We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swanson House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swanson House
Ranked #2 of 3 Brough B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed one night at Swanson House. Lovely B&B ,very clean and great breakfast. Had friends stopping at nearby Augill castle and would not have swapped them. Wish we had had the evening meal there and not at the Castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had to attend a job interview recently in Brough and decided to stop here. If you are thinking about it, do it! I will definitely again. From the moment I walked in I was made to feel welcome. The food was absolutely wonderful (Game Pie in the evening, Full English Breakfast in the morning), and Pam is a wonderful host: when she discovered it was another hour until my bus arrived she insisted on giving me a lift into Kirkby Stephen and when I realised I had mislaid an item of clothing it was sent back to me cleaned! Absolutely wonderful, I will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Gordon_Currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hospitality, lovely and clean, we were spoilt, didn't have an evening meal but had breakfast and what a breakfast it was, only stayed one night but will definetly return, all the lovely reviews we had read before were so true.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sallydapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Swanson for one night in March en route to Whitby from Scotland. Patricia, the host, is warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. The evening meal was homemade and excellent and the breakfast was just what we wanted with quality fayre. We felt very relaxed here and this is just what a B&B should be. We would definitely stay here again.

Brough itself seems a quiet place with a couple of pubs and takeaways, but we managed to get to Appleby and Kirby Stephen which are worth a visit.


We did manage to see a little bit of the surrounding area, Appleby is worth a visit and K

Room Tip: There are two rooms and we were allocated the smaller room. Book early for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peillon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on a business trip.

When we arrived Patricia was lovely and welcoming, and had even baked some little cakes for us.
She showed us to our wonderful room, which was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fantastic with a large shower and separate bath. Lovely egyptian cotton towels, fluffy bath robes and lovely toiletries made it perfect. We had travelled a long way and a soak in the bath and a fluffy robe was heaven. The bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality. We had a wonderful night's sleep and didn't want to get up! The tea provided in the room was Clipper and there was even real coffee and a Bodum. The little pantry next door had fresh milk in the fridge.
Our evening supper superb, Patricia is an excellent chef.We had an email the day before from her with the supper menu so we could choose our food as it is all freshly cooked to order. We couldn't rate it highly enough.
Having stayed the previous few nights in hotels, this was the definitely the best accommodation by far. We felt like we were staying with a friend and it was relaxed but professional at the same time. We would absolutly stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Odette room which was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Recently stayed at the Swanson for a wedding and totally amazed at the quality and service of this B&B.
The owner went out of her way to make sure everything was just perfect.
Rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean with many little extras to make the stay special.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting North Cumbria

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two-day break here. Pat was very welcoming and we had a fantastic, comfortable room right above the restaurant. This meant we coud enjoy the excellent home-cooked food while our four-year-old slept upstairs. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brough
7.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
7.7 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Augill Castle
Augill Castle
#1 of 1 in South Stainmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 16 in Appleby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanson House

Property: Swanson House
Address: Swanson House Main Street, Brough CA17 4BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Brough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former eighteenth century coaching inn in the Cumbrian market town of Brough, Swanson House provides luxury bed & breakfast accommodation and a fully licensed silver service restaurant, specialising in dishes made from the highest quality local produce. Swanson House offers a taste of Cumbria to local residents and visitors to the Eden Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swanson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swanson House Brough/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing