We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and perfect host”
Review of At William's Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At William's Rest
Ranked #1 of 1 Salmon Cove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from two weeks in Newfoundland and one of our favourite stops was At William's Rest. It is a beautiful location and Marilyn our host made us feel very welcome and offered us plenty of information about the area. The house is beautifully decorated. The rooms are large and very clean and comfortable. We sat on benches on the property overlooking the cove and watched the whales. When we return to Newfoundland we look forward to a longer stay at this lovely bed and breakfast.
Mary and Rene

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank newmarket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

While we were in Newfoundland we booked a two day stay At William's Rest in Salmon Cove. What a magnificent place. Perched on a hilltop overlooking the bay it is truly beautiful. Marilyn, our host , knows the area well and sent us to some interesting destinations along the Baccalieu Trail. The room also had your breakfast included which were excellent. We highly recommend you stay here if your in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nestled at the top of the hill, this B&B is lovely, unique, and spacious. Just standing on the porch delivers a vast scene of landscape, beach, rock, mountain and water. A large porch wish chairs to relax and take in the view or to have a chat, or do some reading. There are some benches down a little path that is facing the ocean. The view itself, will take your breath away- sunrise or sunset.

Our room was large and comfy, with sitting chairs and books in the room, and a television and spacious bathroom. The room was very clean, and had a personal touch of decor. Downstairs is a library open to all guests, and a absolutely lovely library it is. You do not need to bring any of your own books, because there are so many to choose from, so many different genres, old and new. There are comfortable chairs in the library as well.

For breakfast, there was cereal, yogurt & fruit, and also eggs, bacon and toast. Coffee and tea of course.

Salmon Cove beach is just below, offering a stretch of sand and water to relax and build castles, and get some snacks from the little take-out.

The town of Carbonear is only 12 minutes away, where there are restaurants, and a few shops.

Only disappointments: 1) on the website, it says that during the daytime between 3-5 there is tea/coffee served with some sweets. We were truly looking forward to this, but sadly, there was nothing. We checked the dining room three times, and nothing. 2) On the website, it emphasized a BIG hot breakfast...and also when I called the lady said the same thing. We felt a bit 'jipped' on the breakfast. it was a 'fine' breakfast, but I wouldn't emphasize it as a BIG one. I would recommend them to add beans to the breakfast menu, to make it live up to its BIG name.

This B&B is a perfect escape from the city, offering room for reflection, rest, and meditation. I would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place with a view that takes your breath away. Marilyn is a wonderful hostess with plenty of suggestions of what to see and do in the area. This is a definite place to come back. Sorry to have to leave after only 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senior056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Not far from St. John's, nestled in the cliffs of Salmon Cove with a breathtaking view and fresh air. Greeted with a hug from owner Marilyn. Beautifully decorated newer home. Very comfortable, spacious room and bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Could have sat on the porch for hours. Fabulous breakfast: yes, the blueberry pancakes and moose meat sausages were delicious. Curled up with a book in the Library on that first cool evening in NL. Marilyn gave us so much valuable information about the area and NL in general. Great help in getting us started on our first (but not last) visit. We would highly recommend this B&B. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Marilyn for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catkins59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Everything about this B&B was amazing. The rooms and the bathrooms were spacious and immaculate, the breakfast was delicious and most of all the views. WOW - what views and what an amazing location. I think we could have spend our whole holiday here quite happily! One night just didn't feel like enough.
Our thanks to Marilyn and William for being such wonderful hosts and for providing us with a place to stay that will remain one of the most memorable parts of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Where to begin? Location, location, location this B&B has it. It is a little difficult to get to due to construction when we were there but our hosts provided a map on how to get to the property. When we arrived, the view was breathtaking. After the initial view was taken in, we were greeted by our hostess and she showed us around the facility. It is well layed out for and very very clean. Our room was spacious and had a good view of the bay as well as having a large ensuite.

Time for dinner. Marilyn suggested places to go. When we arrived in town, the recommended restaurant was just closing so we had to purchase some local fare from the grocery store. We returned to William's Rest and found that Marilyn had set the dining room table so we could eat there. Great anticipation Marilyn and greatly appreciated.

The next morning we had a great breakfast. You could eat yogurt, cold cereal, tea or coffee and juice. This was followed by a hot breakfast.

I would highly recommend this B&B and if you appreciate nature and are looking for a place to rest and relax for a few days, this would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to At William's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At William's Rest

Address: 200 Main Road East | Salmon Cove, Salmon Cove, Newfoundland and Labrador AOA 3S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Salmon Cove
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon Cove
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing