We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful bolt hole in Brontë country”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 rock cottage

cosy lounge with inglnook fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cosy lounge with inglnook fireplace
multifuel stove so good for romantic evenings downstairs double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
cosy lounge with inglnook fireplace
multifuel stove so good for romantic evenings
downstairs double bedroom
dining room with solid wood dining table that seats 6
upstairs bedroom has duel aspect windows lovely views.
Modern bathroom with walk in shower
quirky cottage style kitchen fully equiped
the local reservoir 5 minutes walk, a lovely evening stroll.
local view
Haworth moors
Bronte Bridge on Haworth Moor
Bronte Waterfalls on Haworth Moor
local view
wonderful walking and cycling country.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BryonyC85
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissful bolt hole in Brontë country”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a blissful 2 night break at 2 Rock Cottage over the bank holiday weekend. John greeted us and gave a tour of the cottage, but then left us to explore and relax as we wished; with the knowledge that he was on the end of the phone if we needed anything. The cottage was perfect for us! I thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the compact kitchen and relaxing by the fire in the evenings. Parking is on the road next to a stone wall. There are some great walks in the area and fantastic local sights to see too. We enjoyed our stay so much we're already trying to work out when we can make a return visit. Thank you for your hospitality John.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review Bryony I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to see you again, cheers john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieT19...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend to meet up with family, went with spouse and teenage son and our two large dogs. Found John, the owner, to be very friendly and helpful. Cottage was lovely and comfortable and had everything needed for our stay. Small but cosy and well decorated. Nice little courtyard garden for the dogs, would be nice in good weather but ours was mostly wet unfortunately! The woodburner we had on a lot of the time and there was plenty of coal and logs available. Went on a few lovely long walks. Found the friendliest and dog friendly pub was the bay horse. Also shopped at Keeley Farm Shop which was absolutely excellent - good job it's not near my home or I would spend a fortune (not that it was expensive, just wonderful). Thank you John for a lovely stay, would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage, woodburner, views
Liked least: Muddy walks! Rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you very much Debbie I'm so very pleased you enjoyed your stay , hope to see you again, yours John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
1 review
“Lovely comfy cottage with good facilities”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

3 nights spent here - nice cottage, beds very comfy, super shower and well equipped kitchen. Nice garden area to sit in for a drink. Found the onstreet parking a bit of a challenge to start with as the road is very busy but soon got used to it. Did some amazing walking. Cottage not suitable for anyone with disabilities because of steps.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
So very pleased you enjoyed your stay cheers John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGB300911
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 2 night stay at rock cottage. Travelled with my husband and our 5 and a half month old pup. The cottage is lovely the pictures don't do it justice. There's everything you could need provided. Extra little touches like the pint of milk in the fridge and the tea coffee and sugar added a nice little bit extra. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need to cook in there. There are 2 bedrooms both are lovely and decorated nicely. The dining room is small however more than big enough for what you would need even if there were 4 of you. The lounge is very cosy and the log burner is fantastic, so much wood and coal is supplied I can't imagine anyone would run out. There's a nice little garden/yard that had the weather been a little nicer we would have made use out of. The wifi that's included was great as it meant we could link our laptop up and watch Sky by linking to our home account. The walks that are available right on the doorstep are great and the views fantastic. There isn't much near to the cottage other than 1 pub or a 20 minute walk to the other pubs however we went here wanting to take time out and just enjoy nice walks with our dog. The lamb inn a 2 second walk away is a must either just for a drink or to eat (which we did both) the customer service that was given prior to and following booking was great. Thank you John and Glynis, this is a lovely cottage that we will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
So very glad you enjoyed your stay, do hope you will visit us again, thanks for your custom Glynis & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hrcnow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peace and lovely views”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay here and we enjoyed it just as much the second time. Although Oxenhope is a quiet village,there are plenty of places nearby to visit such as Haworth and Skipton.There are lovely walks to take from the cottage,which is a comfortable base with every amenity you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely situation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Really glad you enjoyed your stay Helen, hope we see you again.
Glynis and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonhM26...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Piece of heaven”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spend a weekend at the cottage and the pictures really do not do it justice. Went with my partner, 2 children and a dog and was plenty of room. Loved that it has a gated garden as we were able to leave the back door open and let the kids and dog roam around. The local pub (The Lamb Inn) which is literally 2 seconds walk away is very friendly and serves beautiful food. The locals were amazing and friendly, the kids lived hearing the local history from the locals (for example a cemetary near by saved by a family from being developed on). Would definatley recommend a visit to Oxenhope Train Station even if you dont get on a steam train. The walk around the local resevoir (again a 5 minute walk away) was beautiful. There was also a nice park near the train station where we let the dog paddle in the stream.
We popped into Hebdon Bridge but didn't stay long as was very busy, but was good for the kids to spend their spending money. Have been telling everyone I know how nice the cottage and its surrounding are.
The only negative we had was that we couldn't sit outside at certain time of day due to the mass amount of midge flies....but that just means we have to revisit at a different time of year. Literally a perfect weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the lovely walks nearby.
Hope we see you again, yours Glynis and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garelli50
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely weekend, to celebrate mum's birthday. Met by Glynis on arrival. A very kind and friendly lady. Will definitely be staying again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thanks for lovely review we are so glad you had a good stay and hope we see you again. Glynis @ John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing