We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half day experience”
Review of SMJ Falconry

SMJ Falconry
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Oxenhope
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SMJ Falconry is a private Bird of prey centre based outside of Oxenhope, West Yorkshire. We are only open to pre-booked experience days. We also run educational school visits, displays and corporate days.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just spent the most amazing morning at SMJFALCONRY . From the moment we arrived and were handed a very welcoming cup of tea by wonderful friendly staff . We had a tour of the owls and if like me you think an owl is just an owl then think again ,one watching us could apparently hear our hearts beating ! we got to hold this beautiful owl . We watched the kestrel and hawks fly and got to feed them with the glove on ! The highlight had to be getting the chance to hold this HUGE eagle . The falconry is owned and run by Sandra and her son and their passion shows . . The rest of the staff are wonderful and so ready to answer questions . The birds are beautifully looked after and I feel very privaliged to have had a peek into their lives . Sandra has the most wonderful way with the owls they know and love her which is wonderful to see. . . Highly recommended for children and adults . Thanks Sandra and Chris for sharing your passion with us .

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Fishchips166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"birds of prey"
in 35 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 9 reviews
"little owl"
in 4 reviews
"birds including"
in 4 reviews
"barn owl"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 8 reviews
"hawk walk"
in 6 reviews
"great variety of birds"
in 2 reviews
"peregrine falcon"
in 2 reviews
"an experience not to be missed"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this experience"
in 2 reviews
"brilliant morning"
in 2 reviews
"soft toys"
in 2 reviews
"moment you arrive"
in 2 reviews
"excellent afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"yorkshire countryside"
in 3 reviews
"wrap up warm"
in 2 reviews
Filter

136 - 140 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife & I spent the day at SMJFalconry and had an amazing experience photographing some of over 50 birds -all of which were in excellent condition and clearly well looked after. The staff were hugely helpful answering 1,000 questions and obviously had a passion for their job. Will definitely return!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Myself and my boyfriend had a half day experience at SMJ Falconry and can't recommend this place enough. From the moment we arrived, every member of the team went out of their way to be warm, chatty and friendly. We had a tour of the falconry and the owl aviaries, and were able to go for a brief hawk walk and handle and fly the owls. I've never done a TripAdvisor review before, but I really think SMJ Falconry is a hidden gem, and more people should visit for an unmissable experience - you won't regret it!

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend purchased a half day experience at SMJ. We were warmly greeted on arrival by all the staff and had an in depth tour of the Falconry. All the birds are absolutely stunning and it is clear how well they are looked after as they were all relaxed when handled by the staff. We got to handle some of the owls and learn about there habits and later on we got to fly a few of the owls and even went for a walk with a handsome Harris Hawk called Henry. We never felt like we were rushed in and out of the Falconry and it is clear the team at SMJ love what they do and this is a reflection on how well run the place is.
Definately advise all age groups to come here as everyone can learn and apreciate how beautiful these creatures are. A definite 10 out of 10. A great and satisfying afternoon in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside.

1  Thank Philmoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked a three person owl experience and were amazed by what we saw and did. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly and we held and flew a lot of different birds of different sizes. We had a really fun day and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank Tumukingofwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SMJ Falconry also viewed

 

Been to SMJ Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing