We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Swanson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swanson House
Ranked #2 of 3 Brough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hospitality, lovely and clean, we were spoilt, didn't have an evening meal but had breakfast and what a breakfast it was, only stayed one night but will definetly return, all the lovely reviews we had read before were so true.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sallydapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Swanson for one night in March en route to Whitby from Scotland. Patricia, the host, is warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. The evening meal was homemade and excellent and the breakfast was just what we wanted with quality fayre. We felt very relaxed here and this is just what a B&B should be. We would definitely stay here again.

Brough itself seems a quiet place with a couple of pubs and takeaways, but we managed to get to Appleby and Kirby Stephen which are worth a visit.


We did manage to see a little bit of the surrounding area, Appleby is worth a visit and K

Room Tip: There are two rooms and we were allocated the smaller room. Book early for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on a business trip.

When we arrived Patricia was lovely and welcoming, and had even baked some little cakes for us.
She showed us to our wonderful room, which was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fantastic with a large shower and separate bath. Lovely egyptian cotton towels, fluffy bath robes and lovely toiletries made it perfect. We had travelled a long way and a soak in the bath and a fluffy robe was heaven. The bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality. We had a wonderful night's sleep and didn't want to get up! The tea provided in the room was Clipper and there was even real coffee and a Bodum. The little pantry next door had fresh milk in the fridge.
Our evening supper superb, Patricia is an excellent chef.We had an email the day before from her with the supper menu so we could choose our food as it is all freshly cooked to order. We couldn't rate it highly enough.
Having stayed the previous few nights in hotels, this was the definitely the best accommodation by far. We felt like we were staying with a friend and it was relaxed but professional at the same time. We would absolutly stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Odette room which was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Recently stayed at the Swanson for a wedding and totally amazed at the quality and service of this B&B.
The owner went out of her way to make sure everything was just perfect.
Rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean with many little extras to make the stay special.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting North Cumbria

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two-day break here. Pat was very welcoming and we had a fantastic, comfortable room right above the restaurant. This meant we coud enjoy the excellent home-cooked food while our four-year-old slept upstairs. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Although living in the Eden Valley this little gem has alluded us for the past 4 years of it's existence.
It is a restaurant and guest house, but this review is just for the restaurant.
It was the Trip Advisor reviews that caught out attention and we took a drive one day to see what it looked like. It is in what was the old Post Office in Brough and while small inside it was beautifully laid out, and looked nice enough to go dressed up if you wanted, so we decided to check out the menu on line.

Now this is the interesting part and really depends on how you view these things. To us any small restaurant that has an extensive menu is a turn off because it is impossible for any small concern to stock and cook all those choices using fresh produce, and you know that are all bought in frozen and microwaved to then be served at the table.
In the case of Swanson House the menu is small with just four main courses, and they ask you to email your choices in no later than 24 hours before hand. This is because all the produce is purchased fresh and cooked properly before serving hot and fresh.
In our case one of our party did not really fancy any of the mains on the latest menu (which seems to be changed every other month) however they liked the choices on the previous menu which was still displayed on the website. A quick phone call soon assured us that the previous menu was still available on request, which was great. Despite the small menu vegetarians (one in our party) were well catered for and not the obligatory pasta.

When we arrived the place was bright and spotless with good quality cutlery and table cloths etc.
If we wanted to be pedantic the young lady that greeted us just showed us to the table and then disappeared briefly, leaving us just feeling we had been plonked at the table. As it is a quite intimate room the general feeling among us was that a slightly warmer welcome would have been nice.
That being said the young lady returned with the most wonderful bowls of fresh baked bread and butter and proved to be a delightful waitress and we had absolutely no other complaints.

The wine choice is good without being extensive and the wines are excellent quality at reasonable prices. We had a Malbec and Pinot Grigio.

The starters arrived and without exception we were blown away with them, between the four of us we had three different starters and we all agreed they were beyond good.

When the main courses arrived again we had three different courses between us and they were all wonderful, with the vegetables being cooked perfectly.

We decided not to pre order desserts but the choice was different and very tempting and I for one was beginning to regret not having one. However we were kindly told that if we wanted coffee it came with a free plate of home made chocolates and fudge which we devoured. The coffee as well was freshly brewed in front of us and was superb.

We asked for the bill and was surprised to find a service charge. Not that they did not deserve it, but let's face it, it never sits well with diners, and we would have happily tipped at least as much and more than likely more, but then don't feel inclined when the service charge is already there.

In conclusion we will definitely be back we loved the place. The host and chef came out towards the end and chatted with us, and we left very happy people. It is only a small venue and on the Friday night we went there was only one other couple in, and although we understand it can get busier at weekends we could imagine that in the week especially if there is only two of you, it may be a bit quite, which may be an attraction for some but not so much for others.

For us however we cannot recommend this place strongly enough. Fine dining in a lovely setting surrounded by beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condor7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as we needed to be near Kirkby Stephen for a paragliding course. I booked via LateRooms at a bargain £40/night. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room, which was spacious, clean and lovely! There were the basics such as towels and tea and coffee facilities but also a lot extra, including 'proper' coffee and a cafetiere, dressing gowns, toiletries, DVDS, books, fresh cake, bottled water, Kit Kats...the list goes on!!
Unfortunately, the paragliding course was cancelled due to the weather, however we will need to re-book and will therefore definitely stay in Swanson House again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brough
7.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
281 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Augill Castle
Augill Castle
#1 of 1 in South Stainmore
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Augill Beck Park
Augill Beck Park
#1 of 1 in Brough
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanson House

Address: Swanson House Main Street, Brough CA17 4BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Brough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brough
Price Range: £88 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former eighteenth century coaching inn in the Cumbrian market town of Brough, Swanson House provides luxury bed & breakfast accommodation and a fully licensed silver service restaurant, specialising in dishes made from the highest quality local produce. Swanson House offers a taste of Cumbria to local residents and visitors to the Eden Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swanson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swanson House Brough/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing