites. Luxury Bedding, Hospitality Tray, Hairdryers. Free View TV. WiFi, Guest lounge. We are 2 mins for Oxenhope Steam Railway Station, Where the Railway Children was filmed. Haworth Village is 2 miles away. Bronte Country is on our door step you can walk from the barn. Hebden Bridge with its quaint village and Canal is a short drive away. The Yorkshire Dales National Park and Skipton with its Castle, is close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barn To Rest B&B Oxenhope, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing