We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of Heaven in an oasis of beauty”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
East End, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chad M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of Heaven in an oasis of beauty”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have now had the fortune of staying at La Diosa Del Sol on multiple occasions and this time was no different than the last. If you want dependability and the same experience every time this is the place. The grounds are gorgeous, the property immaculate and the service is exceptional. From the owners, to the property manager to the caretaker. This place is simply Devine! We've traveled the world and stayed at five star resorts, and individual homes, and nothing compares to LDDS! You won't be disappointed. The pool is absolutely refreshing, there is never a need for anything. If you leave for the day don't be surprised if George has fresh coconuts cut and waiting in the fridge when you get back. If you need a place to eat, or something to adventure Liz has you covered. This is truly paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have to say, the coconuts really are wonderful. Can hardly wait to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gena_mrg
France
1 review
“Unforgettable, really extraodinary.”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

With our 4 children, we came from France to visit Roatan. La Diosa was THE place to stay and we had a marvelous time there : the house and the garden are really wonderful, well equiped, with everything you might dream. The beach is near, and with the kayacks, you're able to snorkel on the beautiful reef in a few moments. Humming birds can be seen while you're taking your shower in the open air. The view is breathtaking.
Beeing located on the east part of Roatan is really an advantage : this part of the island is more authentic, but in less than an hour you can access, if you want, the more touristical places in the island. Not far from the house, beautiful beaches, wonderful dives with "subway water sport" that pick you up right from the dock at La Diosa. Punta Gorda with its Garifuna joyful feats and dances is very near...

And what made our stay really remarkable was the presence of Jorge. He is perfect in his role as caretaker : helpul, efficient, hardworker, always available but never intrusive. And we found he goes far beyond his duty, in the good sense : friendly, giving good advices, taking care of our security in every aspect, always ready to talk about Honduras and Roatan, showing our kids how to cook a traditional recipe. After a few days, though he was always discrete, we had the impression of being at home with a friend nearby.
Jorge is really precious and added greatly to the quality of our stay in La Diosa…

The best summary comes from our kids "when do we come back ?". And though it's very far from France, no doubt we also dream of it!
PS : if you have a 4 wheel drive vehicle, don't hesitate to go far east, on the dirt road, to "La Sirena" restaurant : the view and the beach are amazing, and you've got the feeling of being at the edge of the world. Their fishes are delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Diosa... We agree with your wonderful children and will be delightedly awaiting your return. Please think of La DIosa as your home away from home on Roatan!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escapingo...
Monclova, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation at La Diosa!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2013

La Diosa is sprawling, airy, and spectacular with gorgeous views! Lots of room for our family of 8 incl. 3 little ones. We loved the multiple levels & decks, beautiful decor, cleanliness & the infinity pool was a daily/nightly ritual. The home is in a remote part of the island -exactly what we wanted -away from the cruisers and resorts. It was recommended that we rent a 4WD, and they were right. You need it at least for clearance on the very bumpy roads. Jami and Ed, the house managers, were super nice, knowledgable, and always responsive. Jami met us at the airport, took us grocery shopping when we first got there and gave us Roatan insider tips. We had an issue with the air conditioning in one of the bedrooms and they had an AC guy out there promptly to fix it. Efraim, the caretaker, was on-site and took care of the pool and grounds. We invited Efraim to have dinner with us one night and enjoyed talking about the culture in Roatan. I had read many reviews about bugs, but we didn't really encounter too many. The "no see ums" got a few of us, but they didn't bother us too much and didn't itch. We did put "OFF" on occasionally, but no big deal. Our favorite things (in no particular order): 1.) Temporary Cal's Cantina - truly the best food we had on the island! It was close to the house and has gorgeous views. The food was incredible and inexpensive. Hint: They are only open 3-4 days during the week, so get there early as it fills up quick. We actually went two days in a row we were so impressed. 2.) Little French Key. We went twice! A tiny private island that's fun for the entire family and tranquil and too. They have a 2-level bar that you can jump off the top deck into the water...the teens especially loved this and even my five year old jumped! The water is zero entry on the beaches so great for kids. Hint: go early & don't go on cruise day! 3.) La Sirena. A quaint little restaurant off the beaten path that sits on a pier...lots of shells and shallow water for the little ones to explore while we sipped our drinks. 4.) Paya Bay- we visited Bliss Beach, and walked a narrow path to the end of the rocky cliff that overlooked the sea. Unreal. 5.) Ruthless Charters. 6 of us went fishing. Fun & friendly captain, first mate, and crewmate. We caught tuna, and had the freshest sushi ever, right there on the boat! Other Hints: Joshua at Roatan Best Car is true to his word. La Diosa was perfect for us! We will definitely be returning! (I posted this review on VRBO right after our vacation but recently I have been using TripAdvisor more and thought it should be posted on here too, even though it's 2 years old).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views, space to spread out, infinity pool, Little French Key day trips.
Liked least: We liked it all - One of our top 2 vacations of all time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014

This is was the third time that my family has come to Roatan and stayed at La Diosa. As with prior stays, everything was first class. From the moment we arrived and greeted by the property manager, to arriving at the house and finding the starter food items in the fridge and the pantry, to the wonderful quiet ad relaxed days during our stay. You could not ask for a better home, a better property manager, a better care taker, or better owners/hosts. Kayaking off of the private pier was awesome, as was the private snorkeling we did off the kayaks and off the beach. The property is super secluded and we always felt safe. Despite being secluded, there is access to great restaurants. If you are coming here be prepared to enjoy a relaxing - comfortable and quiet stay. Do plan to rent a 4WD vehicle unless your plan is to stay at the house the entire time - as it will be needed to get around to the different sites around the island. Even the furthest points on the island are within a short drive. This is one of our favorite spots to vacation by far in the Caribbean. This is the only place we will stay on the Island! We are already planning yet another stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the location
Liked least: driving in and out of the property is difficult - need a 4WD
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary Vacation Home With Superb Views!”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Diosa Del Sol has something for everyone -- we relaxed in and around the beautiful infinity pool, viewed spectacular ocean views from the home's many rooms and decks and strolled through 4 acres of lovely trees and native plants. We had our own private dock and complimentary kayaks! Within a short distance we paddled out to the coral reef for fun snorkeling. Unlike other areas of the island where waters and beaches are infested with irritating sargassum seaweed, there was little to none here. Sometimes we went to the market and enjoyed cooking the freshest of fish in the large and fully equipped kitchen and sometimes we hired Rosa who made delicious meals for us. We can hardly wait to share pictures with our friends and invite them to join us the next time we return to our new favorite place in paradise. We highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing