We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Swanson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swanson House
Ranked #2 of 3 Brough B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here on our last night of the 3rd leg of our coast to coast walk, being near to Kirkby Stephen where we left our car. Very nice large room with lounge area and large bathroom with both bath and separate shower. Very clean and even had bathrobes. A separate area just across the landing from our room which had a fridge with fresh milk, fresh cake, books and various DVD's. Unfortunately our luggage hadn't arrived by the time we had booked dinner so had to get back into our walking clothes to sit in Pats beautiful restaurant where we had excellent food and wine, compliments of our baggage carrier. Luggage arrived by the end of our meal so I think we did ok! Great nights sleep followed by a very nice breakfast. Keep going Pat you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night whilst walking Lady Anne's Way. Pat welcomed us and showed us to a beautiful room with lovely ensuite shower room. There was homemade cake to eat. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which was beautifully served. The staff member was very helpful, bringing us extra plates and cutlery so we could share the first course and cheese board afterwards. There was nice bread too. Personally, I found the beef and apricot stew a bit too tomatoey but my friend enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this place and hope that Pat decides to keep running it. Would like to visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here one night on a stop over to Scotland but would have loved to stay for longer. Everything about this B & B is designed to make your stay more comfortable, from the home made cake in the pantry to the dressing gowns in the room. We stayed in the cheaper twin bedded room but it was plenty big enough with a lovely shower room complete with huge fluffy towels and big bottles of shower gel, body lotion etcs. The evening meal was also good, £12.50 for two courses with excellent house wine at £13.95 a bottle. Really can't fault this place, definately deserves a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a last minute booking, and WOW!!! what a fantastic place. I can only say what everyone is saying, Pat and her team are lovely. The whole place is spotless, bright and warming.I had the vegetarian option for my evening meal, and it was the best thing I had tasted. I only stayed one night, but could have stayed a lot longer.If I ever go over that way again there is only one place to stay.SWANSON HOUSE.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oaptouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I can truly say that this is the best B&B I have ever stayed at. The room was amazing, it is as big as it looks in the picture, we booked the double. The bed was realy comfortable, and after a long day on our feet, was most welcome. The spacious bathroom has a bath and a shower. A fresh home made cake was left in the pantry for guests to help themselves to - and it was a lovely cake. Our breakfast was excellent, choosing exactly what you want from the menu is a great idea. I would love to stay at Swanson House again, and will definately try to book it next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, a double and a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craftmadclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Sadly we only stayed for one night on a stop over back to Norfolk from Oban. Pat was an absolute treasure, the freshly baked cake for our afternoon tea on arrival was gorgeous, our room was spacious, comfortable and fantastically furnished. We opted for the three coarse evening meal which we had to pre book so it could be prepared freshly. Outstanding quality and value for money. We are just looking for an excuse to get back there for more than one night. Thank you Pat, I would be amazed if you had any competition within 50 miles.

Room Tip: The double room is the one we choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a fabulous stay in this beautifully modernised B&B. Due to illnees in the family and the absence of the host, we were given the better room in a well-appointed two room guest house. It was huge, bright and airy with a bathroom bigger than many bedrooms. The bed was large with good quality linen, and the sofa in the room provided a welcome change from sitting on beds. The 'nibbles' room with a library, microwave and cake was also welcome. Breakfast was as we wished. All in all, an excellent stay and a place we'd return to if ever we passed that way again! The bonus was being undercharged as our Late Rooms booking had not arrived and we were charged for the lesser but still superior twin bedded room which we had originally booked!

Room Tip: Stay in the king-size room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mousiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brough
7.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
7.7 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 16 in Appleby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanson House

Property: Swanson House
Address: Swanson House Main Street, Brough CA17 4BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Brough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former eighteenth century coaching inn in the Cumbrian market town of Brough, Swanson House provides luxury bed & breakfast accommodation and a fully licensed silver service restaurant, specialising in dishes made from the highest quality local produce. Swanson House offers a taste of Cumbria to local residents and visitors to the Eden Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swanson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swanson House Brough/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing